We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
thirsk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect chill out .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is amazing. We wanted a chilled out holiday in a nice hotel in spanish surroundings and we certainly got it. We took the train from malaga to carvajal and were delighted to find the little tourist train waiting for us to take us to the hotel. Our room was lovely, we took the 'economy' room and could not have wished for anything more. It was clean, spacious and had a large terrace area. We ate at 'al rolo' restaurant twice, it was superb and so well priced. We trusted to waiter to choose the wine for us and so it came as a shock to get the bill and find the wine was only €3 a €5 a glass. The violet ice cream is fantastic. We ate at the hotel buffet restaurant on our last evening, we found the food to be worth the €18 that they charge, there was plenty of choice and a large selection of fresh meat and fish cooked to order. Wine at the restaurant was €9.50 a bottle, again well priced. The rooftop pool was definitely something special, it was so chilled out with great background music that just added to the atmosphere. Even the toilets had the 'wow' factor. We used the pool downstairs once during our stay and that was also a nice area, had the rooftop pool been full i would not of been upset at having to use the other pool.
The hotel is on a very steep hill but the train runs frequently enough. One day we had to walk up to the hotel from the beach as the train had stopped for siesta, it was difficult but not the end of the world, it just made the glass of wine at the hotel even more enjoyable!!
We spent a few days at the beach on carvajal, it was enjoyable and the food down there is great. It is very spanish and they don't speak much english but that was exactly what we wanted. We went in to fuengirola twice and found really lovely tapas bars which surprised me. Taxis back to the hotel are easy to find, just at the train station and approx €10.
The thb reserva del higueron is the only hotel i have stayed in that is actually better than it looks and is described on the website. I have already recommended it to the others and would love to stay again myself in the near future. I can appreciate that it will not suit everyone as it is so modern and so remote but for us it was perfect. A brilliant find!

Room Tip: Room 138 is facing the road but on a corner so big terrace and away from all the noise that weddings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natashaThirsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Natasha Thirsk,
Thank you for choosing THB Reserva del Higueron for your stay in Costa del Sol.
We are pleased to know that the expectations were reached during your stay at our Hotel.
Certainly, the attention and care of all our staff makes possible for our Hotel guests feel this special atmosphere.
We thank you very much for the time you took to provide us with your feedback, which is one of our most powerful ways of taking care of our high quality standard.
We are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    514
    247
    104
    75
See reviews for
134
924
35
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked the THB Reserva del Higueron because so many travellers were raving about it on Tripadvisor. I admit I am picky when it comes to hotels (especially if I spend quite a sum for staying there) but in this case, due to the reviews, we were expecting more and were quite disappointed.

The architecture is clearly style over function. We didn't understand why the sea view was purposely blocked everywhere - at the infinity pool, concrete walls with showers were raised against it, on the fourth floor, where the superior rooms are located, the staircase (!!!) with closed shutters was blocking the sea view where there could have been two lovely rooms with frontal sea view! All rooms are side sea view only and when you lie in the bath tub (located by the balcony door which is generally a great idea) and you want to enjoy the seaview, the balcony's green glass is giving the grounds beneath and the sea an ugly colour!

The first room they gave us (despite also being a superior room) had a side view onto a hill that was probably dug up with the rubbish left over from an earlier building site and the sea somewhere far behind it. Moreover, the room was extremely dirty (a bunch of hair on the floor, black crumbles next to the bed) so we got another room on the other side, facing the tennis courts. The beds were very comfortable and the semi-transparent integrated toilet and shower were ok for us. Room furniture was nice too, I liked the Eames rocking chair. Shower is on the same level as the floor and was leaking, there will be mildew on the adjacent wall soon. The beautiful Les Sens de Marrakech bath products shown on the website seem to have been decoration for the photo shoot only, in reality they have different ones, a cheap own-brand.

We didn't stay at the infinity pool because there was no shade at all (and I don't want to look like a lobster after lying in the sun there all day) and we also didn't want to have to run to get a sun bed when the terrace opens at 10am - this was supposed to be a holiday.

The second pool in the "garden" (unfortunately there isn't much of a garden to the hotel as the grounds are all taken up by the sports club) is a bit bigger but if I want to lie in the grass next to the pool (also again without sun umbrellas as it was too windy to put them up), I go to my local swimming pool at home. After having experienced the loudest and most hectic spa reception I have ever encountered (isn't a spa supposed to have a relaxed atmosphere?), we had a couple's massage behind the bamboo at the top of the pool area and that was lovely. The two female masseurs were very nice, not like the woman at the spa reception.

There are no children in the hotel (teenagers there were ...) but in the sports club next to the hotel. It didn't bother us that you could hear children screaming in the sports club pool even from the infinity pool terrace.

I cannot say anything about the service character as to me there was no service. The receptionists hardly spoke (unless they wanted 20 Euro per person for borrowing a pool towel!), the barmaid on the infinity pool terrace was a poor soul because her bar was poorly stocked and she didn't have half of the things on the menu (also no food in the bar? Not even a burger or sandwich?) and at breakfast there was just one person asking for your room number (on two occasions) and hardly anyone to clear away the plates.

Only the cook that prepared the fresh omelette and fried eggs was very friendly. The breakfast had a good choice but the quality wasn't outstanding. As mentioned before, tables were not cleared most of the time and often there was no cutlery because someone else had taken it to replace theirs. We didn't have half board so I cannot comment on dinner buffet. However, the tapas restaurant was excellent, we went there twice because it was so good. The tapas selection was simply wonderful.

The hotel's remote location didn't bother us as we had a rental car from Malaga airport. The hotel garage was a big plus. We also used the little train to go to beach twice (very nice service) but the beach is not really beautiful (but neither are the other beaches around - we checked three of them). This is of course nothing to do with the hotel. Fuengirola in general is a tourist hotspot, we went to Marbella and Malaga old town for dinner which is much nicer. From the roundabout above the hotel, you immediately reach the autopista which takes you to all the nicer spots like Marbella, Malaga, Cadiz or Cordoba.

I would really like to be more positive about this hotel but I am sorry to say that I would not go there again. It claims to be a stylish boutique hotel but it lacks the important details and quality that make a real boutique hotel. Also, we found the area of Fuengirola/Benalmadena quite horrible, but again, that's not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Christina 1707,
Firrst of all we would like to thank the trust you have provided us when choosing THB Reserva del Higuerón and for sharing in this website your experience.

We deeply regret that your stay with us was not as pleasant as we would have liked and that it has not met your expectations.
We apologize for it and please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need.
We hope you to stay with us in the future in order to have the opportunity to change your impression about our Hotel.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Architecturally a splendid hotel in a pleasant location. Listed as an adults only hotel we looked forward to a restful week there. Had a hire car which meant we were not reliant on the facilities. Having read reviews we knew there was a big hill and it was somewhat out of town.
Rooms were very bright and modern. We chose a Superior room which had a bathtub overlooking the views.
The bathroom area sits next to the bed, and the shower leads out into the bedroom...not the bathroom area. You need a towel on the floor and be careful exiting the shower to not get the bed wet.
Other slightly strange layout was the pool area. You had to walk through the restaurant to gain access. After 7pm it would have been a walk through people eating. The pool didn't get any sun before 11am. A lot of seating was on a grassy slope.
Guests are able to use the Spa's gym and indoor pool. That was a bit cave-like for me and dark. We tried using the Spa's outdoor pool but were chased off. It was not used much by the Spa's local clientelle. Shame.
Breakfast was good.
The rooftop Infinity pool looked nice. However it was full of posy couples trying to look cool... put us off using it. A lot of attitude with guests on the whole... trying to engage with a smile in the lift did not work.
With the car we went down to the beach most days and ate in the numerous places down at the front.
So a nice looking hotel (staff were nice) but other guests were too cool man and far too up themselves.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cue-em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Cue-em,

Thank you for very much for your comment and for sharing your experience. We are pleased to know that you liked our exclusive, modern and stylish hotel.

Concerning the Spa’s outdoor pool, just inform you that this pool belongs to the Sport Club. Our guests can use Infintiy Pool and Palmeral Pool. Sorry for the inconveniences.

We are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

very high slandered nice beds and spa is great also has nice roof top endless pool and indoor pool and 2 out door pools also they got little rent cars renault twisler great fun for only 40 euros a day or 25 for 2 hours

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Fabian P,
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed our facilities and services.

We are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The staff in the hotel were so helpful, especially those on reception and at the infinity pool bar.
This is the perfect hotel for a relaxing holiday. The infinity pool is lovely with big, comfortable double sun loungers. The hotel wasn't too busy when we stayed but I can imagine when it is it could be difficult to get a sun lounger but there are 2 other pools at the hotel.
The food ordered at the infinity pool bar was always delicious.
I stayed with a friend for a long weekend and we had a great time. The hotel is in a quiet area but is about 15 minutes in a taxi from livelier resorts. The perfect mix of long, lazy days and fun nights!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie1332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Natalie,
Thank you for having taken the time to write such a nice comment. We are striving for excellence in all areas of the hotel and are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your gratitude to all our staff members.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fuengirola.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at thb reserva del higueron in september for 3 weeks then i extended for another week total 4 weeks.
Its set in an up market development, approached hotel amazing design contemporary with design furniture all over hotel. Reception staff very helpful and friendly always smiling especially the blonde female receptionist. When i extended my stay i asked for an upgrade and they gave it too me for free.
Rooftop infinity pool and restaurant bar great circular sunloungers with great views to sea.
Food great also indoor pool and good saltwater pool on ground floor.
Im a fitness freak u can use the fitness club for free in hotel gym, tennis courts extra.
Breakfast great everything u need omelettes, fruit, english breakfast, croissants, coffee , fresh orange juice sets u up for the day.
Its adults only so good for me no children, peaceful location and rooms are fantastic cotton sheers, plasma tv, great design showers and baths in corners of rooms.
Only thing i would say i hired a car for the month to get down to beach and around , steep walk down to beach and up hill walk to shops but the hotel runs a small train to get u around to beach and train station for free and you can hire small 2 settee electric cars from hotel and dont need a driving licence to hire them.
All staff are friendly and would recommend this hotel but i want to keep it quite because i love the hotel.
I will be going back again in september for my summer vacation.
Hope this is helpull.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite or superior on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blondmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing THB Reserva del Higueron for your stay in Costa del Sol. We are pleased to know that the expectations were reached. We really appreciate your good comments of our staff. Certainly, the attention and care of all our staff makes possible for our Hotel guests feel this special atmosphere. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed f the hotel including the Sports Club activities and gym.
We thank you very much for the time you took to provide us with your feedback, which is one of our most powerful ways of taking care of our high quality standard.
We are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We just got back after staying at this hotel for a week on B&B basis, which we booked through Secret Escapes. The hotel itself is spacious, quirky and has a light and airy feel to it. If you like ultra modern and minimalistic then this is the place for you ! It is in a bit of an isolated position high up on outskirts of Fuengirola, which we actually liked, being away from the hustle and bustle and noise pollution. The downside is that you need to either hire a car to get about, or be prepared to spend on taxis which are very easily accessible and can be slightly costly depending on where you want to go. The view from our room on 3rd floor was nice but I would imagine the higher you are the better views you'll have. It is a nightmare for anyone suffering from vertigo as the balconies only have a glass front so you can feel very dizzy and exposed to the height. The room itself was quite basic yet functionable, my disappointment here is that there were rubber seals on the shower door which came unstuck, and a big gap beneath the door, so every time you showered, there was water seeping out everywhere, even in the toilet floor next door. The breakfast was excellent with a huge selection on offer. Service was overall very good throughout the hotel. We ate a couple of times in the adjoining tapas restaurant Al Rolo which was of great quality and value. Would highly recommend you try it; though the portions appear small you'll be surprised how filling they are once you've selected a few dishes. Overall good value. The rooftop Infinity Pool had great views overall, and around the pool were round beds with cushions to sunbathe on, and adjacent to them were bigger square beds which had cover, so you could shield away from the sun for part of the day, but these beds were not very comfortable, you ended up sinking into the middle and I had a struggle getting up from them as they were so low, so not recommended if you have spinal problems. The biggest disappointment of all was the fact that anyone wishing to use the roof top pool(which was open from 10:00) had to race up to the top floor, which was only accessible via the lift from 10am onwards, if you pressed the button for the top floor in the lift before 10am, the top floor would not light up, so some people resorted to childish behaviour and would go up and down in the lifts minutes before 10:00 to ensure they were the first at the pool. In fact one morning as we attempted to get in one of the lifts, there was a group of 3-4 young women holding their towels, going up and down in the lift, so as soon as we got to the top, one of them just sprinted out of the lift as if doing a 100m run, just to grab a bed, it felt like I was back at school ! This put us right off... So we went down to the beach at Carvajal (using the train transport provided by the hotel) for a few days which was great, peaceful and just the sound of the sea waves was enough. It only cost 8 euro for 2 sun loungers with parasol, and the restaurant food was good there, reasonably priced, and good service overall. My suggestion to the hotel management would be to remove the big beds altogether, and put comfortable sun loungers instead, they would without a doubt increase the capacity, be more practical and give more of a chance for everyone to secure a bed !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seafood17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for very much for your comment. We are pleased to know that you liked our exclusive, modern and stylish hotel and enjoyed our services.

We really appreciate your words describing the facilities of our Hotel, which we work very hard and with all our passion every day for it to maintain its quality.

Concerning the problem with the door of the shower, we apologize and will check it with our maintenance department.

We thank you again very much for the time you took to provide us with your feedback, which is one of our most powerful ways of taking care of our high quality standard.
We are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
4.3 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
2.7 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
2.4 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Address: Avenida del Higueron, 48 | Autopista Costa del Sol, Salida 217, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain (Formerly THB Reserva del Higueron)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron is located near Malaga and Marbella, Spain, vibrant cities on the Costa del Sol. This private resort is in a tranquil area with stunning sea and mountain views, and is exclusively for adults 16 years or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva Del Higueron Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing