We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOTEL, WILL SUIT BRITS”
Review of Angela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angela Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 July 2014

stayed at the ANGELA july 3 for one week, hotel location is very good on the front, all public rooms have been refurbished and are very nice,
pool area also all new, infinity pool lovely, if on the small side, we had no problems , as very few swimming at any time.
also had no problems with sunbeds, you had the early sad grabbers, but we came down about 10.30-11.00 and always had loungers,
We went full board, after reading reviews on the food, and found the meals very much geared to the british taste, for £80 for two it was well worth it ,to have an afternoon, 3 course meal about 2pm, if you don't plan in travelling around, overall could not fault the food.
we were in room 206, and got no sun most of the day, this did not bother us, as it was very hot and the shade was nice,
the room itself was a let down and no way 4star, a new walk in shower was installed, this was excellent, but the rest of the décor was outdated, although the beds were comfy ,and always got a good nights sleep ,but the rooms are probably next in line for refurbishment, on the balcony you'd think you were in a 1star hotel, the paint was all peeling and cracks in the concrete , this needs priority work by the management.
BY FAR THE BIGGEST LETDOWN WAS, having to pay 10 e for a fridge , my wife is diabetic and needs to keep her insulin medication cool, for a 4star hotel this is totally wrong, and management needs to stop this charge ASAP, it's not about the money but what you expect of a four star hotel, at least for people with medical problems.
ok, moan over, overall a good all round hotel, where you'll have a good holiday, and value for money

Room Tip: pool side if you want sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grannybamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday at Hotel Angela and for letting us know your opinion. We are glad to hear overall you had an enjoyable holiday. We take good note of all your comments in order to keep on improving our service. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

me and my wife enjoyed our stay at hotel Angela the staff was very nice the rooms was cleaned daily and the lining was as well also the hotel is in a great location right on the beach front just a stone throw away i must say the food was very good and plenty and quite alot of choice my stay was very good and we hope to go in October again.

Room Tip: pool view over looking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review and for staying at Hotel Angela. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, liked our food and premises and are already planning your next visit here. We are looking forward to having you among us again in October!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I cannot understand the negative comments . Ok there were things I could improve on but we got value for money, always enjoyed the food, happy hour was 4 hours if you changed bars. Some of the entrtainment was vey good, went for a walk if it wasn't.We had asked for a high room with sun, didn't get it but in all honesty it did not matter, room was quiet and cool, fine. went to beach in day, lovely mattresses, came back about 4 and could always get a bed and a swim.The market on Tuesday is fabulous and very cheap, don't bother with the Sunday one, a long way, and smaller and same things.Go with an open mind and you will enjoy it,

Room Tip: not sure if it is worth paying extra for a sunny room, how long are you in it, shady kept it cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank jill296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for spending your holiday at Hotel Angela and for sharing your opinion about our establishment with other Trip Advisor users. We are very pleased to hear you made the most of your holiday and enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you pay us another visit soon as it is always a great satisfaction to us to see familiar faces coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

On arrival we were told our room was on the fourth floor,bedroom slightly on the small side but spotless.balcony over looked the pool but also lovely view of the beach and sea.the food was really good something for every ones taste including fresh roast at night.There is happy hour 12-2, 7-9 then in another bar carry on till 12 midnight not bad for a hotel.were ever you walk out side there are plenty of bars and restaurants if you wish. There is entertainment in the bar and summer also by the pool which is very good.all in all very good holiday

Room Tip: Fourth floor easy lift access, over looking beach and pool away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank daisyderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for spending your holiday at Hotel Angela and for writing a review here on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at the Angela and overall had a very good holiday. We hope you visit Costa del Sol soon as it would be lovely to see you back here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just returned yesterday (17th July) and felt I must write about the Angela. We were recommended this hotel by friends who had stayed there 4 times before, so were looking forward to the friendly staff and fabulous food we had been told about.
What a disappointment, firstly at check in we were given a room on the 4th floor, but asked if we could have a higher one, as we had e-mailed the request 2 weeks previously. We were told they had not received the e-mail and that they had no other rooms available, even though the hotel was not full, we tried again the next day this time asking if we could have a pool view. The receptionist said no way it was going to happen, and the only way we could was if we paid a supplement. This was ridiculous as the rooms are quite small and basic.
We spoke to 2 ladies who had a pool view and said they had not paid for this. We mentioned this to the Rep Natasha, who said they had paid after checking their booking, and even told us their surnames, where's the Data Protection here. She then went on to say that most people did not realise they were paying for a pool view at the time of booking.
Naughty Naughty Thomson.
Friends arrived 4 days later as a surprise, got a room a on the 5th floor, she went to the desk and asked if we could be next to them, hey presto there was one available.
The food was repetitive day in day out, and not always hot. Unfortunately we had upgraded to full board, BIG MISTAKE. A few of us went to the Thomson Rep Natasha to complain, who then asked what is was we wanted. We just said more variety and better quality food. Natasha said she would speak to the restuarant manager Angel, nothing changed. Thanks Natasha.
What made it worse was the staff had their lunch at the same time as us and had a better selection which was piping hot, so we started having theirs.
The next day three Thomson reps decided to have their lunch at the hotel, obviously didnt beleive us. As Natasha walked passed we acknowledged her, but she just turned her head away and ignored us. Her attitude was disgraceful and certainly not professional.
The entertainment was just like the food repetitive, and only catered for the elderly. It was like being in God's waiting room. (sorry oldies).
This hotel does not warrant a 4 star rating. After advertising couples only, there were children staying, and we certainly will not be returning, after already throwing good money down the drain as we did on this holiday.
Here endth the lesson.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view if you want to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SuzyQ187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your opinion about Hotel Angela with us. We really appreciate your feedback as guests' opinions are essential in order to keep on improving the service we provide.
We are very sorry to hear your first visit to the Angela didn't reach your expectations at all. We take good note of all your comments though we would like clarify that if our reception staff did not give you a room in a higher level as you so wished was because there were none available with the characteristics you had booked. They are a team of great professionals and we can ensure you they always do all they can to please guests. Regarding food temperature we would like to inform you that the food for staff and the one for our guests is cooked at the same time and placed in the same heating units, therefore the temperature of both is exactly the same meaning that theirs is definitely not hotter or of a higher quality than yours. We also would like you to know that Hotel Angela is recommended for Adults because as you know we do not have special facilities for children or a kids' club, though by law no hospitality establishment can deny access to an infant. Thank you for the visit and for the trust you had in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner visited the angela for a week within July, we are both 20 and saw the reviews on here and thought we'd give it a go! One thing we weren't told by Thomson was the fact that the hotel is definitely for the older generation. Don't get me wrong, that's lovely and everyone was friendly but we just felt a little out of place. The room and hotel itself was lovely apart from the appalling breakfast. On the day of our departure, I ate a RAW sausage which caused me to be ill at the airport which I was not happy with. Along with this other parts of the breakfast was cold and the overall buffet was not appetising or tasty. Overall, not a bad hotel but not the best.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toni-Marie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for staying at Hotel Angela and for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you felt a bit out of place here due to the age difference with other guests and will pass your comments about food to the correspondent department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our fourth visit to the Angela and we were very disappointed this year so we wont be returning.
The food had gone downhill and we found the food to be not even lukewarm. We made the mistake of going full board and understood why other people were complaining as it was more or less the same menu both at lunchtime and evening meal. The lunchtime selection was very minimal. The evening deserts has almost halved compared to the last few years with not much variety at all. We have also used this hotel the last three years as it was 'Adults only' this year there were children allowed. It states on the hotel sign recommended for Adults only in smallprint. The staff always ate their lunch at 1.45 and we happened to go in for our unch then as well and their food was always hot and more variety than us holiday makers had.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view as sun on balcony all day until the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank stoclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for staying at Hotel Angela again and for sharing your opinion with us. We appreciate your comments as feedback from guests is always helpful as it helps us to keep on improving.
We are very sorry to hear though that you are not planning to return as this fourth visit didn't reach your expectations. We take note of your comments though we would like clarify the point about children. Hotel Angela is recommended for Adults because as you know we do not have special facilities for children or a kid's club, and this is how it always has always been and how it will remain. You might find the odd child during your stay as by law no establishment can deny access to an infant, but we certainly specify that we are a hotel recommended for aduls only.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,447 reviews
0.3 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,501 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
1.6 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angela Hotel

Address: Calle Jaen 2 | Paseo Rey de Espana, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#4 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: £68 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angela Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Angela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol
Hotel Angela Fuengirola
Angela Fuengirola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing