We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Apartamentos Pyr Fuengirola
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Quite nice location close to beaches and marina but could see that a lot of shops in marina are closed down. During weekend nights this is a spot with loads of discos and crowdy on the streets until early morning hours. Nice pool area but missing WiFi Connection there and btw in the rooms would have been nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomRos2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

you get what you pay for ,Over all not a bad effort ,would use this one again for a night or two but would like free parking ,Has i paid more to park the car than i did for a three course meal up the road

Room Tip: ask to over look the pool with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Perhaps the reason we felt dissatisfied this time is due to the fact that the overall cost of eating/drinking/entertainment out and about in Fuengirola seems to have risen sharply since even last August.
Don't get me wrong, and as I mentioned in last years review, this is not an expensive hotel by Fuengirola standards, you get what you pay for, but whereas we seemed to put up with the beds last year, this time we all ( myself,wife and 14 year old daughter ) endured 7 very uncomfortable nights of '' musical beds'' each of us thinking we had the worst bed, only to swap beds the next night and find it just as uncomfortable. The third bed in our ''sleeps 2/3 studio'' this year was a single pull out be from beneath the settee, suitable only for a child maximum age 6, last year at least was a double fold down one. I am 6'2'' and 17 stone, so it was quite comical seeing me trying to sleep on this pull out affair!
Again the kitchenette was adequate for a weeks stay, our room was cleaned and towels changed daily , however I think one bedding change during our 7 night stay would not have been unreasonable.
I have to say that whereas last year we did not have anything other than pleasant dealings with the hotel staff, this year we encountered 1 or 2 who clearly were going all out for the '' Jobsworth'' award. Still these were minor events that did not affect our stay, moreover just gave us an amusing topic for conversation over that evening's dinner.
I think as British guests we are not used to being spoken to so abruptly by hotel staff, so when we are it takes us by surprise. On one of the aforementioned occasions we went down for breakfast on the fifth morning of our stay ( we stayed B&B ) , and when we gave our room number (625) to the lady on the breakfast buffet to tick off her sheet, she gesticulated wildly, declaring that was impossible , we could not have had this room number and we should pay for breakfast. I tried to explain that we had been on '' the list'' the previous 4 mornings without a problem, but she just waved me away. We went into breakfast anyway, but when we finished I tried to speak to the lady again, in an attempt to clear up any misunderstanding , she promptly got on the phone and after a few minutes of shouting in Spanish ( the Spanish do seem to shout a lot !) she declared that all was well, and that there was '' no problem '' Was that an apology I thought to myself ?, no, but as near to one as I was likely to get.
The air con worked fine for us, I notice a few other guests have mentioned that it was poor, but ours was ok, the pool area again is very clean and well maintained, but all in all the biggest asset this hotel has to offer is the fantastic location, right on the sea front within easy reach of many shops/bars/restaurants.
To sum up, it is easy to get carried away and eat out every day, but if you are on a budget you may find it gets quite expensive, we really noticed a big difference this year from last, probably a 15-20% increase, so my advice would be to use the large supermarket ( Mercadona ) about 10 minutes walk from PYR , and stock up on some basics, just eat out every other night, the supermarket stocks lots of choice of pre-cooked and pre-prepared food, the drinks, both alcoholic and non alcoholic are cheap.
Finally, and I know this is not to do with the PYR, we noticed this year there was a significant increase in begging, people would literally stand next to your table until you gave them something, I think that thing are quite tough in Spain at the moment !

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the pool, as the rooms facing the pool are also above several b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just back from 2 weeks at this hotel,we booked a one bedroom apartment with a company called Dickers online and to say we where disappointed would be an understatement,first of all they had actually sold the apartment before we got there but the new owners agreed to bookings made and seeing that they didn't own it anymore they didn't care about the state of he apt,we spent the first two days cleaning and washing the linen and towels and washing the floors,the air con was practically non existing the bolt on the main door was flimsy,we had to keep hiding our belongings,there were many cigarette stubs in the flower beds in the balcony,I say flowers they were actually weed beds,then on our second weeks there were ants crawling around the apt also,the balcony seats cushions were filthy,overall the whole hotel needs upgrading but as most rooms are owned privately then they won't spend money to upgrade,I would not recommend this hotel as for the the money there is many more hotels that are more nicer

Room Tip: Doesn't matter what room you get,it will always be noise from the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrismackin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here for my friends 30th. Basic accomendation, cleanish. pool was grand
wouldnt go back there. For a holiday resort basic english was very poor. it was clean enough but we had to request for clean towels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TazzyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 9 nights and that was plenty.
It is a very basic hotel with a small kitchen but comfy beds and in an excellent location.
We were on the 5th floor and had an excellent view of the harbour.
There was only one problem about the location was that we could here noise at night but we were still able to sleep. My favourite attraction in Fuengirola was the market...It was just excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in 534 and had a great view but herd lots of noise at night so if I was going again I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate w W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Hotel in a very central location. Across from the Marina. Staff at reception had very little English and very little interest in trying to explain anything. They treated us as if we were an annoyance to them if we asked anything. They didn't speak English to us just pointed & grunted. Very rude. We stayed in one of their apartments as a self catering guest. The balcony was off of the bedroom and not the kitchenette - most inconvenient. Sun only hit the balcony at around 7 or 8 in the morning - very dark. There was no draining board in the kitchen. Rooms were very dark. When we arrived the room wasn't adequately clean, there was a broken light in the corner and dirt around it (it took them two days to take the broken lamp away and another day to replace it). We had to ask the cleaner to clean where the lamp had been - this was not done when it was taken away.

It was a very noisy hotel. We were staying on the first floor and it was very difficult to sleep from 1 a.m. onwards as there was shouting on the corridors of the hotel - obviously people coming back from nights out & from around 6 a.m. when that noise calmed the noise from the street started. On no occasion during the week did we hear any staff reprimand people for shouting on the corridor. This would be fine if we weren't on a family holiday.

We didn't report any of our grievances to the Hotel because we didn't see the point when they weren't able to speak English & had very little interest in trying to converse.

Basically it was in an ideal location. Impolite staff and horrible rooms. Pool area was adequately clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarthaLCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.9 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,059 reviews
1.1 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Palmeras
Hotel Las Palmeras
#29 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos La Jabega
Apartamentos La Jabega
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
0.2 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Pyr Fuengirola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Pyr Fuengirola

Address: Calle Lamo de Espinosa 10, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Price Range: £38 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apartamentos Pyr Fuengirola 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pyr Fuengirola is an attractive hotel located in the center of Fuengirola on the seafront and just in front of the harbor. In the city center. Around you will find numerous shops and places of entertainment. The building was constructed in 1975 and renovated in 2010 and offers a total of 220 bright and spacious rooms, including 33 apartments and 187 studios, ideal for both couples and families and equipped with tiled bathroom with toilet, telephone, satellite or cable TV, kitchenette, fridge, central heating and safety box. The staff itself is responsible for the final cleaning after each stay. Guest facilities include a stylish lobby with lifts and a reception desk open 24 hours a day that offers a currency exchange service. It also has a TV room and a games shop, a Cafe Bar with a cozy terrace with a fabulous breakfast buffet. Guests can also use WI-Fi available in all areas. The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool (heated from November to March) and one for children, a bar in the pool area, sun loungers and parasols and a solarium. Local activities include water skiing, jet skiing, motor boating, diving, sailing, mountain biking, golf and mini golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Pyr Fuengirola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Apartamentos Pyr-Fuengirola Hotel Fuengirola
Pyr Fuengirola
Hotel Apartamentos Pyr Fuengirola Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing