We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter break”
Review of Angela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angela Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
newport
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“winter break”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

just returned from a weeks half board at the angela, could not fault a thing,i had a problem with food witch was the choice,i wanted everything on offer,the food was great.i certainly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: try to get room on pool side as sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glyn gmlac j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Hotel Angela for your winter break, for rating us so high and for recommending us. We hope to see you back at the Angela soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    506
    204
    45
    22
See reviews for
134
893
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We booked this trip as a last minute 10 day holiday with Thomson's . The Angel is right on the seafront and close to shops etc. The room was fairly small but nice. Even though it only claimed a side sea view, we could easily see the sea from the balcony. The food was very good with a large choice at all meals. The lounge and bar area was lovely with good high quality seating. Good evening entertainment. Staff at the bar and in the restaurant were great, helpful and efficient. The pool bar, the lounge bar and the downstairs disco bar all had different happy hours so you can drink at half price for most of the day if you wish! As a bonus the Angela is adults only. Finally the Thomson rep Gary, here is fantastic. So helpful and really cares.
We will be back

Room Tip: Don't need to pay extra for sea view as even the side sea view room have a good sea view, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p_paxton627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for choosing the Angela as your holiday retreat and for rating us so high. We really appreciate your feedback and are very happy to hear you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay as our guests' satisfaction is very important to us. We hope your next visit comes soon as it will be a real pleasure to us to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

After 2 visits to the Florida, which was excellent, my wife and I decided to see what the refurb had done to one of our favourite hotels, the Angela.
We were not disappointed.
There were not too many drastic changes, it seems that in the main it had revolved around new seating in the main lounge, redecorating, a lift, elevator to our American friends, down to the "disco" lounge and walk in showers in the bathrooms.
Plus one VAST improvement to the entrance area, an extended ramp for wheelchair users and those unable to climb stairs.
I would assume that all hotel staff are trained to be helpful and friendly, the staff at the Angela don`t need training, they come across as genuinely nice friendly helpful people.
Food is usual high standard, entertainment passable.
All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: If you book overlooking the pool, which are the better option, through your travel agent it will cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobcave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thanks a lot for staying at the Angela and for rating us so high. We really appreciate your kind comments, especially the ones regarding our staff. We are also very happy to hear you liked the new look of the hotel and the changes we recently made. It would be a real pleasure to see you back at the Angela so we hope you pay us a visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was our second visit to the Angela and we were impressed with the refurbishment. Our room was on the top (9th) floor and the balcony had the warm winter sunshine from late morning until it set over the mountains behind the hotel. The food was quite acceptable but perhaps could have been hotter some days. Plenty of choice and very well presented. The hotel is well situated for the bus, train, and a 15 minute walk will take you to the Marina where there are lots of bars and restaurants. Now the bad news. The hotel MUST do something about the entertainment or lack of it on an evening. The downstairs entertainment room was closed most evenings and when it was open the choice was a game of bingo and a disco. (95% of the guests are 60+ years old - myself and husband included). I don't think a disco is what we want. Upstairs the lounge bar was given over to ballroom/sequence dancing to either a duo or a singer, neither of which would have won the X Factor!! The number of couples ballroom dancing could be counted on one hand
One of the reasons we made this second visit to the Angela was the entertainment we had last time. Comedian, Magic Show, Tribute Acts, George the barman sang two evenings on our last visit. What a voice that guy has, now he could win the X Factor. Unfortunately we wont be returning to the Angela unless the entertainment greatly improves.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool if you want the sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank holidayhunter378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

First visit after refurbishment - cant fault the sunbed area/pool-the food and the plus points about the location. What disappointed us was the lack of evening entertainment-yes the happy hour is still there, but as there are no money prizes for the bingo, only drink vouchers-no body plays. Every evening there were the usual duo in the lounge, Ok if you were the ballroom dancer-if not -tough. No cabaret, so went out after the evening meal. Back at the Hotel after 11pm-its like a ghost town. Wont be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at Hotel Angela. We booked this on earlier results from Tripadvisor.
What a huge mistake. Hotel has had some refurbishment which does look n ice but under the surface there lays some grim faults. We upgraded to a SO called Superior room. It is slightly larger than the smallish rooms and is on front of Hotel, where the noisy road is. Only refurb here is a walk-in shower, rest of room and windows need work done. Hallways are drab and not particually clean. Then there is the food!!. Not at all 4* and not hot. Quite a few couples ate out a lot of the time. Entertainment was ok if you sequence danced I suppose, but same music every night!!. The only reason people stay in Hotel is the quite lengthy Happy Hours. They do have a Disco but that is only frequented when Happy hour is on.There are no entertainment staff at the hotel, so nothing going on day or night except 3rd rate music acts.
Saving grace are the staff in every department.
We do use Thomson 4* Hotels and they are usually very good. Sorry Angela but a lot of work is required by your Managment

Room Tip: If you do go here ask for sunnyside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coljaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a hotel that as repeat customers year in year out,spoke to some who come 3 times a year,The hotel is in a good position on the sea front and close to the port and harbour.The hotel as been refurbished recently,the lounge and bar and dinning room are excellent as are the bedrooms but a little on the small side,The food was excellent but like most spanish was only warm luckily they had microwave ovens if you needed them.The three bars in the hotel each had a 2 hour happy hour session everyday and we never needed to buy a drink at full price.All the staff were very friendly and helpfull and made you feel at home.The hotel is ideal for using as a base for traveling to other resorts in the area or just chilling out round the excellent swiming pool and sun lounge area,i would recomend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit the costa-del-sol..

Room Tip: high floors on the sunny side are the rooms to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewlouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thanks a lot for choosing Hotel Angela, writing a review and recommending us. We really appreciate your comments and are very glad to know you liked the hotel after the refurbishment and did enjoy your stay with us. It would be great to see you back once again, so we hope you visit us some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,406 reviews
0.3 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,416 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
0.7 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angela Hotel

Property: Angela Hotel
Address: Calle Jaen 2 | Paseo Rey de Espana, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#4 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Angela Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Angela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol
Hotel Angela Fuengirola
Angela Fuengirola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing