We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A stressful break.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Just got home from our second visit to thb and what a disappointment, me and my partner stayed in July and it was really good, we told our 2 friends about the hotel and decided to all go together, when we got there the double room we had asked for was 2 singles and the hotel was full so they could not move us, the reception team seem to really struggle with English language, All the staff do to be honest, the infinity pool is lovely and the food is basic at the pool bar but very nice, I found that the prices were higher maybe they put them up as it's peak season, and when getting drinks it would always be a different size glass, but even if it was smaller they still charge the same, getting a bed in the morning is a nightmare it is an absolute race to get a bed as pool does not open til 10, my partner run up and put a towel down, then we went for breakfast but whilst we were gone the staff took our towels off the bed and another couple then had the bed, when we asked what's going on they said you are not allowed to reserve beds, yet we had done this on several occasions and they started putting signs up saying no reserving beds and she was moving everyone's towels even though one couple had just gone for a swim, I think people use the pool and do not stay at hotel, the hotel just seem to cater for the Spanish, as I think they go there for weekend breaks, the hotel is a good price but it has to be to make up for everything else it lacks, we will never return to this hotel I literally need another holiday as everything was just one big stress!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Char-char-char010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Char-Char,
First of all, I would like to thank you to taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback and welcome comments.

I really feel sorry to read that we didn’t reach your expectations during your last stay.

I would like to inform you that we haven’t increased our food and beverage prices and still have the same glasses at Infinity Pool. Certainly, it is not possible to reserve sun beds with towels.

All nationalities are welcome to THB Reserva del Higueron. Spanish clients come to spend the weekend by proximity but our clients come from different countries.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome back again,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    514
    247
    104
    75
See reviews for
134
924
35
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked a last minute trip for 5 days to this hotel, choosing it for being 'child-free' and relaxing.

It's quite retro in its design with a cool stylist interior that is international but with a friendly Spanish welcome.

The rooms have baths in the centre of the room and a separate wc and shower. Look a little austere but well equipped with efficient air con and v. Comfy beds.

Food is tapas restaurant which is a bit bland and overpriced compared to the more beachy seafood places along the beach. The buffet style breakfast and dinner is a bit samey after a few days but is great value at €18 and has a lovely upstairs bar with a rooftop infinity pool.

There is a child-like road train that provides a free shuttle from hotel to beach/railway station or 'shopping centre'. The shopping centre has a small supermarket, pharmacy and a couple of gift shops and prob not worth the trip as the shops at the beach sell everything you need and they're right on the beach!

Sun beds are €8 a day at the beach and def worth the investment .

This hotel and spa is def worth the trip - loved it

Room Tip: Most are sea view. No kids allowed so there's no 'shouting and roaring' at the pool to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elfiemarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Elfiemarden,

I would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comment you have taken the time to publish. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your kind words with all my colleagues.

I sincerely hope to welcoming you soon again,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar, null, Gibraltar
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This adult only Hotel is nice to spend a few days relaxing and chilling out with nothing to do but sunbathe all day long.
Rooms are clean and spacious most of them with side sea views. People who don't mind their privacy when using the bathtub, shower or even the toilets then this hotel is perfect as bathtub, shower and toilets are all within the same room.
Staff are friendly and quite helpful.
Breakfast is great with good choices, but unfortunately not enough space for all guest and some had to wait to get an empty table. A pity when there is enough room to fit extra tables.
The infinity pool and bar is great as long as you are lucky enough to get one of the 16 round sunbathing beds.
In the other downstairs pool again seems to me not enough sunshades available (only 3 available during my visit).
The SPA is great , don't miss it.
In summary, nice looking, very relaxing and ultra modern design hotel which could be enhanced by providing more facilities for the amount of guests that can stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe1652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Joe1652,

First of all, I would like to thank you to taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate all feedback and welcome comments.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the Hotel.

At breakfast, can happens that customers arrive at the same time and have to wait but normally only for a short time. Sorry for the inconveniences.

Regarding sunbathing beds, we inform you that we have 25 in Infinity Pool and sunshades in Palmeral. We apologize if they were busy.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and please do not hesitate to contact me personally on your next visit and it will be a pleasure to welcome you again,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at the THB Reserva del Higueron which we really enjoyed however there are a few small things about our stay that were rather disappointing...

On arrival which was early afternoon were we greeted by one male and one female member of staff who were relatively friendly but gave us hardly any info about the hotel, we were just told where our room was and shown the times for breakfast and dinner (not even told where the buffet was located) I had previously emailed the hotel to request a high level room as i have seen tips on here to get as high a floor as possible to ensure you get up to the rooftop pool quickly. The reply i received said they would try their best to ensure we had a high floor room and if we would like to upgrade on arrival then we could... yes we did want to upgrade on arrival but once we got there apparently there was no upgrade rooms available! Yes we did get a rather high floor room on the 3rd floor (hotel has 5 floors) HOWEVER we were not aware that the hotel is actually in two blocks. The block we were in was not the block with the rooftop pool. So our request was pointless as we had to walk through reception every morning to get in the lift at the other side of the hotel.
This became less of a problem as we realised it was easy enough to just go straight up after breakfast anyway. The standard rooms are quite nice although the two beds pushed together were annoying and also be aware that there is only one sliding door between the shower and toilet, basically if someone has the door closed whilst in the shower you can’t close the door in the toilet! so you must have to be comfortable in front of your room mate I guess!

Now in terms of breakfast it was quite good, there is a wide variety of hot and cold options, they also cook fresh omelettes. The only disappointing thing about breky was that our first morning we had no clue where to get the tea and coffee... we eventually realised people were going up to the bar for hot drinks.
After breakfast we would head up to the rooftop pool. Now, i don’t even know where to begin with the hilarity of people rushing up to the pool. Our first few days we had no problems getting up in the lift to the pool and securing a bed. Throughout the week the hotel got really busy on wed / thurs from then on it got a slightly competitive! The lifts physically do not go up to the top floor until bang on 10am! people would go up to the 4th floor and hold the doors open watching the clock strike from 9:59 to 10:00. The circular beds would be gone by about 10:15 and the others which were slightly in the shade at certain times would be gone by about 10:45.
The rooftop pool area in its self is lovely and has a nice atmosphere with the chilled out dance music however it did get slightly annoying throughout the week as they seem to only have 2 different cd’s. I can’t bare to hear another saxophone remix!
The only thing that spoilt the rooftop pool for us was the amount of Spanish posers! I can’t believe how vain some of the Spanish couples were, having some sort of photo shoot around the pool with their mobile phones 24/7. We all like a good holiday snap however standing under the poolside showers and flicking your hair about is just a little bit too far! On that note, yes, there are many different nationalities within the hotel (very few british in-fact) mainly Spanish, French and German whom were all rather rude and don’t know how to crack a smile.

Like most of the reviews state, yes this is a perfect hotel if you completely just want to chill out and relax. The down stairs pool is very very peaceful (normally attracts the older guests) if you want to just sit in the sun and read a book this is the place to be, however the grass sticks to your feet and there are a lot of wasps and flies!

The location of the hotel is rather out of the way. Steep bank up to the nearest supermarket which is about a 10min walk and exhausting in the heat! When we first wanted to go to the supermarket we asked at reception and she pointed us in the direction and said it was 6-8mins walk. Once we finally got there we were shattered and even worse on our way down we seen the hotel’s little train shuttle driving past us on it’s way up! We could not believe that the woman on reception did not mention to us that the train went to the shop (we thought it only went to the beach) The shuttle is quite handy however it does not stick to the timetable! There were several times when we missed the shuttle as it was running about 20 mins early or late, also is does not have many seats and once they are full they are full.
There is no where really you could just ‘go for a walk’ around the hotel as it is rather far up and quite a residential area full of villas / apartments.
If you are wanting to go out on a night time the best thing to do is get a taxi into Mijas as it is lovely! We went to Mijas for a meal and some drinks, it cost us 14 euro in a taxi. Once we were there we finally felt like we were actually in Spain! It has lovely views and little white Spanish traditional buildings. The tourist centre there is also very very helpful to recommend restaurants etc (unlike the hotel).
We also went into Fuengirola one evening which was the complete opposite to Mijas. As two 22 year old girls you would think we would prefer Fuengirola however we found it to be rather tragic.
We went for a lovely Chinese meal and then some drinks at a few bars we got roped into going as its just like your standard tourist place where staff offer you free shots etc to get you into the bars. We did have fun although blackpool in the sun comes to mind. It depends what you prefer.

The other nights that we stayed in the hotel we ate in the resturant buffet as we were half bored. The food was ok, some nights it was awful, quite cold. We would then go up the to rooftop pool bar for drinks as there was no where else to go. It was nice however you can get sick of it after being there all day then going back on the night time. They still play the same music on the evening which is annoying and it feels no different. The staff on the pool bar are lovely, especially the two guys. The young guy Javier was lovely to us all week, just a genuinely nice soft natured guy.
The food and drinks from the rooftop pool were alright, the food was slightly overpriced for some options i.e 18 for a club sandwich or 8 for a hamburger and fries! They have a good options of alcohol / cocktails however no wine list. If you are a wine drinker you will be disappointed. The hotel has its own ‘house’ wine which is actually called THB and it is awful.

On out last day we had a couples massage which they do two people for 56euros. We had the massage outside by the down stairs pool garden area which was nice although it did not last very long. The spa looks lovely however you have to pay extra to use it which i find ridiculous, also the big rounded shape pool you see in the photographers... yeah thats not for hotel users either.

Overall we did have a nice stay at the hotel apart from the little things that bothered us. I would recommend this hotel simply if you just want a week of lying around a pool / happy with going to bed or having a few drinks in the same environment each night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abs-Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Abs-Mc,

Thank you for choosing THB Reserva del Higueron for your stay in Costa del Sol.
We are pleased to know that the expectations were reached during your stay at our Hotel.
We thank you very much for the time you took to provide us with your feedback, which is one of our most powerful ways of taking care of our high quality standard.
We will consider your suggestions.
We are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I loved this place, big plus for me is its over 16yrs old so made it very relaxing and quiet, I managed to read 6 books in 5 days! If you want to party this is not the place for you !
I took my daughter to relax after her exams, she is 16 and loved not having to do ANYTHING! The roof pool was the highlight really. We didn't have any problem getting a bed, in fact we had one each, but at weekends its busier with Spanish coming for a break, so is harder to get a bed. You are not meant to reserve beds, everyone still does, sometimes the staff removed the towels other times they didn't bother. Didn't affect us as we didn't move from 10am-6pm!
Food was ok, nothing special but always something to eat, the rooftop food was much better than the restaurant.
Rooms were clean and tidy, we had a sea view, but only if we craned our necks, not bothered though as so little time spent in the room or on balcony.
Gym was perfect, Im a personal trainer so want a good gym with good equipment, this fitted the bill 100%, in fact I think it was better than my own local gym.
Didn't use the spa but looked nice.
Staff were perfectly nice to us.
My only real negative is the cost of water in the bars, they charge a small fortune for a small bottle and then wonder why people go to the sports bar where you get a large bottle for just over a euro. Small gripe!
Would definitely go back and would definitely recommend to friends, but only if you want a relaxing holiday.
Free Wi-Fi all over the hotel is fab.

Room Tip: So many people said get a room away from the lift but we didn't really notice any noise at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear SuzyeastSussex,

I would like to thank you so very much for your wonderful comment you have taken the time to publish. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your kind words with all my colleagues.

I sincerely hope to welcoming you soon again,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Have visited the pool bar on a few occasions for drinks - very trendy and fabulous view. Staff very friendly and drink prices reasonable. First time recently that we've visited the upstairs tapas bar, and enjoyed it so much we visited again a few days later. Very nice decor, the staff were really pleasant and food served very quickly. Particularly enjoyed the mushroom tapas, pork and calamari dishes. Definitely will visit again, and was one of the highlights of our holiday. I'd also like to try the spa sometime.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Jed101,

Thank you for your time and sharing your opinion about our Hotel. We highly value all comments.
It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience and to over exceed our guests expectations.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay .
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on your next visit and it will be a pleasure to welcome you again,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Great concept, modern decor, friendly staff and great facilities.
Great location but if you're coming for work, like I did... You just don't want to do any work... You just want to spend your day by the roof top bar, infinity pool and chill...

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaytuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Gaytuga,

Thank you for your time and sharing your opinion about our Hotel. We highly value your comments.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
4.3 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
2.7 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
2.4 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Address: Avenida del Higueron, 48 | Autopista Costa del Sol, Salida 217, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain (Formerly THB Reserva del Higueron)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron is located near Malaga and Marbella, Spain, vibrant cities on the Costa del Sol. This private resort is in a tranquil area with stunning sea and mountain views, and is exclusively for adults 16 years or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva Del Higueron Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing