We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great location, wonderful staff.”
Review of ILUNION Fuengirola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ILUNION Fuengirola
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great location, wonderful staff.”
Reviewed 14 August 2009

I've stayed at the Confortel Fuengirola twice now, and enjoyed both my stays. The hotel is smart, clean and stylish and located directly on the beach: perfect for those who just want a lazy sun-worshipping holiday.

The hotel is situated on a beachfront promenade, which is quieter than it may appear: the bars and clubs are some streets behind. Some visitors may find this annoying or boring - and the hotel does not provide its own "entertainment"; I, however, appreciate the calm: not all of us venturing to the Costa Del Sol wish to party/booze it up. In addition, whilst there may be a few "English pubs" in the near vicinity, there are not so many as to feel that it's "Blackpool Del Sol"; most of the holidaymakers are Spaniards. (Ask them to point you to the wonderful (and cheap!) seafood restaurant, ten blocks from the hotel!)

The area around the hotel is flat and easily accessible; unsurprisingly the hotel attracts many disabled clientele, whose needs are well catered for by the very attentive hotel staff. (As an example, they can help organise wheelchair hire for its patrons.) In addition, there are wooden pathways leading down to all the beach chairs, so wheelchair users can easily access the beach and enjoy the seafront too. Many/most of the beachfront cafes and restaurants are very accessible too.

The hotel is close to a local train (which takes you to and from the airport very cheaply), and cabs and buses are easy to find. But why would you want to venture anywhere? The beach is lovely and given most of the hotel rooms look out over the sea, it's a wonderful location to enjoy.

The rooms themselves are lovely: very large - and comfortable - double beds; a relaxing sofa bed; balconies that overlook the sea. (NB. The 14 "Accessible" rooms lack balconies and face the street.) There's also free wifi, which is nice, and the maid service is impeccable.

The staff, as I said before, are wonderful, and they really pull out all the stops to assist you. Meal times could be a bit more organised (NB. If staying over a weekend, ensure you eat breakfast early, as the late queues of holidaying Spaniards tend to be quite large.), but they're a great bunch - who all speak many languages - and I've always found them to be helpful.

The (few) negatives of the hotel would be:

The outdoor pool faces north east, so all the sun is gone (thus making the pool cold) by early afternoon.
The bar only stays open to eleven o'clock at night, so no late night after-dinner brandies are possible, sadly.
The disabled access bathroom by the pool is a hazard and unsafe; it needs total rebuilding.
The hotel allows smoking, so some rooms reek a bit.
Breakfasts are a little dull: not very much variety. But they are plentiful, so not a huge complaint there.

All in all, I would highly recommend this (well deserved) 4* hotel, especially if you're single and want a quiet break; a couple who want a romantic getaway, someone disabled who wants to feel safe, secure and taken care of (and/or have a romantic break!); someone elderly who wishes to not have too far to walk and will appreciate the level ground outside. It's a smart, stylish, comfortable and very relaxing place: I'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Britgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    349
    220
    79
    47
See reviews for
290
465
39
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Having stayed at the Beatrix Palace & Spa on our last 2 trips to Fuengirola this hotel does not meet with the same 4* expectations.(Yes there is a big price difference)
The breakfast choice is adequate but totally unappertising to look at. Bacon & eggs Swimming in grease is not the best look or taste. However, plenty of coffee & tea was on offer. Only 2 lifts were working and with people with wheelchairs and less able bodied people about this was far from acceptable.
Surprised at how many people seem to rate this hotel so highley and would only be able to say that its an okay hotel..........nothing special......

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

What a great hotel. Great value for money, very friendly staff, smack on the beach and train from Malaga airport gets you there (go to station Los Boliches) in 35 minutes for the cost of EUR2.00, YES EUR2.00 per person. Hotel is about 400 yards from station. Walk from the station straight to the beach and there it is.
Room was very clean and large with a great sea view.
Only issue was fluctuating water temperature in shower but did it spoil the holiday, no.
Breakfast, plentiful and varied.
Would I stay there again.................absolutely!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

This is a really nice hotel, great buffet breakfast and decor but my husband and I were unfortunately allocated one of the (very few) non-seaview rooms. We booked a seaview room through Lastminute (no mention of subject to availability) and after many converstations with the hotel reception - and even being given the keys to someone elses room - we gave up trying to get a different room. This was a real shame as the hotel is right on the beach and offers great views.

Also, make sure you go to Los Boliches train station and NOT Fuengirola as the address suggests.

We didn't use the pool as it looked quite small and it got the shade for most of the afternoon but the beach wasn't that busy, was really nice and has lots of sunbeads and parasols (apx 9 euros for a pair).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody239NorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Army moves us all over
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Breakfast buffet: amazing. View: balcony from our room overlooking the beach and ocean to watch the sunrise City: small yet has all needs and quite even on a busy street. Staff: friendly, went well out of their way to search for adapter and answer questions (in english too). Hotel: clean, modern, always something neat to notice, parking available CLOSE to hotel.... absolutely no complaints and I would HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Having never been to the Costa del Sol resorts (I usually prefer city breaks), I was a bit apprehensive about this trip because I thought it might be Blackpool-on-Costa. And yes, there's plenty for less adventurous Brits - lots of familiar food all over the coast if that's what you want, and each to their own. But this hotel and its position was a revelation. The area is just beautiful and the hotel is right next to a lovely clean beach and a pretty square.

An advantage for a solo traveller is the ease of transport from Malaga. Get on the train from the airport, travel along the coast for about 20 minutes to Los Boliches station (just 2 euros!) and the hotel is about 100 yards from the station - as others have said, just head for the sea.

I just had bed and breakfast, in a large room with a balcony overlooking the Med. The breakfast buffet is vast and I liked the fact that it's a spacious room so you don't feel crammed in. You can sit and look at the sea while eating if you wish!

No entertainment, but personally that would be my kind of nightmare. If you want peace and quiet, I'd highly recommend this hotel. I hardly heard any other residents - just the sound of the sea, and because it's at the quiet end of Fuengirola, no noisy bars either, but you can walk to them in a few minutes if you like that kind of thing.

One tip - get back on the train and go to Montemar station (just a few stops) and visit Parque la Bateria, a gorgeous park right next to the station. You can walk down to La Carihuela from here, but the park itself is worth the trip. My favourite surprise was a tree where children giving up their dummy can leave it hanging on a special tree! Just one of the many delights that make this area worth a visit. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvergirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Lovely room on the 14th floor with fabulous sea view from the balcony. Generously proportioned room and spotlessly clean. Helpful staff. Lovely breakfast, lots of healthy foods on offer.

Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
2.4 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
641 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Las Palmeras
Hotel Las Palmeras
#28 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Fuengirola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Fuengirola

Property: ILUNION Fuengirola
Address: Paseo Maritimo Rey de Espana, 87, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Fuengirola 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ILUNION Fuengirola is located on the sea front, next to the Sailing Club and sports port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ILUNION Fuengirola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Fuengirola Hotel Fuengirola
Confortel Hotel Fuengirola
Fuengirola Confortel Hotel
ILUNION Fuengirola Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing