We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER NEVER AGAIN”
Review of ILUNION Fuengirola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ILUNION Fuengirola
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We should have realised when we booked with "Low Cost Holidays" the mistake we were making, I must state though they were excellent all the way through the booking process. We arrived on a sunny day ready to spend a Christmas in what we expected to be a pleasant hotel, the approach to the entrance was foreboding, dark, dingy and dirty and we had not even entered. On entering the illusion was not broken but it worsened, looking around was difficult as it was so dark, a very pleasant voice asked us did we wish to book in, my heart was saying no but we did. Natalie was the lady on reception and she was a delight also through out our stay we found her helpful and pleasant, why did she stay in such a miserable place we wanted to ask. Bedrooms very basic but also clean, bathroom basic and dark but wonderful towels and an excellent view from a dirty and lack lustre balcony that really did not entice you to sit and enjoy. The dining room is something else, it was like a 1930 railway cafeteria with the food being worse than I remember and it also had dirty tables, chairs and really badly stained cloth chairs that made you want to put the cheap two ply napkins on before seating There were even two old fashioned trolleys to collect the food slops and plates which guests took their plates to and cleared them themselves 90% of the time, as there was only one member of staff on duty during meals. the food was poorly displayed and looked unappetising which most of it was also to eat. We found it that bad that we made filled rolls, eat out as often as possible and also moved to a different hotel for two days (that was bliss ) Breakfast was passable as long as you shouted out for the cook to replenish the greasy bacon and eggs and was happy with tired looking salads and cheese.
We saw one staff member making an attempt in the reception area to clean, it did not work, the coffee shop was again dirty and unappealing and when we tried to get service we found the person from the dining room had come down to serve us. In the coffee shop there was easy seating for 12 people as this was also open to the public it meant you had nowhere to sit if you so wished, it was also closed until 14.30hrs so that left your bedroom if you did not wish to go out, we always did as it was joy to get out of the place.
We spoke with other guests who could not wait to leave, some only booked accommodation and were reasonable happy all seemed to agree it was a very poor hotel, not a four star and really not a hotel more like an old fashioned hostel.
We tried to talk with staff but we only found four and our Spanish was not up to the questions we wanted to ask. Natalie was there on reception but we did not want to break the one good thing in this place.
Would we go back, as the titles states. Never.
Did we get what we paid for as some of the reviews state it was cheap, well there is cheap and there is a very badly inefficient run hotel, which is what we stayed in.
One last word Fuengirola is a great place to go and we will go again but will always walk past the Confortel Hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank payneb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at ILUNION Fuengirola, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear customer,

We thank you for your interest and for taking the trouble to let us know your opinion. Please feel assured that we will pay particular attention to any information regarding your experience at our hotel and we will work harder to improve our services.

I want also to thank you for your kind words about our receptionist .

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the Confortel Fuengirola (mid-late November). It was a really enjoyable holiday and Fuengirola itself is well worth the visit. On reading a few of the negative reviews, I can see the travellers point. I will attempt to give my own candid and unbiased review of the hotel.

First of all; Yes, the hotel is basic. Comparing it to any number of 4 star hotels I have seen both in Ireland and beyond, I would have to agree that the 4 star rating does not tally entirely. Having said that, the hotel by no means deserves unnceccessary criticism. For both me and my travelling companion, a two week half-board break in the Confortel would have and did cost less than a two week break for just one of us in one of the other 4* hotels in the same area. So as several other reviewers have pointed out, you get what you pay for. And, if like me, you opt to spend less on accomodation and more on tours, entertainment and little luxuries when you are on holidays, then this hotel is perfect.

We stayed in room # 707 which was absolutely fantastic. The direct line sea-view did cost 140€ extra for the duration of our stay, but it was so worth it. From our balcony (small, yet plently of room to sit out on), we had an uninterrupted view of the entire promenade, out as far as Benalmadena. It was superb. The room was a decent size with two really comfy single beds, a sofa bed, tv and refrigerator. There's no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but on knowing this beforehand, we just brough a travel kettle - problem solved :) The bathroom had everything you needed, including a full size hairdryer which you don't find everywhere and the shower was amazing. The rooms were cleaned everyday by really friendly staff. A safe could be rented for €5 a day which we opted for - just as a bit of peace of mind. There is also complimentary wi-fi in the entire hotel, including bedrooms (passwords are obtained from reception).

Food-wise.....it was ok! Breakfasts were plentiful, but got a little repetitive with little or no variation over the two weeks we stayed. The evening meals were alright too - I wouldn't be hurrying back there for the food at any stretch of the imagination, but you wouldn't starve there.

There is an outdoor pool and sunbed area on the 2nd floor, but the sun is gone from there by mid morning and the pool is not heated, so it's not really worth the mention in the winter months.

Most of the staff are friendly enough, the front desk staff are very helpful, as mentioned, housekeeping staff are very nice and some of the restaurant staff are nice, some! Others - it seemed to pain them to have non-spanish guests staying in the hotel - or maybe that's just my opinion, either way, some were not friendly - one in particular managed not to say hola or hello or even smile a single time we were there. Not a very welcoming attitude, thankfully he was the only extreme exception to an otherwise friendly run establishment.

There is a nice café/bar at the front of the hotel. Having said that, I frequented it just the once. But it serves as a café/snackbar and bar for the hotel. It closed pretty early though. There is a payable internet station at reception, and also a tourist information touch screen kiosk which gives useful tips.

My biggest gripe with the hotel was the fact that it offered zero entertainment. Nada! Not even a decrepid old piano and a tone-deaf pianist! Zip! It was a real let down, especially given that the two closest hotels, the Yaramar and the Angela had a cracking entertainment package, I would have at least expected that the Confortel would have attempted to compete with them. But, it was merely a 3 minute stroll down the road to the Yaramar so really, it's not such a massive deal! I think I almost convinced myself of that anyway.

So all in all, No, it's not a spectacular hotel that is going to have you running back year in, year out. But, for me, it was a perfectly satisfactory base to explore and discover all that Fuengirola has to offer. Would I go back to Fuengirola again? In a heartbeat. Would I stay at the Confortel? Despite it having views to, in my openion, rival all others, I don't think so. It's a 'been there, done that' sort of hotel; fine the first time, but after that, you just want something a little different.

Room Tip: Choose a room mid-high level (floor 6 upwards) - they have most undisturbed views. Paying extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jusaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have just returned from a week in the Confortel hotel fuengirols and Id have to say I was disappointed with the hotel.We would normally go with an apartment for our hoildays but we decided to spoil ourselves as it was our anniversay and try a hotel this time. We have one hoilday a year like most people so you'd hope by choosing a **** hotel it would be the best., not so. The hotel interior and exterior is very basic, the rooms are plain and small with no kettle to have an ould cuppa if you felt like it. We had paid the extra fee so luckily we got a sea view . The balcony is small and not suitable for sunbathing. The weather was lovely but not quite warm enough for swimming which didnt bother us as the pool area again was basic and no privacy if one wanted to sun bathe. We asked for a local map the first morning and were given a black and white photocopy which was totally illigible.We strolled into the **** hotel a very short distance away where we not only got a map but a typed leadlet for guests with bus and train times etc, few words of spanish /english to help you get through your day, and the days and places where the markets were on..This hotel even had a bus laid on to take you to the village of Mijas(well worth a visit) where of course we had to make our own way there. Our hotel had little extra gestures to make your stay appreciated. I dont know how or who decides on the number of stars allocated to hotels, but I for one would not include the Confortel hotel in that category. On the plus side it did include breakfast and there was certainly a great choice something to suit all palates and location wise could not be any nearer the beach.

Room Tip: dont except a corner room they are a diaster. sea view the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SARAH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at ILUNION Fuengirola, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear client,

Firstly, would like to express our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations.

Likewise, we thank you for your interest and for taking the trouble to let us know your opinion, we truly appreciate all reviews from our guests. We always make all the possible because our clients feel comfortable during their stay and we are really disliked for not having obtained it with you.

Please feel assured that we will pay particular attention to any information regarding your experience and we will work harder to improve our services.

Best regards,

Mónica Gimeno, Directora Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just spend 10 days here, right on the beach. easy to get to and from Malaga airport, 3 mins from Los boliches station

One slight drawback, the hotel caters for disabled people, and has many of them staying, great for them, but sometimes awkward with the small lifts as a wheelchair bound person and their carer fills each one

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent a total of 6 nights there at the end of September and start of October 2013.

The room we had was very good with a fantastic sea view. Being on the 10th. Floor it was very quiet. We were only on a B & B basis but can only stress that the breakfast food was very good. Plenty of choice and always fresh. It is set in the Los Boliches area - just 5 minutes walk from Los Boliches station so very easy to get to from Malaga Airport.

The staff were always very helpful and friendly and made us welcome.

Room Tip: Chose a sea view room with a balcony. A high floor is best as the hotel fronts the seafront and coa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

On arrival we were told our room 1207 was ready which clearly it was'nt !!! Had to call housekeeping to sort out the following- Bed cover with a visable hole on top,Bathroom sink dirty,Bathroom floor covered with long black hair's,Hairdryer had burnt out so once switched on no heat only smoke and to finish off bathroom towel had a hugh hole. All in all theres a problem with house keeping.
Its a shame this side of the hotel is letting them down it can put other guests of.

Room Tip: High floor always and a must sea view its worth the extra.A tip have a good look around the room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy-jayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at ILUNION Fuengirola, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel location

We sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I am checking this matter with the housekeeping department in order to improve it.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just returned fron a mini break in this hotel....overall good standard....fantastic helpful staff especially Natalie on the reception desk....room nos 1409....very good size...
cleaned every day...great view!
Stayed 1/2 board food adequate nothing very exciting....
Shame the pool was in the shade from early pm
Better part of Fuengirola......the rest of the resort not very nice

Room Tip: Sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinkle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuengirola
2.4 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,501 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
1.9 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,447 reviews
22.4 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Fuengirola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Fuengirola

Address: Paseo Maritimo Rey de Espana, 87, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: £40 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Fuengirola 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ILUNION Fuengirola is located on the sea front, next to the Sailing Club and sports port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ILUNION Fuengirola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Fuengirola Hotel Fuengirola
Confortel Hotel Fuengirola
Fuengirola Confortel Hotel
ILUNION Fuengirola Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing