We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location if you have a car” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Location if you have a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent a week in June in this hotel and overall had a good experience. As has been said before the location is great if you have a car, it is set in a nice gated community and its 15 mins from the airport and within 30 mins you can get to Marbella and everything in between. If you are not looking to drive then expect to stay in the hotel an bit a bit isolated although they do have a train into Fuengirola but i would not recommend Fuengirola to anyone as it is a horrible place. Mijas pueblo and Benalmedana pueblo would be my recommendation for great places nearby to visit, for the beaches venture further towards Marbella way. Staff were great and sent up a bottle of cava to the room free of charge for my girlfriends birthday which i thought was a nice touch. We had a suite on the 5th floor and would recommend this rather than a standard room as the one we walked into accidentally when given the wrong room number by reception looked very basic and the view was terrible. The suite was a duplex and the views over the hills and sea were fantastic. We only ate at al rollo at the hotel as were not in any meal plans and would say its nice although very expensive for what you get. Overall i would recommend this to family and friends as a great hotel for a medium budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers.
We're delighted that you enjoyed the room, the views and the stay with us.
Do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit. We’ll be pleased to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    516
    248
    105
    75
See reviews for
134
927
36
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Not perfect but very close! The rooms are clean and well laid out, my only criticism would be that the doors have a gap underneath so if someone is talking outside your room it is very loud, if you have a room at the back people are playing tennis late at night but none of this noise is loud enough to cause a sleepless night.
The infinity pool on the roof is absolutely beautiful its very peaceful and the view are wonderful. (Be warned it opens at 10am before this time the lift wont take you up there, this causes a bit of a mad rush at 10 but also means you don't have to get up at 5am to reserve a sun bed so in my opinion was a good idea)
If you cant get a bed on the roof the 2 other pools have plenty of space and lovely scenic views.
The train down to the beach is great and the restaurants on the beach serve some of the best grilled fish I have ever tasted.
The train also takes you to and from the train station and supermarket at the top of the hill.
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.
We stayed on a half board basis, The buffet has a lot of choice much the same as any other hotel. For breakfast there is an omelette station they will cook fresh for you, you can also get poached or boiled eggs.
For dinner you can get meat of fish grilled for you and all the usual salad, veg and pudding options.
We would highly recommend the Al Rolo Tapas restaurant joined to the hotel, it is great value for money and the food is amazing, great twists on standard tapas dishes we paid around 50 for 2 of us to share tapas and a bottle of wine.
All in all we had a great 5 nights and I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back get noise from all the tennis and volley ball courts. You get great views all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica123 G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing THB Reserva del Higueron for your stay in Costa del Sol. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed will recommend us.
We are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great break away and found the staff really helpful. Just a note - if you get the train from the airport to Caravajal (only a few euros), there's absolutely nothing there...so you're faced with the trek up the pretty steep hill, which is only about ten mins, but your calves will know you've done it! We had a great week with lovely weather, and were able to sunbathe on the roof from 10 til gone 7. There's not a huge amount of sunbeds at the other pool on the restaurant level. Try the yoga classes, I really enjoyed the experience in Spanish....but it would have been even better outside! Read some reviews about the food, we consider ourselves to have quite high expectations & were certainly not disappointed. There was a wide range of food on offer, & in the evenings at least 3 varieties of both meat & fish on the grill alone. Try the flea market on Saturday mornings in Fuengirola, such an array of goods & worth a mooch, especially if you like 2nd hand clothes (flamenco style anyone?!) Would def go back, for a few days or a week, just to chill.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view ! Tho' there are rooms with a bath in the window area - which we didn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your time and sharing your opinion about our Hotel. We highly value your comments. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience and to over exceed our guests expectations. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the yoga classes in our Sports Club.
We are looking forward to welcome you again very soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

A modern hotel with a large amount of amenities for couples looking kick back and relax. Off the beaten stretch for this area but not so far you can't go exploring. The hotel train is a blessing to get from the train station and back. Pools excellent but if your looking to use the rooftop pool get there early.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing THB Reserva del Higueron for your stay in Costa del Sol. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations.
We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience and to over exceed our guests expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience and please do not hesitate to contact us on your next visit to our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for five nights on a Bed and Breakfast basis. To be honest, the food wasn't great and really over priced. The breakfast would always seem to be cold and not very appetizing although there was nothing else to choose from as each breakfast would be the same. We had dinner in the hotel one evening also which was again cold due to the buffet style service that they provided. The restaurant that is attached to the hotel is a tapas bar which serves the same thing everyday. It was reasonably priced for the amount of food that we received and it was lovely although you have to order quiet a lot to be filled up by the meal.
We stayed in a junior suite and the room was lovely and we had a sea view off of our balcony. The room was always clean and the cleaning staff were lovely and did a good job on the rooms.
The location of the hotel isn't amazing although the free shuttle was very useful. We used this to go down to the beach on one of the last days we were there as well as the first day to see if we could find any shops as it was a Sunday most of the shops up by the hotel were closed. (i say up by the hotel, a long walk up another steep hill!) The hotel had no entertainment which wasn't really for us although if you are looking for a lazy stay in a hotel and don't plan on travelling too far then it is perfect for you. There could have been more restaurants around the hotel and on the hills which are in walking distance so you don't have to pay for cabs everywhere. On the last two days we went into the town of Mijas which i would defiantly recommend! Its a bit like Brighton and is full of little lanes in which are plenty of restaurants and shops to go in to.
The best part of the hotel is the infinity pool although you have to make sure that you get up there early to get a good bed. The food up there was also lovely and the views from the pool were amazing although the water was so cold. It did rain slightly on one of the days we were there so we came down from the pool otherwise we would have got soaked as the wind was also strong.
Over all i wouldn't go back to this hotel due to the fact that we spent quiet a bit on cabs to get into more a town like area and find more entertainment. If you are looking for a very very quiet retreat and not too fussy on the food that you eat then this is perfect for you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you to taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate all feedback and welcome comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Concerning the food, we would like to inform you that in our establishment we have a cycle consisting of 14 different rotary gastronomic menus so that the menus are not repeated for at least 14 days. We regret that you became bored of the selection.
The hotel is placed in a unique setting close to the best beaches and very well connected to train station, airport and highway. We offer a free shuttle service from our Hotel to the beach and to the Main Railway Station.
Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Loved this hotel, rooms were great, liked the idea of the bath in the room and no problem with the shared door for the toilet and shower, whichever one you are using, just close that door and there is a partition between this and the main room so you do have some privacy. Staff were lovely and friendly. Liked the underground car park which meant the car was cool when using during the day. Breakfast good, although I waited on three mornings for the chef to show to cook me an egg and gave up after five minutes. Didn't like queuing for a coffee or tea. If I wanted something cooked to go with my coffee, didn't know which to get first. Queue for hot food and then by the time I queued for coffee the food was cold or coffee first and then wait a few minutes for food so coffee was cold. why not have two or three machines so we could help ourselves, save on washing up too as we could use the same cup! What I hated was the constant tinny music everywhere. Why not just have it on the roof top pool and a quiet chill zone downstairs. I noted everyone made for the grassed area the furthest away from the four loudspeakers around the pool and this in spite of the lovely sun beds around the pool. I like to read whilst sunbathing but just couldn't concentrate with the music and gave up after a while and as for a snooze, forget it. Shame, as this would prevent me from visiting the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teslaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers. We are very sorry about the time waiting during breakfast . When the restaurant is quite busy, we cannot serve everyone at the same time. We’ll take note of your comments about the coffee machine. In relation to music, we have the music around the hotel to make more pleasant the stay of our guests, we are very sorry that this wasn’t your case.
We’ll be very pleased to welcome you again at our hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel is just as their website describes and if you like things relaxed, quiet and a bit funky style wise you will love it. The location is remote in the middle of a luxury gated community but you can hire a Twizy or use the toy town train to escape.

Food wise always a good fresh selection and cook to order eggs (breakfast) and seafood/meat (evening) with daily changes. 7 days fine but could get a boring after that if your on half board.
Snacks limited but reasonable value. Hotel prices on drinks. Sport snack bar good value. Al Rolo restaurant compares well with beach side prices.
Room always clean and tidy made up every day but the close toilet (sliding door with the shower) and bath in the bedroom could challenge new relationships!

Spa free for one day was excellent (plan that for the weekend if we go again)
Gym was free and very well equipped.
Only one towel down by 9 am muppet (elderly english of course) why do they do that and then dissapear for the day??? Always a free lounger when we were there.

Niggles...very busy at the weekend if a wedding is on both pools full by 10am and some misinformation at the Sports Club pool (seems always empty) means you get chucked out by the lifeguard (ok to eat there however?). So looks like the hotel have a big pool but its just the Infinity and the one by the restaurant.

Breakfast staff running around as it seems short of staff on occasion. Efficient they were. The woman running it worked very hard and the Scots breakfast cook does mean omelettes. Rest of the time all staff friendly, relaxed and helpful.

Infinity pool could do with a cleaner early evening and some detritus under the sunbeds (some people should learn to use a bin for their wet wipes and tool picks) and tissues in the pool one evening.

Child free but you will hear some screams from the Sports Club at weekends...minimal IMHO.

Resort wise the whole coast from here down to Fengirola is looking tired. Lots of for sale signs, closed businesses and litter (wet wipes, wrappers) and other crap in the water. Many pavement tiles have broken and been repaired with a dump of cement. I know Spain has suffered under the banking crisis but cutting back on beach cleaning and maintenance is going to cost them IMHO. Good bits lots of information points, showers and lifeguards on duty. The sand is pretty clean and tidy as the beach restaurants look after it. Sunshade and 2 loungers on the beach Euro 8 to Euro 9 for the day. Usual seafood restaurants the one by the train stop had the best portions.

Local train service is brilliant Euro 2 per person form the airport to Carvajal (resort train stops there until around 19:20 to match train times. Euro 1.5 to Fuengirola central. Airport Taxi Euro 30 if booked at Hotel. Train is quicker!

There's more building underway on the Reserva del Higueron resort so some more local restaurants may appear?

So go again Yes! Might not leave the hotel however...

Room Tip: If you can add the cash go for the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerekTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Derek,

I would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comment you have taken the time to publish. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your kind words with all my colleagues.

I sincerely hope to welcoming you soon again in Fuengirola.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
4.3 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
2.7 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
2.4 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Address: Avenida del Higueron, 48 | Autopista Costa del Sol, Salida 217, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain (Formerly THB Reserva del Higueron)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron is located near Malaga and Marbella, Spain, vibrant cities on the Costa del Sol. This private resort is in a tranquil area with stunning sea and mountain views, and is exclusively for adults 16 years or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva Del Higueron Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing