We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Loved this hotel great for the price and location 2 mins walk to beach and shops bars and restaurants 5 minutes walk to rail best to cut through next door hotel and be cheeky its quicker !! Down side is the usual the food needs improvement the restaurants on the front are nice if you need a change overall had a great time :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    180
    90
    24
    20
See reviews for
110
248
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Excellent hotel, very good food buffet breakfast and dinner, very good selection staff very helpful some noise from road but not a problem best rooms are on the inside faceing the pool in the sun all day other side is shade, the do have lots of energy saving gadgets lights that come on when you enter a corridor etc great until your key card does not work and you are plunged into the darkness they say DO NOT KEEP YOUR KEY CARD NEAR YOUR PHONE they say it stops it working !! ?? never heard that before
Very Quiet hotel not a lot of entertainment same in all the bars nearbye plenty of places to eat but thats all food and drink is now about same price as U.K

Room Tip: all rooms near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonypandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Hello Chums, this review extends our experience of the Costa del Sol.

Just reopened this season with 6 floor operational and 4 to be refurbished, this hotel had the air of a new boutique venture. Everything was squeaky clean and the staff faultlessly efficient and welcoming. The pool area, bar and rooms were perfectly good , but the food was a little lacking in creativity and really this is be rated a 3* + hotel not 4*. On some evenings the main course from griddle ran out and hamburgers were substituted.

Breakfast and dinner were short 7-10 and dinner 7-9, too early for continental lifestyle
The poor girls in the restaurant were run off their feet and there was a lot of rushing about.

I hope it all settles down next season, the hotel closes end October.
As for the Main Road it is really v noisy so take ear plugs and get a room at the back, either side will do. Sea 'squints' from both sides.

PS: Handy for the Torreblanca railway station (not train station please). May I reiterate to my readers that unless you are infirm or rich THERE IS NO NEED to take expensive transfers to any of the resorts down to Fuengirola. Check google maps, find your hotel and if too far from the station a cheaper and short taxi journey is the way to go.
Oct 13

Room Tip: As I said, back of the hotel is quietest go high up to see the stonking great Bull and the Torre on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavinSandeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just returned from this great little hotel.every thing about about it is great.very clean staff amazing.will certainly return.would recommend to any body.iwas abit dubious when I saw the pricebut just needed to get away.so glad I picked thishotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are very spacious. And very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anniepearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow - Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My Husband & I have just returned from a lovely 2 week holiday in the Mainare Playa. We were very impressed with this hotel and the staff who were very friendly, helpful and efficient, especially Vanessa in rectaurant & bar who smiled all the time and encouraged my husband to practice his Spanish, she was a joy to talk to, also the blond girl on reception who lives in Malaga (sorry didn't get her name) could not have been more helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for her and finally the barman always had a friendly word. All the staff were polite and courteous and hotel cleaned to a very high standard. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, free wi-fi in reception and bar area which we found useful, happy hour every day, location is perfect just a 2 minute stroll to beach and 5 mins from train station, no need for transfers as train comes from airport and runs until around midnight. The restaurant is very small and not a lot of choice but we did not go hungry and quality of the food was to a high standard.The pool is closed until after breakfast is served and this stops any nonsense of reserving beds and you can rent towels from reception for 1 euro per day with 10 euro deposit.
In short the Mainare Playa is almost perfect, spotlessly clean, friendly efficient staff, perfect location, bus stop right outside the hotel which takes to you Fuengirola town as will the train.
We had a wonderful holiday and can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: You would want to be high with pool view as over reception or a sea view can be noisy with deliverie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneGlasgow_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed one week half board in september. Rooms excellent -- clean, spacious and well designed. Hairdryer, fridge, flat panel tv with 4 UK channels, air conditioning all very good. However my room was located directly above the entertainment area so no chance of sleep till gone 11.30pm. still, youre on holiday i guess....

Food good not spécial though. Breakfast you can have outside on the patio area, cooked options as well as meat cheese breads and jams or yoghurt. Coffee and tea from à machine not brewed so bring your own if fussy.

Dinner was a bit of a let down. Maybe it was cos end of season but rissoles chips and salad is not what I would call 4*. Wine was 10 euro a bottle so best to take advantage of happy hour from 6-7 in the bar first.

The location of the hotel is central close to beach bars shops and restaurants so plenty to do.

Wireless is only available in the reception but is free and works well.

All in all a nice hotel but def not 4* just yet. With a few tweaks here and there could be one of the best in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChickenKebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend (late twenties) have just returned from a lovely week at the Mainare Playa.
Very impressed with the hotel room, very spacious, extremely clean. Large bed, plenty of wardrobe space, dressing table, small mini bar for your drinks, television. Bathroom was perfect, 2 sinks, hairdryer, shower was great. Rooms cleaned to high standard every single day, was like coming into a brand new room everyday. As we had a room at the corner of the hotel we had a large balcony with a sea view which was great for having a few drinks at night looking out to the sea before heading out.
Location is perfect, beach is literally a one minute stroll across the road. Plenty of restaurants to choose from along the beach front. And lots of nice bars. Drinks very cheap, can get glasses of wine for 1 Euro, excellent value. Hotel is situated in Torreblanca, which is about a 25 minute walk from the centre of Feungirola. So this hotel is perfect if you are looking for a quieter spot away from all the hustle and bustle of the centre.
Hotel pool area is quite small, but as we went at a quiet time of the year we had our pick of sunbeds and almost had the pool to ourselves each day! Only minor points are the pool isn't the biggest, but this wasn't a problem as hotel was quiet. Grass by pool is also rather mucky! But I am sure they are working on this.
We went half board so had breakfast and dinner included. Breakfast has a large selection of fruit, croissants, cereals, hot food including sausages, beans, bacon etc. Dinner also had a good selection of different meals, desserts etc. After a few days though we did get a bit fed up and ventured out to different restaurants for meals. On the Wednesday they had paella and sangria served by the pool which was delicious. Also happy hour is between 6 - 7 every night, 2 drinks for the price of one, cocktails being 4.50euros.
Didn't see any of the night time entertainment so can't comment on that.
All in all we had a lovely relaxing week at this hotel, staff very friendly, hotel lovely and clean. Location great. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 504, corner hotel room with larger balcony with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Victoria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
2.6 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ronda 4
Ronda 4
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.7 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apartamentos La Jabega
Apartamentos La Jabega
#10 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.4 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola

Property: Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola
Address: Avenida Gaviotas 23, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing