We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel,location and staff.”
Review of Angela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angela Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Having not been to Fuengirola before, we decided to give it a try. We found the area to be very nice with lots of small shops, restaurants and supermarkets; it is especially good for those who do not like hills or steep inclines, as it is very flat. The very long beach is also very good, being cleaned each evening, with lots of restaurants along its length.

We visited the Hotel Angela on the 11th March staying for one week; the Angela is one of three hotels owned by the same company (apparently named after his three daughters). You can visit both the Hotel Yaramar and the Hotel Florida and use the facilities in each; all are within an easy walk of each other. The Angela location is second to none, being just across from the beach and close to shops.

The Hotel has had some areas recently refurbished, the lounge and pool area are both very nice with the pool looking out to sea. There are a fair number of very comfortable sun lounges, but no doubt like every hotel, they will inevitably get occupied fairly quickly in the height of summer. Apart from the pool area, there is a small garden in the front of the hotel which also has sun beds.

There are two distinct sides to the Hotel, the sunny side and the shaded side, to get on the sunny side, at least whilst we were there, you had to pay a supplement, which I disagree with! The sunny side is great if you want to spend time on the balcony, but those rooms must be like an oven in the summer, so the shaded side would be better and much cooler (and cheaper). Rooms to the both sides and front of the Hotel have good sea views.

The restaurant is very well set out, the food is both plentiful and acceptable, and there are also two microwaves, if like me you like your “porridge” hot. For the life of me, I cannot believe that a recent client disliked the restaurant Manager (Angel). From day one every single person got on very well with him, especially me, due to the fact that we had great chats over football (he hates Barcelona). He and his staff are always externally helpful and very smart, at all times and his management style does stand out, especially when he is trying to ensure that his staff stays on their toes. To be critical of him is totally unjustified.

The bedrooms are a little small but adequate, the bathroom which we had was very good with a new walk in shower. The cleaner and the general cleaning staff were again all very good, and our room was cleaned daily. The balcony, like the bedroom, was a little small but again adequate. Let’s be honest, you don’t go on holiday to spend your day in the bedroom, as the word “bedroom” states, it’s for sleeping in at the end of the day, literally!. There are carpets on the landings, so noise is reduced late in the evening, but like many hotels, the walls are not constructed like our own, so if you are concerned take some ear plugs with you, as you can’t legislate for the odd noisy guest!

The entertainment was basic, but yet again acceptable, but it could have been better. Dancers will love it, as there is a lot of music which is played which they can dance to. Unfortunately the singer George, albeit he has obvious talent, does not present himself in the right manner, as a lot of people at that time agreed. But as I have said, he does have the talent to go further, maybe he should video himself and watch it back, I am sure he will agree with my comments. (Please take note management)

What is the saying, “the proof of the pudding” would we go back, without doubt we would and we are hoping to later this year, in October. Well done everyone at the Angela.

Room Tip: Like many hotels in Spain, get a high floor, three working lifts so don't worry. If you want to...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks a lot for writing such a well detailed review and for choosing to spend your holidays at Hotel Angela. We are delighted to hear you are planning to visit again in October. We are looking forward to having you among us again! See you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
There are newer reviews for Angela Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We arrived quite late but still in time for dinner.The buffet had been well picked over but we managed to find something to eat. The carvery meat looked dry and the gravy was congealed in the serving dish. It was better the next evening although I did notice some of the food looked as if it could have been recycled from lunch, in particular the mushroom soup and cheese ravioli. Both were very good but I was a bit concerned as to how long they would be out for as the evening meal is from 17.30 until 21.30. Desserts were uninspiring, the usual selection of Spanish cakes, fruit and icecream although one evening the chocolate brownies very nice. It would have been good to have had at least one hot pudding. Lunch started a bit late for us at 13.30. Breakfast times were good, from 7.30 until 10.30 with a good selection of hot and cold food. The porridge was nice.

Our room on the 7th floor had a pool view and a sunny balcony but was very small. We requested a double but had 2 single beds which were not comfortable. Both were really hard with no spring in the mattress at all. It was like sleeping on a slab of concrete. The pillows were also rock hard. We did find some small square ones in the wardrobe which were softer but lumpy. The other bed, as well as being hard had sunk in the middle with a dip in it. The room looked as if it had been freshly decorated, it is a shame the mattresses were not replaced at the same time. The shower was big with plenty of hot water but the screen was inadequae and water drenched the floor every time we used it. We had a good supply of toiletries but poor quality. Tea and coffee were replenished daily.
The free safe was useful.

The public rooms were comfortable and we always managed to get a seat for the evening entertainment. Some of the singers were better than others. We had been recommended to stay at this hotel for the ballroom dancing so were disappointed the dance area was on tiles not a proper wooden floor. It was very slippery and dangerous.
Another area of concern was the door to the fire escape close to our room. I tried to open it but it remained locked throughout our stay. We were on tne 7th floor so it was a good job the hotel didn't catch fire.



The pool area was good with plenty of loungers for everyone. The infinity pool looked lovely and a few people were swimming in it but the water was too cold for me.

A lot of the guests had booked a package through Thomsons but we felt we got a better deal booking direct wih the hotel. We had full board with a bottle of wine and water every day at lunch and another at dinner on a special tarrif for over 55s.

The free wifi worked well all over the hotel. On our final evening we had no hot water in our room to get a shower. We reported it to reception and the engineer came to our room but the water remained cold.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank york1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear guest, we thank you for taking the time to write a review. We need guests comments and suggestions in order to be able to improve. About the beds, we are sorry you felt they were unconfortable due to the hardness. We do have bed toppers for guests that like softer beds available, you only have to ask at reception and the housekeeping department arranges everything. Concerning the fire safety doors, you can open any of them at anytime, they are a little heavy and you have to push hard on the bar to open them as they are special doors to keep the fire away. Also they have a special system that opens (and keeps them open) automatically in the event of fire. We take note of your comments on the other matters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Been there nine times now, never been disappointed yet ,Hotel better now having been done up and extended, the food is excellent self service hot and cold buffet good waiter service both bar dinning room and café, Bedrooms are very good and clean as is the hotel.
The entertainment was a bit disappointing to much singing ,and not enough dancing
(my opinion only) very good holiday at the hotel again

Room Tip: pay for the sunny side plus high floor good view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mauricej80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thanks a lot for being such a loyal guest and for writing a review about Hotel Angela here on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to hear once again we reached your expectations! We do take note of your comments about the entertainment though. We hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Having decided on a holiday in Fuengirola this hotel was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. It is situated on the road that fronts the beach. This does mean that at busy times the noise of the traffic and fellow holidaymakers can be a little loud. (There was a loose drain grill in the road outside the hotel that was annoying when traffic drove over it, but the hotel should not be faulted for that.) The fact that the majority of the guests there during our stay were regular return visitors speaks highly of the reputation that this hotel has and deserves.

The hotel is about 14 years old but has been updated. It is part of a group that includes the Florida Spa and Yaramar. The hotel was built “end on” to the beach so has 18 rooms with unobstructed views out to sea. All other rooms seem to have limited sea views. The rooms were adequately furnished and had air con and walk in shower. Wifi was available in the room, but beware the codes are changed weekly. All rooms were cleaned daily and you are given the option of when you want your towels changed daily (environmental). A safe is provided at no charge, but there is a charge for the fridge. Tea & coffee facilities are provided.

The entertainment floor has the heated swimming pool, sunbathing area, small games room (darts, pool table (at a price), table tennis), and a small room for table games. There is also a café that provides freshly prepared snacks and drinks – beware – the “happy hour” offer is two drinks for the price of one.

The reception is modern and the lounge bar area is where the evening entertainment is held. This area has views out to sea. There is also another entertainment room downstairs but this only usually opens when there is sufficient demand. The entertainment is average to good with most artists appearing regularly. Sometimes there are two separate acts per evening. Over two weeks we only had one very poor artist and that was on the last night of our stay.

The restaurant is self service. All tastes are catered for and every evening we had a roast option. Usually during a week there is a Gala Evening when live music is provided in the restaurant and the ladies are given a flower and everyone a drink of champagne. Usually a Chef greeted you at the evening meal.

All the staff were very friendly and efficient (especially Paco, Fali and Anna in the restaurant).

Our visit was in February and we expected our fellow guests to be of our age group (over 65) as this is when our age group like to get away from the UK winter. This was the case and as the hotel was described as being suited for couples we were not surprised that no children were present or that the entertainment was biased towards old time dancing.

Fuengirola is fairly flat and there are many benches on the sea front. Places to eat are everywhere and two doors from the hotel is and ex UK publican with such a business. A word of warning – BEWARE THE FLOWER SELLERS. The local railway is very efficient and runs from Fuengirola to Malaga via the airport. There is a very large market on a Tuesday but the Saturday flea market is not really worth a visit. The local zoo – Biopark – is a very pleasant way to spend a few hours 12-50 Euro. Whilst in the venue a day visit to Gibraltar – £16-00 – is a must. Once there you can spend you UK currency but unless you plan to spend the Gibraltar pounds request UK currency as change. Banks (well at least HSBC) do not charge for using you cards here. The cable car is a must visit if only for the pictures and views you can get on the way to and from the top. £10-50 return on our visit.

Would we return to the Angela? Can’t wait.

Room Tip: If not a full sea view, a room overlooking the swimming poll.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thanks a lot for staying at Hotel Angela and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users. We are very pleased to hear you had a fantastic time with us and you can't wait to return. We can't wait to see you again either, so we hope you pay us another visit very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have stayed at the Angela several times before.This time we spent two weeks there just before Xmas booked with Thomsons.
We wanted afternoon sun and quiet nights, so we paid the supplement for a superior room and I emailed the hotel directly to ask for a room on a high floor on the pool side.We were given a corner room on the top floor which was both spacious and nicely furnished and decorated with a good sized wardrobe.The bathroom had a good sized shower instead of a bath.
We were very pleased with the room.Unlike experiences at some other hotels we never had a disturbed night, in fact the only noise we heard was the sound of the sea which was very restful.
The restaurant food was similar to that served in other holiday hotels in southern Spain,but the choice offered was better than most and we always found something to enjoy.
Of course neither the accommodation nor the food would make us return if the staff did not make us feel welcome. On this occasion,as before, we found all the hotel staff to be pleasant,cheerful and friendly. So the next time we want to visit Fuengirola we shall stay at the Angela.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
13  Thank Fanshaw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thanks a lot for staying at Hotel Angela, for writing a review and for rating us so highly. We really appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear you loved your stay with us and had a nice and relaxing time at our hotel. We hope your next visit comes soon as it would be a real pleasure to see you back at the Angela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed for 3nights at Christmas. The rooms were fairly simply furnishied but clean and comfortable with tv, tea and coffee facilities, own terrace with chairs and table. There is a fridge but has to be paid for daily. All food was self service from a buffet (hot and cold) with very good choices. The Xmas gala dinner was just excellent and would have been well received in a top class restaurant. We couldn't fault anything. However, above all, was the quality and customer service shown by all the staff. They are a credit to themselves and the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool get the sun all day
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thanks a lot for choosing Hotel Angela to spend your Christmas break at and for rating us so highly. It is delightful to read such nice comments as providing a good service and making our guests happy are some of our mail goals. We really appreciate your kind words and would love to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Have travelled to this hotel several times now and find it clean comfortable and the staff are always pleasant. Im a fussy eater but always find something to eat, If you dont like cooked meals, theres always a nice buffet style salad bar.. This is a nice friendly hotel, and they have always accomodated to your requests.

If you required All Inclusive were you get your drinks/water free, you need to be booking a different hotel.

Its worth paying the extra per day for a poolside view

Room Tip: Book a pool side room, for a sunny balcony in the evening
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tinkerbell1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thanks for writing a review, rating us so high and being so loyal to Hotel Angela. We hope you enjoyed your last stay as much as the previous ones. It would be great to see you back at the Angela, so we hope your next visit comes soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,432 reviews
0.3 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,466 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
0.7 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angela Hotel

Address: Calle Jaen 2 | Paseo Rey de Espana, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#4 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: £69 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angela Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Angela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol
Hotel Angela Fuengirola
Angela Fuengirola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing