We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long but fair review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“long but fair review”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

we have just returned (wednesday) from our ten day stay at the mainare.we are both 75.i will start with the plus points.i didnt book a transfer as i saw reading reviews it was easy to use the train.good choice it is so easy to use the train and it took about 20 mins journey time and about 3 or 4 mins.to walk to the hotel and it cost 2 euros each,we then used the train many more times during our stay.now the hotel,the cleanliness and the staff are outstanding.the rooms are good, the pool area is good,you can tell its just been refurbished as many things seemed like a new hotel.realy close to the beach,bus stop just outside and is at the quiet end of fuengirola.Now for the downside.the food is not fourstar quality.one of the things i always enjoy in spain is the bread,the tiny bread rolls are not fresh they are what you would buy in the supermarket frozen part baked.(why not fresh bread delivered every day) bacon most days was more fat than lean,one day the tiny rashers were all fat so i assume most of it was left,the next morning it was shredded and mixed in with the scrambled egg.one of the things on the grill one night was described as pork loin,i would have said pork steaks,the next morning for breakfast it was on the cold meat selection.fresh fruit which is in abundance in spain at this time of the year was not very often seen apart from the small tray of grapefruit and orange (peeled and sliced) and a dish with a few apples, pears and about 3 bananas on which i never saw replenished.as in most hotels you pay for water with the evening meal,here it was one and a half litre bottle for 3 euros or half a litre bottle for 1euro fifty cents,halfway through our stay the small bottle was reduced in size to 330 mll but still the same price, i asked the hotel owner why he said the price had gone up to them and he wouldnt compromise on the quality of the water.i looked in several supermarkets at the price of the same water it was 70 cents for the one and a half ltre bottles and they still make a profit on it.the hotel charge more than FOUR TIMES as much.my final thing is the lack of a barman/woman.if you want a drink during the day you have to wait until the receptionist phones the restaurant for one of thier staff to come and serve you then in the evening the same person once they have finished the shift they do the bar.thats it, you pay your money you take your chance. ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY,WE DID

Room Tip: choose a pool view if you can as the roadside ones can be noisy."BEWARE" do not close the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    193
    98
    28
    25
See reviews for
122
266
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Just back from a week's holiday in Spain. We stayed at MAINAIRE PLAYA H/B and the hotel was just wonderful and excellent value for the money we paid..Very quick check in. Excellent food both breakfast and dinner. choice of fish or meat on all days. Fresh fruit. The hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard. all staff very helpful and friendly. Showers are powerful. Yes you do have to rent the fridge and safe (as you would in other Hotels) hotel is very close to the beach and there is a bus stop just outside hotel and train station very close too. Pool area very clean. traffic noise can be heard the owner Miguel informed me that they plan to install double glazing next year to reduce noise levels.Wheelchair friendly. Definitely best value I ever got for my money.. will be back..

Room Tip: Away from road frontage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great stay at mainare playa early may for 4 nights half board, this hotel is spotlessly clean. Not the best looking hotel from the outside, but typical of others built in this area at that time. Re-furbished recently and very nicely done. Just across the road from the beach and train station a few minutes up the road round the corner. Road noise disturbed our sleep, but it would have been quieter in a pool side room. The breakfast was good, great choice, dinner was ok too for the money we paid. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Didn't use the pool as beach was so close. The only thing we missed was a kettle in the room, but the hotel has a vending machine in the entrance for hot drinks if the bar is closed.

Room Tip: ask for a poolside room, away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank selBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

the hotel is well maintained and kept clean. the location is excellent as within very easy walking distance to the promenade and also the train station. one can also walk into fuengirola main town , takes about half an hour. however there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes you into the fuengirola from where regular buses go to other places like Malaga and mijas. the staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. the rooms are massive but with very basic facilities. there is an extra charge for the fridge and wifi in the room. we paid the extra 10.5 euros to have the wifi in the room for the week, however at times the reception in the room was poor and connection very erratic .I would suggest that before paying for wifi, the strength is checked. wifi in the reception area is free and was good. we were on half board basis. the food was good and freshly made.as we travelled in may, there was no rush and there were plenty of sun beds etc. we made good use of the happy hour where the cocktails were excellent with buy one, another free. Please note that all rooms have balconies but the doors lock from outside. there is no note on the doors to tell you this so one can get locked out on the balcony. the management need to address this issue as a matter of urgency as once on the balcony and if locked out, there is no system in place to alert anybody. apart from this our stay in the hotel was comfortable.

Room Tip: the hotel is near a main road so it is better to have a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madhu931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have recently returned from a week's stay at Mainare Playa. Good points are the hotel is close to the beach, the rooms are cleaned every day and cleaning staff are nice. The beds are comfortable and showers good. Bad points are you have to rent fridge, kettle, safe, wifi, cot etc or any necessities required for children or babies.
My friend who travelled with me has emphysema, asthma and a heart condition. We were given a room on the 8th floor. On the Monday night after having dinner we sat out on the balcony and shut the door over to stop insects getting in to the room. The door locked from the inside and we couldn't get back in. We had no phone to contact anyone nor my friends medication. I was wearing shorts while my friend had only her light pj's on. Our room was over the front door so we yelled and shouted, threw towels, clothes anything at hand that might get the attention of the night porter, My friend was panicking and I honestly thought she'd have a heart attack so after many hours I tried to remove the door and eventually prised the side of the door open to squeeze through and get to night porter, who called the fire brigade (fb), who came out and smashed the glass to get my friend in. She was cut from flying glass. We were given another room and plasters for cuts.
The next morning we were called to reception. We explained what happened, saying it was a health and safety matter and apologised, I suggested maybe a bell or intercom should be installed for folk who find themselves locked out. The receptionist smiled and told us we would have to pay a call out charge of €180 for the fb, we paid and then she said the manager was charging us €10 to have the room cleaned, we paid. Later the receptionist advised that there was a further charge and we had to pay another €10 for sheets (we thought some blood from my friends cuts got on the sheets) so we paid.
We only got back to the room when the receptionist rang to say there is an additional charge the minimum being €350 for worked carried out by the fb. I thought they were having a laugh.

I went for advise to information centre in the town to be told that call out of fb is expensive due to holiday makers making unnecessary calls. I then went to the Irish Consulate with the bills given to me by the hotel and they advised the first bill of €180 was NOT a call out charge for fb but in fact an estimate to have glass replaced (the receptionist had blatantly lied & we had paid her the money in cash) and the second was a bill from the town hall for services by fb in the amount of €192 and not €350.
I went back to receptionist and told her that I was very disappointed with her (keeping a nice even tone) because she had told me original bill was for call out of fb when in fact it was for glass, she denied that she ever said it. With a lot of chat going on in Spanish between the manager and receptionist and we eventually wound up paying a total of €221 to the hotel. I was later told that the hotel would have been insured for all what happened.

My advise to you if your staying at this hotel is not to believe what you are told at reception and if you have any queries seek advise from Consulate or information centre and for God sake, don't close the door behind you if sitting on the balcony. I am giving a poor rating for this hotel based on their money grabbing ventures, the untruths told, the fact that I broke into the room within 10 minutes without anyone noticing and the neglect of health and safety issues within the complex.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Kelsb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just back from a short break at Mainare Playa,lovely hotel to stay in.A short walk from the beach which is a across the road.At the back of the hotel a short walk away is the train station which works out cheaper than the bus.Pool area and sun terrace are very well kept and clean.There is even happy hour at 5pm.There are plenty of places to eat if you are self catering.If you are there on a Tuesday visit the market in Fuengirola it is massive.There are police all a round the market and we had been warned not to take our hand bags but it felt safe.The only down side for the hotel is the is no money exchange.We are returning in September.

Room Tip: Take some Euro`s with you as there is no exchange at the hotel,but there are lots of ATM`s about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molly186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week beautiful hotel staff would stand on their heads for you. Rooms great plenty space breakfast good dinner very basic maybe they should consider a roast or more boiled veg for the Irish and English guests ideal location if you like the beach only a minutes walk across road 20 minute stroll into centre or bus for€1.10 right outside door of hotel. Lovely trip to mijas by public bus €1.55 would stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathryn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.7 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park
1.7 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
620 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
2.6 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola

Property: Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola
Address: Avenida Gaviotas 23, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing