We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the PYR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Apartamentos Pyr Fuengirola
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just returned from our 3rd visit to this hotel and already booked for next year.We were last there in May for only 3 nights but they remembered us straight away which was a nice welcome.We used to stay in the Las Rampas but this is more central(across the road from the harbour).The rooms are clean & comfortable.If you want the afternoon sun ask for the pool side,but be warned about the noisy nightclubs.We have the carousel side ( room 826) wonderful views,love it. I agree with the previous comment about eating at the Carousel opposite.We are now great friends with John.The hotel staff are very friendly and the wi fi is great but you only get it in the lounge and reception area but it is free.If you eat at the Harbour we recommend Bella Vista,Kudamms and Reginas.Bus and train stations are near by and there is a lovely walk along the promenade in Fuengirola.There is a lovely boat trip to Benalmadena,buses to Mijas and plenty of sight seeing trips to places like Rhonda and Gibralter.We have friends in Fuengirola but still love going back and we have just been for the Feria which is worth seeing and with temperatures about 80 it was a great time of year to go.We normally go Jan or March and the weather can also be hot then.Happy travels.

Room Tip: High up,carousel side for the views and as far along to the sea end as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Welcome was average
Room was excellent for 4 guys on a golfing break
Plenty of room - 2 bedrooms
2 bath rooms
Living room
Balcony was perfect for chilling with a beer
Breakfast - just don't go there
Jump across the street to the carousel - John ( the owner ) is one of the good guys in the area
Can't fault the food or the service - just what's needed
Can't fault the hotel for anything else tho
No night clubs keeping you awake and very quiet considering its slap bang in the middle of town
Stayed at the las palmeros last year which is 200 yards away
I'd go for the pyr every time for the accommodation although the las palmeros did have a better breakfast
Worth looking at for stag / hen groups and obviously golf groups
Not so sure bout couple or family breaks tho

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graemekerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed for five days in August and although the rooms were clean and spacious, they left a lot to be desired if you were using this as a base with a family. Front desk staff were in the main ok but some of them need retraining in Customer Service. There was no Wi-Fi despite the advert all over the Hotel. Bar Staff and cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. Good position for the seaside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCFMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here from the 20/27 of September and found the Hotel very good for the price.Its centerly located quiet at night.The rooms and towles were cleaned every day.The staff were very friendly.Tv and AC worked perfect.Its right in the heart of Fuengirola.Lovely view of the harbour from floor 5.Will stay again soon . THANKS.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francrudden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Sorry but Fuengirola is a proper dump! Scruffy, closed down shops, bars etc and just full of really bad tat shops oh and the odd gang of prostitutes roaming about by the hotel (but to be fair they were probably targetting the elderly gentlemen at a convention that the hotel was hosting)!

Mijas is a short bus ride away and is beautiful - def worth a visit! Also try the Carousel Cafe over the road from the hotel, great food and great service!

Anyway, apartments however were not actually that bad. We had a two-bedroomed apartment on the 2nd floor facing the sea front with a large balcony. The apartment itself was clean enough but they had set this up for 4 people rather than 6 so we had to go and root out extra bedding and towels. Also on the subject of towels, they really need to replace towels on a daily basis and not twice a week! This is not an unreasonable expectation from guests and it needs addressing by the hotel management!! Our apartment lacked a kettle and toaster but we asked for them and they provided them without a problem. Staff were very friendly and polite and we certainly didnt find them rude like some have reported.

One thing that did drive us nuts was the yapping dogs! The apartments are a split between holiday lets and residential and some of the people who live there have small dogs that they just let yap away for most of the day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa2053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at PYR for 10 days in August. We are a family of 5 with children aged 9, 7 and 3 years. Our apartment consisted of 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and although it was spacious it was dated and in serious need of renovation. The sofas were dirty; there was a microwave and two hobs but no toaster or grill. We had to eat around a small plastic table on the balcony, as there was no table in the apartment itself. When we arrived the floors were filthy and even though we asked the staff to clean them they were not much better following this! We had to buy our own dustpan and brush and there was no mop and bucket to be found. We had our own en suite with a shower but there was no hot water, the water did not drain from the shower and the toilet made a constant dripping noise. The air conditioning system would have been installed when they built it in the 70s and consequently made a racket but in some ways this was a godsend as it drowned all the noise of the drunkards walking along the front throughout the night. The air conditioning in the main room leaked and even after they came to fix it, it still leaked but the worst thing for me was the cockroaches we found running around the kitchen surfaces and drawers each evening – Yuk! On the balcony itself there was a concrete flowerpot that came half way up the balcony perimeter, this was full of soil that our 3 year old used as a sandpit and was a potential death threat for an adventurous toddler who likes to climb! The front door could not be locked from inside and had no other way of locking, this was a concern for security and as our 3 year old was asleep in the main room it would have been very easy for him to wake up and let himself out.

The swimming pool itself was of a good size, but beware of the steps leading to the toilet as I slipped and had to have 5 stitches in my arm. Speaking of toilets, these were not cleaned until about 5pm each day so visiting them was not a particularly pleasant experience. You weren’t allowed to reserve your sunbeds, which made a refreshing change, but you had to get your own umbrella and most of them were broken in one way or another. The area around the pool was tiled but had been artexed over the top of, this made it less slippery but if you did slip it would slash your legs. On one occasion our children were playing in the baby pool and someone had allowed their child to do a poo in it, the lifeguard said this was a regular occurrence. We also heard of two girls who had their bags stolen whilst they were by the pool.

We have stayed in many hotels and we are not ones to complain about things but I felt compelled to feedback on our experience at PYR as it has to be one of the worst hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Quite nice location close to beaches and marina but could see that a lot of shops in marina are closed down. During weekend nights this is a spot with loads of discos and crowdy on the streets until early morning hours. Nice pool area but missing WiFi Connection there and btw in the rooms would have been nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomRos2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
1.1 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,057 reviews
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,086 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos La Jabega
Apartamentos La Jabega
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Palmeras
Hotel Las Palmeras
#28 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Pyr Fuengirola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Pyr Fuengirola

Address: Calle Lamo de Espinosa 10, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Price Range: £46 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apartamentos Pyr Fuengirola 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pyr Fuengirola is an attractive hotel located in the center of Fuengirola on the seafront and just in front of the harbor. In the city center. Around you will find numerous shops and places of entertainment. The building was constructed in 1975 and renovated in 2010 and offers a total of 220 bright and spacious rooms, including 33 apartments and 187 studios, ideal for both couples and families and equipped with tiled bathroom with toilet, telephone, satellite or cable TV, kitchenette, fridge, central heating and safety box. The staff itself is responsible for the final cleaning after each stay. Guest facilities include a stylish lobby with lifts and a reception desk open 24 hours a day that offers a currency exchange service. It also has a TV room and a games shop, a Cafe Bar with a cozy terrace with a fabulous breakfast buffet. Guests can also use WI-Fi available in all areas. The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool (heated from November to March) and one for children, a bar in the pool area, sun loungers and parasols and a solarium. Local activities include water skiing, jet skiing, motor boating, diving, sailing, mountain biking, golf and mini golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Pyr Fuengirola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Apartamentos Pyr-Fuengirola Hotel Fuengirola
Pyr Fuengirola
Hotel Apartamentos Pyr Fuengirola Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing