We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first time,hopefully not the last”
Review of Angela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angela Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a lovely 10days at the Angela at the beginning of November, great weather. Can't really fault the hotel Angela, it was great. Food was lovely, I am a fussy eater, but I always found plenty to eat. The rooms are a little on the small side, but it wasn't a problem. Staff were lovely and friendly. Kelly the Thomson rep was great and very helpful. The hotel is in a prime spot right on the promenade. I loved Fuengriola, plenty to do. Can't wait to go back, and stay at the Angela again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanneWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thanks a lot for sharing your thoughts about Hotel Angela with other Trip Advisor users and for your kind words. We certainly love reading happy reviews like yours as they are a great motivation and they help us keep working hard. It is very satifying to hear you had such a fantastic time at the Angela and we really hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,205 - 1,211 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Positives - the staff were friendly and very helpful, the hotel was spotlessly clean and it's in a good location being right across the road from the beach and not far from shops, restuarants and bus/train stations. Beds comfortable, complementary toiletries and free wifi in main areas and in your room. Ask at the main desk for a code ( if you have several devices you will need a code for each). Free digital safe in room. TV with some English channels. Tea and coffee facilities in room. Remote control AC.
Negatives - the rooms are tiny nowhere to sit except the balcony. If you do not have the pool side you get NO sun at any time of the day so quite chilly at this time of year. The showers are dangerous. Every few seconds the water goes from cold to scolding without control, I would not want to have a child in them, and there are no baths and the bathrooms are shabby. Had to ask for the heated pool to be actually turned up to a temperature that was warm enough not to take your breath away as freezing, but they did do this so fair enough. The food is dire. Restaurant all refurbished and looks lovely, same with the lounge but it is a realistically it is a canteen. Self serve Buffett and although lots of variety but it is luke warm, dry meat and mainly tinned vegetables. We struggled to put together a reasonable meal. Depends on your own expectations/tastes. Paid for HB but went out due to this. However for the cost of the holiday, what can you expect. Lastly the entertainment...or lack of it unless you are over 70. The majority of the guests here are retired and come back year after year, the entertainment were various vocalists each evening all which sang the same songs every night so the guests could sequence/tea dance. There is a bar downstairs, again beautifully decorated but no one in it. There was a disco advertised but not really a disco with only 2 people! Happy hour in various places in the hotel throughout the day which was terrific value. Come in summer there may be different entertainment but NOT in November! Not a bad holiday but no way a 4 star due to the rooms/food. It certainly is a friendly hotel guests and staff alike.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a pool view or sea view, not road side as no sun and can hear the traffic a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hello all holiday searchers my wife and I stayed at this hotel on October 27 till November 3 what a great week we had .First of all this hotel is very central close to all the shops and bars and a nice stroll to the marina about 5 mins walk .The room we had was 812 great view over looking the pool which gets the sunshine all afternoon until sundown lovely.The food in this hotel is spot on we found a good selection every night of meat and fish dishes and plenty of dessert dishes had to use the next notch on my belt after our weeks stay here.The staff are all very pleasant always smiling and on reception Alison is very helpful .Don't believe what you read about the sun beds you can go down to the pool anytime and still get a couple of beds you still get those desperate people who have to be there at 9am to get close to the pool saddos.Bye the way the swimming pool is always freezing even with the amount of sun they get here.This was our second visit to this hotel and would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view high floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulmcgregorcorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thanks a lot for writing a review about the Angela and for coming back for another holiday. We are also grateful for the high rating received from you and for your nice comments regarding our services and staff. It would be lovely to see you back at Hotel Angela, so we hope you pay us another visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed at the Angela last year in October just before it closed for refurbishment, so when looking for this year thought we would go back and see the changes. The dining room,main lounge had new furniture in different shades of grey very nice and comfortable. The swimming pool is good but very cold some comfy chairs and tables round the pool and snack bar. People still laying towels on sunbeds really stupid there are loads stacked on one side. Only had one problem on a night the first week (we went 11th Oct until 25th Oct) we would go and sit near the snack bar outside and play cards we went up one night only to find it was closed. When I asked at reception why I was told it closes at 6pm because it was now winter I did say I thought it as a bit daft considering the temperature during the day was 28 C and at night never went below 22C. The next day there was a notice saying it would be open until 8.30pm so someone listened only trouble we never got out from dinner until about 8.45pm but never mind. ROOMS only difference was the bath had been taken out and a walk in shower instead a lot better. Make sure you ask for a room on the pool side we had to pay extra but worth it you get the sun most of all the day. The other side of the hotel faces the road so could be noisey. Food was okay salad bar was good plenty of choice. Have to say most days we went on the beach opposite the Hotel Yaramar
get a card from reception and show it to the beach man and you get two sunbeds with cushions and a glass of sangaria for 5 euros great. Will go back but might leave it for a year.

Room Tip: Pool side is best but make sure you do not get a room opposite the lifts very noisey at night with p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnYorkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for writing a review and sharing your opinion with other Trip Advisor users and for coming back to the Angela to see how it looks after the refurbishment. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and liked the changes. We hope to see you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just returned from the Angela after two wonderful weeks.All the hotel staff were very kind and helpful nothing was to much trouble,this counted a lot as my wife as a disability issue.The room we had was on the 5th floor good view and the room was cleaned daily.The hotel is close to the beach ,the area is nice and flat very good for people in wheelchairs, and a very good super market close at hand also a very good market on a Tuesday.My only concern that some of the hot food was served cold.We enjoyed it so much going back again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are the sunniest side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thanks for choosing Hotel Angela as your holiday retreat once more. We really appreciate your kind words and took note of your comment regarding the food temperature. We love seeing our guests coming back so we are very happy to know we will see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have just returned from the Angela 10th to 17th October. This is our second visit and enjoyed it as much as the time before (the hotel had not been refurbished then). Very clean and food was tasty and the only complaint with this was the lack of a menu for diabetics, if there was it was not marked as such. We think the dining room was a bit understaffed, but the staff that was there were very helpful. On the morning of departure the dining room opened early with a full breakfast menu available. Overall we had a great time and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: A high floor is a definine bonus, rooms overlooking the pool seem to get the sun more, but these ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Angela once again and for sharing your comments with us. We really appreciate them as they always help us to improve. We are very happy to hear you had a great week at Hotel Angela and you are willing to return. We would love to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just returned from another wonderful week at the Angela. Hotel was very busy but this did not affect us. Food as usual in the resturant and snack bar excellent. Had gone for the over 55 deal which was good value. Staff in restaraunt very attentive but especially to anyone disabled or needed help. Rooms cleaned daily and entertainment downstairs pretty good. Pool is to die for but not heated this time. We could not fault this hotel as they are always accommodating with any request. Will definatly be returning within the 6 months. We travelled with aer lingus and by train from Malaga to Fuengirola. Very easy journey!!

Room Tip: Pool view for sunny balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easyjettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thanks a lot for writing a review and for choosing Hotel Angela as your holiday retreat. We really appreciate your lovely comments and are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It would be lovely to see you back, so we hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,468 reviews
0.3 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,051 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,524 reviews
0 mi away
Apartamentos La Jabega
Apartamentos La Jabega
#10 of 37 in Fuengirola
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angela Hotel

Address: Calle Jaen 2 | Paseo Rey de Espana, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#4 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: £67 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angela Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Angela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol
Hotel Angela Fuengirola
Angela Fuengirola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing