We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I loved this place, big plus for me is its over 16yrs old so made it very relaxing and quiet, I managed to read 6 books in 5 days! If you want to party this is not the place for you !
I took my daughter to relax after her exams, she is 16 and loved not having to do ANYTHING! The roof pool was the highlight really. We didn't have any problem getting a bed, in fact we had one each, but at weekends its busier with Spanish coming for a break, so is harder to get a bed. You are not meant to reserve beds, everyone still does, sometimes the staff removed the towels other times they didn't bother. Didn't affect us as we didn't move from 10am-6pm!
Food was ok, nothing special but always something to eat, the rooftop food was much better than the restaurant.
Rooms were clean and tidy, we had a sea view, but only if we craned our necks, not bothered though as so little time spent in the room or on balcony.
Gym was perfect, Im a personal trainer so want a good gym with good equipment, this fitted the bill 100%, in fact I think it was better than my own local gym.
Didn't use the spa but looked nice.
Staff were perfectly nice to us.
My only real negative is the cost of water in the bars, they charge a small fortune for a small bottle and then wonder why people go to the sports bar where you get a large bottle for just over a euro. Small gripe!
Would definitely go back and would definitely recommend to friends, but only if you want a relaxing holiday.
Free Wi-Fi all over the hotel is fab.

Room Tip: So many people said get a room away from the lift but we didn't really notice any noise at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear SuzyeastSussex,

I would like to thank you so very much for your wonderful comment you have taken the time to publish. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your kind words with all my colleagues.

I sincerely hope to welcoming you soon again,
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Have visited the pool bar on a few occasions for drinks - very trendy and fabulous view. Staff very friendly and drink prices reasonable. First time recently that we've visited the upstairs tapas bar, and enjoyed it so much we visited again a few days later. Very nice decor, the staff were really pleasant and food served very quickly. Particularly enjoyed the mushroom tapas, pork and calamari dishes. Definitely will visit again, and was one of the highlights of our holiday. I'd also like to try the spa sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Jed101,

Thank you for your time and sharing your opinion about our Hotel. We highly value all comments.
It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience and to over exceed our guests expectations.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay .
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on your next visit and it will be a pleasure to welcome you again,
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Great concept, modern decor, friendly staff and great facilities.
Great location but if you're coming for work, like I did... You just don't want to do any work... You just want to spend your day by the roof top bar, infinity pool and chill...

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Gaytuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Gaytuga,

Thank you for your time and sharing your opinion about our Hotel. We highly value your comments.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again,
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We bought a deal through Secret Escapes to stay at THB Reserva del Higueron and stayed for a week on our honeymoon. I emailed the hotel prior to staying there asking if they could do anything to upgrade us as it was our honeymoon. When we arrived the upgrade conversation was all very uncomfortable and we were asked if we wanted the room we had with 2 beds pushed together or an upgrade to a superior room with a large bed. It was all a bit odd. They didn't do anything else to really acknowledge our honeymoon which I found a bit disappointing.

The infinity pool is gorgeous but it does get so busy you do have to try and get there early to get a bed. The poolside bar food is lovely and we really enjoyed this. We used the pool in the gardens which was also nice but again you needed to allow time to get a bed. I am not totally convinced everyone using the pools were guests of the hotel which I think is bad as it means many hotel guests were unable to get beds by the pool. The guests staying there weren't the most friendly either.

The spa is very nice and we enjoyed using this and had a nice massage each. Outside the spa was nice too but the loudness of the teenagers around the sports club pool wasn't ideal.

As a young couple without car hire it was a bit remote for us and we spent a lot of money on cabs travelling into the town centres. The bus to the beach isn't great as you had to get there early to ensure a seat on this or wait an hour for the next one. The hotel rooms were clean and modern and we liked them however the sea view isn't what was expected and the green balcony makes everything look green through its glass.

We enjoyed the stay overall but wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Lucy O,

First of all, I would like to thank you to taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate all feedback and welcome comments.

We hope you enjoyed the Hotel. Regarding your room, you have booked a double standard and all of them have two beds. We will be very pleased to give you all the information needed about our different types of rooms

Thank you again for sharing your experience and please do not hesitate to contact me personally on your next visit and it will be a pleasure to welcome you again,
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Trendy, modern hotel - amazing - very clean - excellent breakfast, particularly omelette chef.
Rooms spacious with excellent facilities.
Roof top pool and bar/food excellent. Some staff work really hard
In between hills - one up to supermarket, one down to beach and train.
Good transport system to Malaga and other resorts near by if remoteness is a problem.
Only niggle is reception staff need to appreciate holiday clientele as well as business people - no local knowlegde of area and made to wait while conference/sports club people given priority.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DENISE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Denise T,

Thank you for choosing THB Reserva del Higueron for your stay in Costa del Sol.
We are pleased to know that the expectations were reached during your stay at our Hotel.
We thank you very much for the time you took to provide us with your feedback, which is one of our most powerful ways of taking care of our high quality standard.
We will consider your suggestions.
We are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again,
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved every bit of it!
The hotel overlooks the surroundings and the view from the infinity pool is just awesome.
Nice breakfast buffet with nice staff.
Big and modern rooms with both shower and bath tub.

The only things I can complain about is the standard of the hotels dinner buffet and the lack of restaurants and shops in the vicinity of the hotel.
However the neighboring restaurant Al Rolo is excellent with cheap and really good tapas dishes. The price for eating at Al Rolo is almost the same as eating the dinner buffet.

We'll come back here soon for more days doing nothing but relaxing and enjoying each others company.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Björn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Björn C,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment ! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at THB Reserva del Higueron and I shared your kind words with all my colleagues.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again,
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is amazing. We wanted a chilled out holiday in a nice hotel in spanish surroundings and we certainly got it. We took the train from malaga to carvajal and were delighted to find the little tourist train waiting for us to take us to the hotel. Our room was lovely, we took the 'economy' room and could not have wished for anything more. It was clean, spacious and had a large terrace area. We ate at 'al rolo' restaurant twice, it was superb and so well priced. We trusted to waiter to choose the wine for us and so it came as a shock to get the bill and find the wine was only €3 a €5 a glass. The violet ice cream is fantastic. We ate at the hotel buffet restaurant on our last evening, we found the food to be worth the €18 that they charge, there was plenty of choice and a large selection of fresh meat and fish cooked to order. Wine at the restaurant was €9.50 a bottle, again well priced. The rooftop pool was definitely something special, it was so chilled out with great background music that just added to the atmosphere. Even the toilets had the 'wow' factor. We used the pool downstairs once during our stay and that was also a nice area, had the rooftop pool been full i would not of been upset at having to use the other pool.
The hotel is on a very steep hill but the train runs frequently enough. One day we had to walk up to the hotel from the beach as the train had stopped for siesta, it was difficult but not the end of the world, it just made the glass of wine at the hotel even more enjoyable!!
We spent a few days at the beach on carvajal, it was enjoyable and the food down there is great. It is very spanish and they don't speak much english but that was exactly what we wanted. We went in to fuengirola twice and found really lovely tapas bars which surprised me. Taxis back to the hotel are easy to find, just at the train station and approx €10.
The thb reserva del higueron is the only hotel i have stayed in that is actually better than it looks and is described on the website. I have already recommended it to the others and would love to stay again myself in the near future. I can appreciate that it will not suit everyone as it is so modern and so remote but for us it was perfect. A brilliant find!

Room Tip: Room 138 is facing the road but on a corner so big terrace and away from all the noise that weddings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natashaThirsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Natasha Thirsk,
Thank you for choosing THB Reserva del Higueron for your stay in Costa del Sol.
We are pleased to know that the expectations were reached during your stay at our Hotel.
Certainly, the attention and care of all our staff makes possible for our Hotel guests feel this special atmosphere.
We thank you very much for the time you took to provide us with your feedback, which is one of our most powerful ways of taking care of our high quality standard.
We are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again,
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
2.1 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,064 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,507 reviews
2.8 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,044 reviews
2.3 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,479 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Consistorial
Hotel Casa Consistorial
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron

Address: Avenida del Higueron, 48 | Autopista Costa del Sol, Salida 217, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain (Formerly THB Reserva del Higueron)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: £59 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron is located near Malaga and Marbella, Spain, vibrant cities on the Costa del Sol. This private resort is in a tranquil area with stunning sea and mountain views, and is exclusively for adults 16 years or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva Del Higueron Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing