We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value accommodation - Only average as TA won't let you rate 'Good'”
Review of Ronda 4

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ronda 4
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good value accommodation - Only average as TA won't let you rate 'Good'”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Having stayed in Fuengirola a number of times before (see my Jabega reviews) we knew what to expect of the resort and surrounding area, but this time opted for different accommodation, simply based on the excellent price we got and the fact we decided at our last Jabega trip to try somewhere new.

It is fair to say that the Ronda is budget accommodation; however it fulfils its needs for the price you are paying. So, let’s start from the beginning. The reception area is clean and tidy and offers free WiFi and all of the staff we encountered were polite and friendly. You can pay a small charge for a safety deposit box which is in a room off reception rather than in your own room. These are tiny though - don't expect to get a laptop or anything in them! You pay a €20 deposit for the TV and aircon remote. There is also a free ATM at the front of the Ronda, which we used each day.

Now onto the rooms - They are clean and spacious. We had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 7th (top) floor - I did email the Ronda for a high floor before we left, and they replied saying they would do their best, which they did. Our room looked out over the pool, with views on the sea to the left and was a sun trap in the afternoon. The kitchen was fine as we only ever use the fridge and boil the kettle but you wouldn't be able to do much more in there. The Halogen hob which people say they can't use baffles me. Hold your finger down on the on off symbol - voila! There is no electric kettle but we had a hob kettle, but you can't make toast as there is no toaster or grill. Although the rooms have been 'refurbished' the TV in our room was dated and the sound distorted, so much we got our €20 deposit back for the remote because it wasn't needed as only BBC1 was really watchable anyway and you didn't need the remote unless you were SUPER lazy! We don't go on holiday to watch TV so that didn't really bother us.

The beds are singles, but with new mattresses are pretty comfy although the pillows don't live upto much. It was stated on the info sheet that the rooms are cleaned 3 times a week although we only had our room 'entered' once in our week...this maybe because it was early season, although it didn't bother us - they changed the towels which for a week was fine. I would add though that in high season I expect the noise of other guests may affect you if you are a light sleeper, as noise from other rooms / floors did seem to travel through the walls pretty well!

The pool area was pretty big, looked clean enough with a few sunbeds (although didn't seem many for the number of rooms, more may come out in full season) and got the sun - we never used the pool area simply because of the time of year.

The area is great, beach opposite, loads of bars and restaurants of all types in the vacinity and in my opinion Los Boliches is the best part of Fuengirola. Train station is 10 mins walk, and if you have time take a day to Malaga or Rhonda via the train. Great, cheap way to explore.

Overall, and as mentioned in my title, the accommodation is good for the price. It doesn't pretend to be anything less. If you want a clean, comfortable room, then the Ronda will be fine. The location is excellent, which is why we keep returning to the area.

Would I return? Yes, I wouldn't have a problem staying here again.

Room Tip: The apartments offer the better views, oppose to studios. The 2 bed apartments are the ones at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheHannans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    258
    121
    27
    22
See reviews for
254
233
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruselas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have stayed in Ronda 4 for over than 5 summers. It has the best value for cost in the Costa del Sol even more now that they have renovated the apartments. Right in front of the beach (tell Paco in the beach club right in front that you are staying in Ronda 4 and he'll make sure you have everything you need). Very friendly staff and great to go with kids and babies,apartments are spacious, all facilities and entertainment of the Costa del Sol a stone throw away but still quite and relaxing. Walking distance to the beach (right in front of it)to restaurants, groceries and shopping. A few minutes drive away from mayor attractions of Fuengirola and Benalmadena. Certainly recommended for a family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andres V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Ronda 4 provides great, basic, budget-friendly self-catering apartments, in a quiet area (Los Boliches) next to the sandy beach, a few mini-markets, a variety of restaurants and a few bars (but is a good 30 minute stroll from Fuengirola centre).

The apartments and pool area were clean and well-maintained and there was a handy on-site supermarket. The kitchenette was basic but fine for preparing breakfasts and lunches. There was no electric kettle, so we took our own travel kettle.
A (small) safe cost E13 plus a E7 deposit, the air-con and tv were free, but needed a E20 deposit for the remotes.

The pool bar wasn't open and the pool was too cold to swim in, but that's to be expected in April! The indoor games area was great for the kids and included table football, pool table, air hockey and internet.

The area was ideal for families and older people, but not for those looking for nightlife.
There was 1 large supermarket near the station and another one a little further on - these were much cheaper than the near-by mini markets.

My only real criticism was of the beds and sheets. The mattresses were quite soft and none of the sheets fitted the beds (either the single beds or the double sofa bed in the lounge).

Los Boliches train station was a flat 10-15 minute walk away. The trains ran every 20 minutes to Malaga and the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the the Ronda 4 pool, if you want evening sun on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a good one I thought that it was very good for the budged and the price the barman "man well" was really nice and was always keeping an eye on us to c if we still had drinks.

the pool:
I found that the pool was good and found it good there was a kids pool aswell but could be better with some water slides but overall the pool was ok

The room : when I was here the room was cleaned everyday with new towels aswell but I found this really good the only downside was that the tv was old and did not really work

The bar :the bar was really good the barman was always helping us and serving us drinks he was really nice and always had a a smile on his Facemit was really good

Disadvantages
There is none

Overall I found this hotel to be a 4 star due to cleaness of the hotel has been downgraded from a 5 star

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Excellent service and very friendly helpful staff. Rooms clean and spacious. ar parking available at a small cost which is needed. Short walk to main bars and attractions but quiet at night. Good size pool and well stocked shop on site.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rowdyruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

As always when I revue a hotel where I have stayed I tell it as I see it.
Before I comment on the Hotel I must point out that some of my issues are due to On the Beach holiday agents.

In regard to On the Beach holidays, their advert in regard to the Rhonda 4 is totally inaccurate.
Rhonda 4 DO NOT offer “Superior” accommodation, double beds or free parking.

Rhonda 4 is nothing more than a 2 star location with some added extras like crockery.
I booked a Superior room with sea view and double bed and got the most basic room I have ever stayed in, the furniture was uncomfortable, the beds were basic and singles, the TV was very old and the sound was distorted, there was no can opener or kettle, the 2 ring cooker did not work properly and the microwave could not warm water or heat the most basic of food.
Due to the wrong shower head and short shower screen the bathroom got very wet when you showered.
The walls are very thin and you could hear the TV from other rooms and even when people used the toilet (and in some cases what they went for), you could even hear general conversation through walls.
You have to pay a deposit (returnable) of 10 Euro each for TV/Air Con remotes.
The Swimming pool was dirty and the stairwells and corridors were not cleaned (there were 2 cigarette butts and other things in same place for the full week I was there), their information sheet in the rooms clearly states the room and towel changes would take place 3 times a week, our room was not cleaned or towels changed until out 5th day there and that was it, bed linen was not changed at all for our stay.
The only good thing about this Hotel was the location and some of the staff (Nanci) who were very polite and as helpful as possible.
If you do choose to stay at this hotel and intend to hire a car you need to be aware that you will need to pay the hotel to use their car parking or pay for on street parking and walk quite a distance as spaces are taken quite quickly.
Make sure you get written confirmation of amenities offered before you book the holiday or you will have to spend additional funds buying things like can opener etc

I could write more in regard to this hotel, but my pictures will show as well as prove my comments are true and correct and you need to check before you book.

Would I go to the Rhonda 4 again.. No sorry, I like to have a holiday when I go away, not chase around doing cleaning or trying to get the most basic of things like a can opener…

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel…
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for five days at the end of March. We had booked a superior (upgraded) room with sea view. On arrival we were informed we did not have a front sea view but did have a superior appt. This appt was 210- a spacious corner appt consisting of a bedroom, lounge / diner / kitchen and a bathroom. This appt was on the side overlooking the pool with the sea to the left. The room was spotless but as previous reviewers have said short of equipment for a true self catering holiday. We paid a deposit (refundable) for remote controls to work the TV ( English channels including childrens channel) and the air conditioning both of which were excellent. There was no extra cost for use of a/c or tv and on the chillier nights it was nice to have the heating available. We found the beds comfy but sheets and blankets are provided- not continental quilts. Like the halogen hob no instructions were provided for a/c and tv so was a bit of a struggle to get things working but we succeeded! We also paid for the hire of a safety deposit box which was located just off the foyer.It may be worth noting there is no kettle or hairdryer in the appt.Some of the advertised facilities were not open eg pool snack bar and inside bar but this was probably due to being early in the season. The appts appeared to have very few guests so noise was not a problem however as more guests arrived for the Easter break the noise levels increased, particularly on the corridors with the banging/locking of doors. We found the entire appt block and surrounding grounds very clean and tidy. It was advertised that sheets were only changed weekly and towels twice a week but to change the towels the day before our departure was a little late in the day. We found the staff at reception helpful and pleasant.
Overall a nice 3* appt and we would stay here again and feel it is good value for money. It is at the far end of Los Boliches but with numerous bars/restaurants within close walking distance. The appts are only about 5-10 mins walk to the main line station so it was very easy to travel up and down the coast.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool get the afternoon sun. The higher the room the better the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jms52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.4 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
991 reviews
2.3 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
987 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos La Jabega
Apartamentos La Jabega
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
2.8 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ronda 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ronda 4

Property: Ronda 4
Address: Paseo Maritimo Rey de Espana 96, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ronda 4 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ronda 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ronda 4 Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol
Ronda 4 Hotel Fuengirola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing