We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable stay”
Review of Yaramar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yaramar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our first time at the yaramar 8th july to 22nd july 2014 and it wont be our last.
Really enjoyed our stay the hotel ticked all the boxes for us we had no issues with anything.
The food was some of the best we have experienced in 35 years of travel.
The hotel is very clean both in the public areas and the rooms.All rooms have a sea view, plenty of storage space ,a free safe kettle and brewing facilities replenished daily, They also are equipped with a decent sized bathroom, with hair drier shower and bath and bidet.Free WIFI is available and works very well all over the hotel.A/c is standard in all rooms as well as a flat screen t/v with 5 english channels.
The staff are great and a credit to the hotel,the same applies to the the animation team.
The pool area is brilliant overlooking the promenade with a large rectangular pool, non of the free form rubbish here. Plenty of sunbeds available with mattresses for extra comfort umbrellas and a whirlpool to top things off.
The entertainment of a night time is very good we saw 3 first class comedians during our stay there.This hotel is in an excellent location directly across from a 7k flat promenade for those who like the occasional stroll.
There are a variety of bars and restaurants along the promenade and on the streets directly behind the hotel; all reasonably priced.
Another nice touch is a porter will collect your baggage from the coach on arrival and deliver it to your rooms ;same thing applies on departure.
The gym underwent a refurbishment whilst we were there should you wish to use this facility.
Thanks once again to the Yaramar for an excellent stay; look forward to a return visit,

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor for extra peace and quiet and fantastic vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mickyplumBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for deciding to spend your summer holiday at Hotel Yaramar and for letting us know your opinion. We are delighted to know you really enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to visiting us again. We would be very pleased to have you among us again so we hope your second visit comes very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just returned from the yaramar ,stayed here 3 years ago enjoyed my stay then and also this time.As some reviews say the hotel is ready for a face lift.but the staff and entertainment is very good,would still return again.

Room Tip: My room faced the sea some overlook the pool with a side view of the sea, i like a high floor this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravellerJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks again for coming back to Hotel Yaramar and for writing about your last visit on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed this last stay as much as the previous ones and hope you visit us again soon as it is always a real pleasure to us to see old friends coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We're in our mid sixties & returned on the 10th July. The Thomson coach dropped off first at the Yaramar less than half an hour from the airport (and picked us up last for the return). Resort on the flat, many guests used mobility scooters. Lovely clean sandy beach, pebbly along the shoreline.
Good points first. Swift check-in and cases taken to our room, 9th floor, lovely sea-view. Large bottle of chilled water brought to our room before we started unpacking. Kettle supplied plus beverage basics, cups and glasses, and free safe. Fixed shower over bath with rubber non-slip mat, always plenty of hot water. Toiletries supplied (and kept stocked up) including shower gel and caps, shampoo, soaps, combs, sewing kit, dental kit & shoe shine ?! Pool towels for 10 euros deposit each from reception. I think there was a fridge behind a locked door. Adequate wardrobe and drawers, room a good size but décor pretty tired. Bed linen and towels immaculately clean, twin beds reasonably firm and comfortable, maids kept the room very clean. Friendly and accommodating staff, no kids, Thomson team friendly and hard working. Always plenty of sunbeds although quite close together.

Now the bad. Some person had tried to break into our room while we were out for an hour, luckily didn't succeed. Tales from other guests also suggested that hotel security is a bit lacking. Also, watch your money and wallet outside, one guest had his pocket picked in a supermarket, and you will be warned about Malaga airport as well. Food was a bit hit & miss, hot breakfast quality variable depending how long it had been sitting on heated trays but plenty of fresh fruit and cereals etc. with occasional Cava. Omelettes to order. Dinners, same sort of story. Always plenty of choice of prepared & fresh salads, sometimes prawns, mussels, smoked salmon but main dishes sometimes a little difficult unless you happen to like roast ox.
If you are affected by mosquitoes, go well prepared as there were plenty about, both inside and outside of the hotel. Flat screen T.V. but no soaps, BBC world & Sky news only plus other foreign channels with some English content.
Suggest a half day trip to Mijas, up in the mountains, either on the free blanket trip, or on the number 122 bus from the terminus, fare 1.55 euros (they don't accept Freedom Passes by the way ! ) It's about half an hour stroll from the Yaramar or a 5 euro Taxi fare.
Don't forget to buy your smokes at the Tabac shops, 7 euros per carton cheaper than Malaga airport !
Can't comment on the entertainment as the main event didn't start until 10 p.m.

Would we return, to Spain yes but not to Fuengirola.

If you found our report helpful, it would be great to get your vote. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms can suffer from traffic & bin collection noise but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank 194748Sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for writing such a well detailed review and for choosing to stay at Hotel Yaramar. We are very grateful for your comments regarding the staff and the cleanliness of our establishment. We take note of all your other comments too and are sorry to hear you are not planning to come back to Fuengirola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a great holiday,as usual, at the Yaramar. Booked as a package with Thomson.

Standards have dropped since last year.
Tea and coffee facilities in the room is appaling. Nats tea and decaf coffe strips with powdered cream, undrinkable. Take you own, milk either nick from the buffet bar, or get longlife milk from nearby shops. First thing you notice, in the lifts, are that most of the lights are out/disconnected. Window is shattered on the 4th floor, been like it for 3 years.
The fridges in the rooms are charge for, but the safes are free. Both should be free of charge.

Evening meal starts at 18:00 and informal dress code is expected, but standards have slipped this year. jogging bottoms and tatty jeans observed.

Evening entertainment is provided in the Aquarium Lounge, in the basement. Top notch, if not a bit loud at times.

with 7Km of beach there's easy walking the meal off.

Will be going again, but will be packing our own coffee and tea bags.

Room Tip: Standard rooms face the pool and have sea views. higher rooms, floors 8 up, give view across town,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hubsy-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for being such a loyal guest and for letting us know your opinion about the Yaramar. We take note of all your comments and are sorry to hear you did not like the complimentary tea and coffee provided. We hope to you see back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a week stay at this lovely hotel, okay there are area's where it is a bit tired but that doesn't detract from the overall ambience of the place. Thomson Gold hotel and ideal for the older folk and those with mobility problems as it's right on the promenade and no steps to hinder getting around.
Food always of high standard and plenty of choice at both meal times and the restaurant was never over full and there were no queues.
Entertainment in main lounge was rather typical of hotels but with happy hour most guests seem to enjoy this, but the best entertainment was in the "disco" downstairs where the Thomson team worked there socks off, all four were excellent singers and the resident duo were also good, shame they were downstairs and not in the main lounge bar, as the "disco" was never full. Bingo was on offer three nights a week and there was always a quiz,
Pool area very clean and tidy with plenty of sunbeds available and the water of ambient temperature.
Across the road on the beach was the hotels own bar and beach beds and parasols, these were only 5 euros for two beds and parasol, plus a plastic cup of sangria at lunchtime, this beach bar also had happy hour around lunchtime and was very popular.
All rooms have sea view, we had 604 which faced the pool and had side sea view with the sun on the balcony every afternoon.
Plenty of bars and small shops on the narrow roads at back of hotel, a couple of tacky "English" bars lowered the tone somewhat but there were also plenty of lovely bars and eateries.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and it appears to have plenty of repeat guests. although classed as "adult" only hotel there were children from other nationalities staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cawkwell746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks a lot for coming on holiday to Hotel Yaramar and for writing such a well detailed review. We really appreciate the high rating we received from you and are very grateful for your nice coimments. We are delighted to know you really enjoyed the time you spent at the Yaramar and would love to have you among us again some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Have just returned from staying at this hotel for three nights. The rooms are nice,but could do with updating a wee bit. The free wifi was great and worked very well in the rooms. The breakfast was great,very English and probably one of the best we have had in a Spanish hotel. Cannot comment on any other meals but should imagine they were as good. The pool is on the terrace couple floors up and is a nice area with snack bar and entertainment going on through out the day from the animation team who all seemed really nice and pleasant working hard to get all guests involved. The massive downside was the state of the pool. It was dirty and murky which really suprised me as this really let the hotel down as this was not a pool to be proud of. This hotel is a Thomson Gold hotel and almost all the guests were elderly and entertainment etc is geared to this. Having said that I would stay here again for the odd night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jayalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for staying at Hotel Yaramar and for letting us know your opinion about our establishment. We are very pleased to hear you liked the hotel and you would consider staying with us again. We take good note of your comments regarding the pool and thank you for them as your feedback is essential to improve our service. We hope to see you back at the Yaramar some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Had a great holiday at the yaramar 2nd visit in 5years the entertainment team were great and very talented keith had a great sense of humour great fun all of the team nicollett laura and guy they all work very hard . the girls in the snack bar at the pool were great fun too all staff very hepful and friendly food fantastic lots of choice and the happy hours went down a treat. the only thing that i would like to see is bedrooms getting a little refurb to freshen them up.but thats not going to stop us from coming back fab chilled out holiday wish we were there now

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aileen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks a lot for your review and for staying at Hotel Yaramar once again. We are very happy to know you really like it here and you had a fabulous holiday with us. We hope your third visit comes very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.6 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,507 reviews
1.8 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,044 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaramar Hotel

Address: Paseo Maritimo Rey de Espana 64 | Los Boliches, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: £68 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yaramar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yaramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yaramar
Yaramar Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing