We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return.”
Review of Angela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angela Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
tipton, uk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return.”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Having decided on a holiday in Fuengirola this hotel was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. It is situated on the road that fronts the beach. This does mean that at busy times the noise of the traffic and fellow holidaymakers can be a little loud. (There was a loose drain grill in the road outside the hotel that was annoying when traffic drove over it, but the hotel should not be faulted for that.) The fact that the majority of the guests there during our stay were regular return visitors speaks highly of the reputation that this hotel has and deserves.

The hotel is about 14 years old but has been updated. It is part of a group that includes the Florida Spa and Yaramar. The hotel was built “end on” to the beach so has 18 rooms with unobstructed views out to sea. All other rooms seem to have limited sea views. The rooms were adequately furnished and had air con and walk in shower. Wifi was available in the room, but beware the codes are changed weekly. All rooms were cleaned daily and you are given the option of when you want your towels changed daily (environmental). A safe is provided at no charge, but there is a charge for the fridge. Tea & coffee facilities are provided.

The entertainment floor has the heated swimming pool, sunbathing area, small games room (darts, pool table (at a price), table tennis), and a small room for table games. There is also a café that provides freshly prepared snacks and drinks – beware – the “happy hour” offer is two drinks for the price of one.

The reception is modern and the lounge bar area is where the evening entertainment is held. This area has views out to sea. There is also another entertainment room downstairs but this only usually opens when there is sufficient demand. The entertainment is average to good with most artists appearing regularly. Sometimes there are two separate acts per evening. Over two weeks we only had one very poor artist and that was on the last night of our stay.

The restaurant is self service. All tastes are catered for and every evening we had a roast option. Usually during a week there is a Gala Evening when live music is provided in the restaurant and the ladies are given a flower and everyone a drink of champagne. Usually a Chef greeted you at the evening meal.

All the staff were very friendly and efficient (especially Paco, Fali and Anna in the restaurant).

Our visit was in February and we expected our fellow guests to be of our age group (over 65) as this is when our age group like to get away from the UK winter. This was the case and as the hotel was described as being suited for couples we were not surprised that no children were present or that the entertainment was biased towards old time dancing.

Fuengirola is fairly flat and there are many benches on the sea front. Places to eat are everywhere and two doors from the hotel is and ex UK publican with such a business. A word of warning – BEWARE THE FLOWER SELLERS. The local railway is very efficient and runs from Fuengirola to Malaga via the airport. There is a very large market on a Tuesday but the Saturday flea market is not really worth a visit. The local zoo – Biopark – is a very pleasant way to spend a few hours 12-50 Euro. Whilst in the venue a day visit to Gibraltar – £16-00 – is a must. Once there you can spend you UK currency but unless you plan to spend the Gibraltar pounds request UK currency as change. Banks (well at least HSBC) do not charge for using you cards here. The cable car is a must visit if only for the pictures and views you can get on the way to and from the top. £10-50 return on our visit.

Would we return to the Angela? Can’t wait.

Room Tip: If not a full sea view, a room overlooking the swimming poll.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thanks a lot for staying at Hotel Angela and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users. We are very pleased to hear you had a fantastic time with us and you can't wait to return. We can't wait to see you again either, so we hope you pay us another visit very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    498
    197
    44
    20
See reviews for
129
874
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Angela several times before.This time we spent two weeks there just before Xmas booked with Thomsons.
We wanted afternoon sun and quiet nights, so we paid the supplement for a superior room and I emailed the hotel directly to ask for a room on a high floor on the pool side.We were given a corner room on the top floor which was both spacious and nicely furnished and decorated with a good sized wardrobe.The bathroom had a good sized shower instead of a bath.
We were very pleased with the room.Unlike experiences at some other hotels we never had a disturbed night, in fact the only noise we heard was the sound of the sea which was very restful.
The restaurant food was similar to that served in other holiday hotels in southern Spain,but the choice offered was better than most and we always found something to enjoy.
Of course neither the accommodation nor the food would make us return if the staff did not make us feel welcome. On this occasion,as before, we found all the hotel staff to be pleasant,cheerful and friendly. So the next time we want to visit Fuengirola we shall stay at the Angela.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Fanshaw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thanks a lot for staying at Hotel Angela, for writing a review and for rating us so highly. We really appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear you loved your stay with us and had a nice and relaxing time at our hotel. We hope your next visit comes soon as it would be a real pleasure to see you back at the Angela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed for 3nights at Christmas. The rooms were fairly simply furnishied but clean and comfortable with tv, tea and coffee facilities, own terrace with chairs and table. There is a fridge but has to be paid for daily. All food was self service from a buffet (hot and cold) with very good choices. The Xmas gala dinner was just excellent and would have been well received in a top class restaurant. We couldn't fault anything. However, above all, was the quality and customer service shown by all the staff. They are a credit to themselves and the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks a lot for choosing Hotel Angela to spend your Christmas break at and for rating us so highly. It is delightful to read such nice comments as providing a good service and making our guests happy are some of our mail goals. We really appreciate your kind words and would love to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Have travelled to this hotel several times now and find it clean comfortable and the staff are always pleasant. Im a fussy eater but always find something to eat, If you dont like cooked meals, theres always a nice buffet style salad bar.. This is a nice friendly hotel, and they have always accomodated to your requests.

If you required All Inclusive were you get your drinks/water free, you need to be booking a different hotel.

Its worth paying the extra per day for a poolside view

Room Tip: Book a pool side room, for a sunny balcony in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tinkerbell1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks for writing a review, rating us so high and being so loyal to Hotel Angela. We hope you enjoyed your last stay as much as the previous ones. It would be great to see you back at the Angela, so we hope your next visit comes soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying in this hotel, halfway through a four week stay. The first time I have stayed here, but definitely not the last.
I have read the longwinded whinge, sorry, review, just listed on this site, and cannot believe they stayed at the same hotel.
Firstly the staff, they are without exception, some of the friendliest, most helpful I have ever come across, and I have travelled extensively for work and pleasure. Nothing is too much trouble for them, they will move heaven and earth to please.
As regards the finishing time in restaurant, the complainer should have read the board outside, which clearly states it closes at 9.30, not 10.00. Seeing as it opens at 5.30, surely a four hour window is enough for anyone to fit in a relaxed meal.
The christmas decorations were lovely, and prolific, including a large tree, many varied lights, and a stunning nativity scene outside the dining room.
It was a bit insulting to hear all patrons were over 70, and incapable of deciding if food was good or not!! I am considerately younger than that, and quite clear that the food here is excellent.
All in all, this hotel is excellent value for money, wonderfully positioned, and with staff most hotels would envy.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
17 Thank dawlishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thanks a lot for writing your review while still staying at the hotel and for rating us so high. We really appreciate your kind words and are delighted to know you are enjoying your first experience at the Angela so much. We really hope it won't be your last as we certainly do love seeing familiar faces coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in Fuengirola, Spain for 2 weeks. If you are not aware, the Hotel Angela, Yaramar and the Hotel Florida in Fuengirola are all owned by the same family/hotel chain and are all sister hotels. This review is an account of our experience and opinion of the Hotel Angela.

Our initial booking consisted of a double bed with bath of which we had paid extra for but never received as our designated room at the Angela never had a private bath that was stated on our itinerary and had an adjoining door where both rooms could clearly hear each other! Therefore, we never originally had what we had initially booked room wise at the Angela through Thompsons!


RESTAURANT STAFF:
What an absolute kitchen nightmare! Dinner service is supposed to be served until 10 pm. There is a real problem with this hotel/hotel group regarding this as their restaurant staffs seem to think otherwise! We found, they start packing up food at about 9pm and make you feel extremely uncomfortable, pressured and pushed to hurry your food and complete your dining experience fast because they want to pack up and go home it seems! We feel the head waiter/Maitre D “Angel” is a very bad advertisement for this hotel and should be removed from his position. We found him to be extremely rude, unprofessional, and very aggressive and abusive in his manner and approach towards customers, lacking total customer service skills. Basically, this Maitre D was extremely abusive to us for taking a mere bottle of water into the restaurant when there was no prior warning or written notice to state that patrons could not take in their own bottle of water to the restaurant and it is the first time we encountered such an occurrence as we have always at other hotels been able to take in our own bottled water without any issue whatsoever. The matter was investigated due to the magnificently magnified drama the Maitre D turned the incident into and he was given a written warning so we were told! His dining room staff obviously reflects his extremely poor customer service ethics because we found the restaurant Staff at the Angela extremely aloof, detached and they reflected their maitre D, being very rude and abrupt and noisy as they went about their work. No customer service, no respect whatsoever for the paying customer who yes pay their wages because tourists and holiday makers are what keep them in their jobs! Basically we have nothing positive to say about the Restaurant and its entire staff, yes it’s all that bad!

FOOD/CUISINE
The food is totally unimaginative, dull, boring and tasteless with the same monotonous selection being served either overcooked or undercooked all the time! Reminiscent of a Butlins style catering service but its self serve buffet style and only catered for the simple British palate and it remained a very uneventful canteen buffet style service.
If the people in reviews say the food is great they obviously don’t understand about quality dining, quality food or professional cooking and perhaps base their food standards on tasteless processed/packaged food or dine at basic canteen style fast food outlets. Also, the fact that the hotel charges the patron for a bottle of water at the Angela is an absolute audacity and again is an extremely tight and stingy policy of the hotel owners/management staff! A small bottle of water will cost you 2 Euro for 14 nights, that’s 28 euro on a small bottle of water!!! They do not warn or advertise to hotel patrons that you cannot take your own water in! Don’t do that people as you could be subjected to the aggressive abuse from a staff member as we personally experienced!.

This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel! People spend a lot of money to stay at hotels like this, we should not be expected to be grossly inconvenienced or verbally abused by hotel staff members. We feel, Hotels should have a 100 percent commitment to all their patrons and also a 100 percent dedication policy should be towards the service and care of each patron and if a staff member contravenes that and acts inappropriately by seriously abusively threatening their “guests” in a complete inappropriate manner and making a public spectacle of them, then that staff member should be immediately removed from the hotel and their employment terminated rather than be allowed to continue to be a risk to other prospective good paying customers or future hotel patrons as with our experience at the hotel Angela and it’s abusive Maitre D! So, we wrote this review to share and forewarn others of our extremely unpleasant experiences at this particular Hotel.

THE HOTEL:
The hotel which is advertised as an “adults only” hotel by the likes of Thompsons mainly caters for the elderly and the 70+ age group and is quite noisy especially with drunken O.A.P’s returning noisily to their rooms at night. It is definitely in our opinion “ A God’s Waiting Room but the Restaurant Staff and their Maitre D make it feel more like Hell rather than Heaven! The Hotel rooms are all tired looking, worn and small, considering there was supposed to be an upgrade! There is an issue with sun beds and trying to get a sun bed in the morning, lucky if you manage to get one! At their private beach facility, they charge the patron an extra 5 euro for a sun bed per day! How much more can this hotel and its greedy policies as well as its greedy management staff/owners try and make from the gullible tourist?! Incidentally, their private beach facility is not very private at all in our opinion, that’s if you can tolerate and stand the constant noisy traffic drone and also the “looky looky guys” constantly bombarding you trying to sell you things whilst you’re trying to relax in peace! The entertainment was absolutely awful at the Hotel Angela! We found it to be of poor quality, very outdated and some of the “vocalists” were woeful to listen to with some of them badly pitching! Very amateur Karaoke style entertainment!
Indeed children were present – an adult only hotel you say? If the hotel isn’t booked out or you come to visit at the peak of holiday season say August or a little after, you can find Spanish families with small children staying there. Don’t think that “adult only” is guaranteed, children are in the “small print”, Thompsons may make it look on the surface that it’s adult only but if you read the small print you will find that the hotel has a right to entertain any type of guests it chooses including small children and babies!

THOMPSONS AND THEIR REPS -. We are simply not satisfied with Thompsons as a holiday service provider and feel that they have certainly let their standards slip. We found the Thompson reps we encountered to appear only helpful if you’re booking something like one of their excursions but otherwise we found they offered poor customer service and seemed quite cold, abrupt, aloof, even unprofessional in their manner, lacking good people skills and are blindly dismissing when it comes to genuine complaints or issues which genuinely need addressing. We found they appear to side with the hotel rather than the patron (the paying customer!). After this final experience we will never be using or recommending Thompsons or their services again!

TO CONCLUDE:
We would NOT recommend this hotel under any circumstance and feel it is best to stay away. We feel one can find better accommodation elsewhere out there as there are other true 4 star hotels offering the services to merit 4 stars!. We rate the Hotel Angela as a “sub 3 star”…just!

Room Tip: Don't Go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank topkitty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest, we are very sorry to read a whole review with only negative comments about our hotel and staff. As you say we did address the issue you mention about the bottle of water with the Maitre d and he received the written warning. You must know that in order to replace a staff member in a company in Spain you need at least 3 of these. We do believe it was an isolated case and apologise again. As for the private beach, we would like to clarify private beaches do not exist in spain, they are all public. What the hotel has is an area with sunbeds with preference for our guests to rent them. The price being 5€ for 2 sunbeds not one. As for the rest of your comments, we would have liked to address them with you whilst you were here as we did with the restaurant incident, in order to get more suggestions from your side on how to improve which is always our goal. We thank you for sharing your feelings about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just returned after christmas and new year holiday. The dinner on christmas and new year were excelent.Boxing day buffet, good also.The rest of the holiday, a compete disapointment.what a shame.We have been to the Angela quite a few times before.We will not be going back unless vast improvement takes place.The staff are great,what few threre were. No one seemed to be in charge of the entertainment.What little there was of it.The function room may as well have been closed for what good it was.Previous years, this has been very good! In the lounge bar.One girl singer had to entertain us from 8-15 until 11-30.With two short breaks.NOT ON.We believe this Hotel has changed hands? I think it is not for the better.

Room Tip: Don,t go!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest, first of all allow us to clarify that the hotel has not changed hands. The management and whole team are the same as the previous times you have been here. We are sorry you did not like the food this time around, we can assure you our chef is always creating menus to make sure there is a wide variety that appeals to everyones taste. Thank you for you comments on the gala dinners and the boxing day cocktail. About the entertainment, of course there is a person in charge and we have taken note on your comments in order to improve. Thank you for your review, we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,366 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
1.6 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angela Hotel

Property: Angela Hotel
Address: Calle Jaen 2 | Paseo Rey de Espana, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#4 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Angela Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Angela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol
Hotel Angela Fuengirola
Angela Fuengirola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing