We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful hotel, exceptional staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Angela Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel, exceptional staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying in this hotel, halfway through a four week stay. The first time I have stayed here, but definitely not the last.
I have read the longwinded whinge, sorry, review, just listed on this site, and cannot believe they stayed at the same hotel.
Firstly the staff, they are without exception, some of the friendliest, most helpful I have ever come across, and I have travelled extensively for work and pleasure. Nothing is too much trouble for them, they will move heaven and earth to please.
As regards the finishing time in restaurant, the complainer should have read the board outside, which clearly states it closes at 9.30, not 10.00. Seeing as it opens at 5.30, surely a four hour window is enough for anyone to fit in a relaxed meal.
The christmas decorations were lovely, and prolific, including a large tree, many varied lights, and a stunning nativity scene outside the dining room.
It was a bit insulting to hear all patrons were over 70, and incapable of deciding if food was good or not!! I am considerately younger than that, and quite clear that the food here is excellent.
All in all, this hotel is excellent value for money, wonderfully positioned, and with staff most hotels would envy.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
17 Thank dawlishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thanks a lot for writing your review while still staying at the hotel and for rating us so high. We really appreciate your kind words and are delighted to know you are enjoying your first experience at the Angela so much. We really hope it won't be your last as we certainly do love seeing familiar faces coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    444
    177
    38
    15
See reviews for
116
788
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in Fuengirola, Spain for 2 weeks. If you are not aware, the Hotel Angela, Yaramar and the Hotel Florida in Fuengirola are all owned by the same family/hotel chain and are all sister hotels. This review is an account of our experience and opinion of the Hotel Angela.

Our initial booking consisted of a double bed with bath of which we had paid extra for but never received as our designated room at the Angela never had a private bath that was stated on our itinerary and had an adjoining door where both rooms could clearly hear each other! Therefore, we never originally had what we had initially booked room wise at the Angela through Thompsons!


RESTAURANT STAFF:
What an absolute kitchen nightmare! Dinner service is supposed to be served until 10 pm. There is a real problem with this hotel/hotel group regarding this as their restaurant staffs seem to think otherwise! We found, they start packing up food at about 9pm and make you feel extremely uncomfortable, pressured and pushed to hurry your food and complete your dining experience fast because they want to pack up and go home it seems! We feel the head waiter/Maitre D “Angel” is a very bad advertisement for this hotel and should be removed from his position. We found him to be extremely rude, unprofessional, and very aggressive and abusive in his manner and approach towards customers, lacking total customer service skills. Basically, this Maitre D was extremely abusive to us for taking a mere bottle of water into the restaurant when there was no prior warning or written notice to state that patrons could not take in their own bottle of water to the restaurant and it is the first time we encountered such an occurrence as we have always at other hotels been able to take in our own bottled water without any issue whatsoever. The matter was investigated due to the magnificently magnified drama the Maitre D turned the incident into and he was given a written warning so we were told! His dining room staff obviously reflects his extremely poor customer service ethics because we found the restaurant Staff at the Angela extremely aloof, detached and they reflected their maitre D, being very rude and abrupt and noisy as they went about their work. No customer service, no respect whatsoever for the paying customer who yes pay their wages because tourists and holiday makers are what keep them in their jobs! Basically we have nothing positive to say about the Restaurant and its entire staff, yes it’s all that bad!

FOOD/CUISINE
The food is totally unimaginative, dull, boring and tasteless with the same monotonous selection being served either overcooked or undercooked all the time! Reminiscent of a Butlins style catering service but its self serve buffet style and only catered for the simple British palate and it remained a very uneventful canteen buffet style service.
If the people in reviews say the food is great they obviously don’t understand about quality dining, quality food or professional cooking and perhaps base their food standards on tasteless processed/packaged food or dine at basic canteen style fast food outlets. Also, the fact that the hotel charges the patron for a bottle of water at the Angela is an absolute audacity and again is an extremely tight and stingy policy of the hotel owners/management staff! A small bottle of water will cost you 2 Euro for 14 nights, that’s 28 euro on a small bottle of water!!! They do not warn or advertise to hotel patrons that you cannot take your own water in! Don’t do that people as you could be subjected to the aggressive abuse from a staff member as we personally experienced!.

This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel! People spend a lot of money to stay at hotels like this, we should not be expected to be grossly inconvenienced or verbally abused by hotel staff members. We feel, Hotels should have a 100 percent commitment to all their patrons and also a 100 percent dedication policy should be towards the service and care of each patron and if a staff member contravenes that and acts inappropriately by seriously abusively threatening their “guests” in a complete inappropriate manner and making a public spectacle of them, then that staff member should be immediately removed from the hotel and their employment terminated rather than be allowed to continue to be a risk to other prospective good paying customers or future hotel patrons as with our experience at the hotel Angela and it’s abusive Maitre D! So, we wrote this review to share and forewarn others of our extremely unpleasant experiences at this particular Hotel.

THE HOTEL:
The hotel which is advertised as an “adults only” hotel by the likes of Thompsons mainly caters for the elderly and the 70+ age group and is quite noisy especially with drunken O.A.P’s returning noisily to their rooms at night. It is definitely in our opinion “ A God’s Waiting Room but the Restaurant Staff and their Maitre D make it feel more like Hell rather than Heaven! The Hotel rooms are all tired looking, worn and small, considering there was supposed to be an upgrade! There is an issue with sun beds and trying to get a sun bed in the morning, lucky if you manage to get one! At their private beach facility, they charge the patron an extra 5 euro for a sun bed per day! How much more can this hotel and its greedy policies as well as its greedy management staff/owners try and make from the gullible tourist?! Incidentally, their private beach facility is not very private at all in our opinion, that’s if you can tolerate and stand the constant noisy traffic drone and also the “looky looky guys” constantly bombarding you trying to sell you things whilst you’re trying to relax in peace! The entertainment was absolutely awful at the Hotel Angela! We found it to be of poor quality, very outdated and some of the “vocalists” were woeful to listen to with some of them badly pitching! Very amateur Karaoke style entertainment!
Indeed children were present – an adult only hotel you say? If the hotel isn’t booked out or you come to visit at the peak of holiday season say August or a little after, you can find Spanish families with small children staying there. Don’t think that “adult only” is guaranteed, children are in the “small print”, Thompsons may make it look on the surface that it’s adult only but if you read the small print you will find that the hotel has a right to entertain any type of guests it chooses including small children and babies!

THOMPSONS AND THEIR REPS -. We are simply not satisfied with Thompsons as a holiday service provider and feel that they have certainly let their standards slip. We found the Thompson reps we encountered to appear only helpful if you’re booking something like one of their excursions but otherwise we found they offered poor customer service and seemed quite cold, abrupt, aloof, even unprofessional in their manner, lacking good people skills and are blindly dismissing when it comes to genuine complaints or issues which genuinely need addressing. We found they appear to side with the hotel rather than the patron (the paying customer!). After this final experience we will never be using or recommending Thompsons or their services again!

TO CONCLUDE:
We would NOT recommend this hotel under any circumstance and feel it is best to stay away. We feel one can find better accommodation elsewhere out there as there are other true 4 star hotels offering the services to merit 4 stars!. We rate the Hotel Angela as a “sub 3 star”…just!

Room Tip: Don't Go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
30 Thank topkitty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest, we are very sorry to read a whole review with only negative comments about our hotel and staff. As you say we did address the issue you mention about the bottle of water with the Maitre d and he received the written warning. You must know that in order to replace a staff member in a company in Spain you need at least 3 of these. We do believe it was an isolated case and apologise again. As for the private beach, we would like to clarify private beaches do not exist in spain, they are all public. What the hotel has is an area with sunbeds with preference for our guests to rent them. The price being 5€ for 2 sunbeds not one. As for the rest of your comments, we would have liked to address them with you whilst you were here as we did with the restaurant incident, in order to get more suggestions from your side on how to improve which is always our goal. We thank you for sharing your feelings about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just returned after christmas and new year holiday. The dinner on christmas and new year were excelent.Boxing day buffet, good also.The rest of the holiday, a compete disapointment.what a shame.We have been to the Angela quite a few times before.We will not be going back unless vast improvement takes place.The staff are great,what few threre were. No one seemed to be in charge of the entertainment.What little there was of it.The function room may as well have been closed for what good it was.Previous years, this has been very good! In the lounge bar.One girl singer had to entertain us from 8-15 until 11-30.With two short breaks.NOT ON.We believe this Hotel has changed hands? I think it is not for the better.

Room Tip: Don,t go!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest, first of all allow us to clarify that the hotel has not changed hands. The management and whole team are the same as the previous times you have been here. We are sorry you did not like the food this time around, we can assure you our chef is always creating menus to make sure there is a wide variety that appeals to everyones taste. Thank you for you comments on the gala dinners and the boxing day cocktail. About the entertainment, of course there is a person in charge and we have taken note on your comments in order to improve. Thank you for your review, we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel from 30 December to 6 January. We booked directly with the hotel and had the over 55's deal. I did think that New Year's Eve was a bit pricey at 320 euros per couple although that was fullboard. As we are not "big drinkers" as were most people staying there no one can drink that much wine.

When we arrived we paid 21 euros extra to have a room over the pool (710) which had the sun most of the day out of 7 nights we only had one overcast day the temperatures ranged from 19-22 lovely when the UK was getting a soaking.

The lady who cleaned our room was really good she gave us extra pillows and blankets nothing was too much trouble for her and our room was always clean and well maintained but personally we thought the bathroom a little dangerous. If you put the shower on fast then the water went onto the floor and one night there was water on the floor and I slipped and bumped my arm, I think this is something the management should be looking to improve maybe put a sliding door so that no water escapes.

The food was good and plenty of choice at all meals it could be warmer but there were microwaves there for your use.

We would stay at the Angela again hopefully soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thanks a lot for choosing to spend The New Year at Hotel Angela and for writing a review here on Trip Advisor. We really appreaciate your comments and take note of them. We are glad to hear you enjoyed some nice weather during your break and would like to visit again. It would be great to see you back, so we hope that visit comes very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

If I had been told prior to trip I had to be in 70s or over I would never had gone. The hotel had only a few people in, entertainment seemed to cater for ballroom dancers(which I am not). Ther was only one act which was very good husband n wife singers they were brilliant, but the rest were not much good I am so glad I didn't book for Xmas no one seemed to know what was going on,Xmas secs were few and far between. So never again for me but if your looking at staying in at night you ok here for a early night. We went out but the bars were shut as no people about, we had a sunny room but other side of hotel didn't so it would have been to cold to sit on balcony. Maybe the hotel could do with game or something during the day. We got the train to malaga to see Xmas lights which made a nice evening Alls went to torrenolinos and had lunch, the miramar centre in fuengirola is worth a visit, so is the Latinos centre on malaga. We also got the bus to Mijas. Trains are cheap clean and on time, busses are cheap and reliable, there is a supermarket near hotel but outside were a lot of men with cans of beer and dogs. I wouldn't go there again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anita4spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest, thank your for your review. We see our hotel did not meet your expectations completely and take note of your comments about the entertainment. We apologise if you felt it was catered for older guests, we try to appeal to every type of guest and this is not always easy. We are happy to read you took advantage of your holidays here with us and enjoyed the surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned from a Christmas time holiday at this hotel, what a great disappointment, the bathrooms were to say the least shabby with showers which leaked all over the floor, I was not the only guest to note this point. There was a large selection of food on offer however not nicely cooked or presented and most of the food including soups were very tepid, the service in the dining room was very poor with the exeception of the Christmas day meal where they seem to find extra staff. We were also very surprised at how cold the main communual rooms were during morning and evening, there appeared to be no heating in these areas, although the bedrooms did have individual heating when needed. It is a hotel that is very well positioned for the promenade such a disappointment that it didn't match expectations, we wouldn't wish to stay there again.

Room Tip: Always pay supplement for room on the poolside otherwise you will get no sunshine on your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Babs207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest, we are sorry to read you felt disapointed with your stay at our hotel. We take note on your comments and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We've just returned from a three day break over the Christmas period. We were a party of 18, ranging from 58 to 80 years old, most of us living here in Spain, and the hotel ticked all our boxes.
The location couldn't have been better - with the paseo to walk along for a bit of sunshine.
The train station was a short walk away which was great if you wanted to go into Malaga for the evening to see the lights.
The staff were attentive and very friendly. The food was excellent and the entertainment helped to get you into a party mood. From Alison on reception to Carmen, our lovely waitress on Christmas night, they all did the hotel proud.
This won't be out last visit to a hotel which has got everything right.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thanks a lot for your nice review and for the high rating. We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic Christmas break at the Angela and you would love to visit again. It will be a real pleasure to us to welcome you once more and it fills us with joy to see familiar faces coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos La Jabega
Apartamentos La Jabega
#10 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angela Hotel

Property: Angela Hotel
Address: Calle Jaen 2 | Paseo Rey de Espana, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#4 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Angela Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Angela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol
Hotel Angela Fuengirola
Angela Fuengirola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing