We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week at Stella Maris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stella Maris Apartamentos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Week at Stella Maris”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed 23-30 June 2014 in booked studio apartment 1204.
Check in was quick and fuss free. Reception staff were ALL excellent.
Cleaning staff at Floor 12 were excellent.


Size of typical studio dimensions.
Air con. was newish and very efficient, thus ensured comfort during our stay.
The surprise was the good reception of hotel's free wifi in our 12th floor studio
which we utilised alot.
Modern LED TV with a good selection of international channels.
Great watching the World Cup matches live.
We had a new fridge. The bathroom was well maintained and clean.
Good pressure with the hot & cold water, ensuring an invigorating shower.
All things worked well.
We felt rested each night because there was hardly any noise up at level 12.
Very impressed.
A large Mercadona supermarket at the back is very convenient. It is well
stocked with fresh produce as well.

Location is the hotel's great plus points.
First line location to the beach. Spoilt for
choice eating out in Fuengirola.
The Versalles Wok buffet restaurant at 9.95 euros
per person was one such place we returned to.
Its located along Maritimo Rey de Espana towards
Hotel Las Piramides. A Sunday market is on only afew
minutes walk away from Hotel Piramides
using it as a reference point.
We missed the Tuesday market at the Recinto Ferial
midway between Los Boliches and Fuengirola centro.

We made several trips to Miramar Shopping Mall
by foot heading along the beach road towards Hotel Piramedes
then veered towards the back. No. 4 bus from Avenue Ramón y Cajal
also takes you there. The fare is 1.15 euros each way.
The locals are generally very helpful with directions so don't
hesitate to ask. There is also a cinema complex on the top level
which shows films in English at selected times.We watched the 4 pm
showing of Transcendence at 8 euros per person.

The week we were there temperatures reached up to 35 degrees celcius.
Suitable sunscreen was a must for us.

We ventured once into Malaga's Maria Zambrano station. From there it is a short
10 minutes walk to the Larios Shopping Mall.
All in all a very relaxed holiday staying at the comfortable Stella Maris Apartment Hotel
in studio room 1204.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanGian05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    199
    41
    12
    2
See reviews for
112
221
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is our 4th visit to Fuengirola, we normally stay in a Hotel. After reading previous reports we thought we would try an Apt.

The Stella Maris did not fail to give us good value for the amount we paid, yes it is basic but if you are looking for near the beach and good cleaning service with friendly staff the Stella Maris will meet all you need for a good holiday base.

I asked for a floor between 4th and 7th they gave us the 6th floor with a newly refurbished Studio. We were so lucky as not all have been up dated and I must admit this made a huge difference to our holiday. We did look in other rooms as we passed and although looked clean they were no match to the one we had.

So a tip when booking try and get the refurbished Studios. The swimming pool is very small however still big enough for a cool off. Under the Stella is a Italian Rest that is very handy for a nice glass of wine or beer.

Room Tip: Above floor 7 due to late night noise also a refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Check into the hotel was very good and great welcome reception staff were very approachable pleasant police and offered great customer service on every visit, room good clean basic with fantastic views, Beds comfortable good standard within room. Location on promenade between two train stations to explore the area.
What let the apartments down was housekeeping, some days bed made some days not, some days floor moped other days not and never all done on the same day very very poor housekeeping and a 7 day stay with no sheet change is unacceptable, the hotel toped and tailed the bedding to cut costs,
Value and location cannot be beaten housekeeping not acceptable, would i return yes but request a mop and bucket so at least room can be cleaned to an acceptable level.

Room Tip: All sudios have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlands scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Have just spent two weeks in Stella Maris and found it an ideal place for a sun and beach holiday. Having read some reviews regarding the studio apartments we upgraded to a one bedroom one which was a wise move. I think two weeks in a studio would feel a little cramped. The apartments are a little dated but this is greatly offset by the wonderful location. We were on the 13th floor and hardly heard any street noise. The views of sea and harbour were magnificent and the sunrise over the Sierra Nevadas was spectacular. The beach is only 20 yards away from the front of the building and the sun beds are the best i have experienced after 40 years of beach holidays.The gentlemen at reception are both efficient and friendly. We had a problem with our fridge but it was sorted within one hour. The cleaning was first class, the ladies both cheery and thorough. The apertments are in a quieter part of Fuengirola and within a few handred yards one has the choice of many good and reasonably priced restaurants. A good place for a good holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view. The higher the floor the quieter it is. Four very efficient lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Good basic accommodation, on the beach, always a sea view, next door to supermacado and a short walk to bars in both los boliches and fuengirola. Our 3rd stay and we will return if it remains good value.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spennite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I have just got back from a 4 day stay at the Stella Maris. When we arrived we were very impressed - the location was amazing, and the room was simple but spacious and very clean, with amazing views looking over the beach. However, a couple of negatives popped up during the stay. The first was that the air con didn't work, which we mentioned to the reception 3 times and nothing was done, so we have up in the end. This was frustrating as the evenings were very hot. Secondly, the room often smelt of sewage, which wasn't very pleasant. However, overall the stay was quite good, and the pool area was also very pleasant and clean.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent a lovely week in Stella Maris. Fabulous location, beautiful sandy beach directly across the road. Within walking distance of all the bars and restaurants. We recommend eating off the main strip in side streets and squares, delicious food and great value.
Rooms are small but clean and comfortable, we had a sea view and it was beautiful if a little noisy at night but worth the view. air con is included also. Pool area is very small but beach is equally as close and very picturesque. Supermarket around the corner.
Within walking distance of the Los Boliches train station that goes directly to Malaga Airport. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiamhOS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.5 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos La Jabega
Apartamentos La Jabega
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Palmeras
Hotel Las Palmeras
#28 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,258 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Apartamentos

Property: Stella Maris Apartamentos
Address: Maritimo Rey de Espana | EDF Stella Maris 54, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments are located in front of the sea, at the Paseo Maritimo, and only five minutes away from the center of Fuengirola.The Touristic Apartments Stella Maris have 126 studios and apartments of one and two bedrooms, all fitted with comfortable facilities, with furnished terrace, full equipped electric kitchen, air conditioning, heating, direct telephone, color TV (via sat), electronic security lock, fireproof doors, free wifi and safe (optional). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stella Maris Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Apartamentos Hotel Fuengirola
Stella Maris Apartamentos Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing