We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, lovely staff”
Review of Florida Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Florida Spa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, lovely staff”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

went for a week with 5 teenagers - excellent location, close to beach and bars (but not so close that you can hear anything).
Food was very good and all managed to find something they liked every night.
Hotel is spotless and the showers in the bathrooms are better than any I've ever experienced in a hotel. Rooms are spacious and kept very clean.
The pool is small, really a cooling down pool. Only came up to my shoulders in the deep end (i am 5'9"). Always ample (decent)sunbeds.
And the staff are lovely (especially the restaurant staff!)- on one night one of the staff had to mention to me that one of the young ladies i had brought with me was not appropriately dressed for the evening restaurant (actually she was barely dressed at all) and they did this with such diplomacy and tact, no one was embarassed or offended.
The entertainment is a singer every night singing "ballads" from the decades. We walked into the old town(5 minutes) every night, so this wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thanks a lot for writing a review about your stay at Hotel Florida Spa and for giving us top marks. We are very happy to read you liked the hotel, had an enjoyable stay and found our staff lovely. They are a real asset to the hotel! we are aware of how good they are and how hard they work, so we really appreciate when guests notice too. We hope to see you back at the Florida soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    491
    127
    26
    14
See reviews for
195
956
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I am very late with this review but never thought about doing one until now!

What can I say - my first holiday with my boyfriend and it was great! The hotel itself was very modern and surrounded by a typical Spanish setting. As soon as we walked in our first words were wow. We weren't really expecting such a wide open space. We were greeted with smiles and were shown straight to our rooms which was great.

The rooms are simple but very nice and cosy, beds are always made and clean towels whenever you wanted - you just had to leave them in the shower if you wanted clean ones! It was great service. The safe was free to use, you just had to make up your own code. The Air con was just IDEAL you can obviously change the settings but we had it full power most nights and it was ice cold instead of just blowing around warm air from the room. Our balcony was over looking the pool. Which was nice, we would sit out there and listen to the entertainment at night whilst getting ready to go out. As we were 18 & 20 we did our own thing at night and went to the clubs instead of going down for the entertainment - but it sounded good fun.

The clubs around are brilliant. You are in a good location as you can walk just round the corner and you are in a bundle of really good clubs with a great atmosphere - I have no idea where all the young people came from as we didn't see any, really, during the day! But where our hotel is it is quiet, like a said, a great location! Very close to the clubs and still really quiet away from any shouting drunk people!

The food at the hotel was great, did have a variety evey night and a few different things but I would say most things were quite repetative, but tht doesn't really faze us. Breakfast was GREAT, always a wide range of things to have, fruit, cereal, crossaints, toast and all the spreads etc and then cooked breakfast! I have to admit the majority of my breakfasts were the cooked breakfast, but it was just so nice! Definately filed a hole!

We were half board so always had breakfast at the hotel and had dinner the majority of the time at the hotel too. But getting out and about and going to the restaurants around is good too, there are some amazing places. When you go out for lunch you HAVE to go to a great little English run lunch bar down the road - they are sooo lovely there and their nachos and jacket potato with tune is to die for!!!

I would recommend to go to Puerto Banus! Amazing sites, great shops and yachts you would only dream of. Also take a trip to the shopping centre MiraMar, it's got good shops and it's not a bad trip, theres a really close bus stop and me and my boyfriend walked back! If you get bored after that go to the mini golf across the road from the shopping centre, it is so much fun and the people that run it are also great fun! Oh and I almost forgot - GO TO THE PIRATE PARAGLIDING - they are awesome, take great pics too we did it twice!

All in all I loved this holiday, I'd probably only say one bad thing and that would be, the pool was a bit rubbish, small and shallow and a bit grotty! But you can't have it all! Don't turn this holiday down it is brill.

P.S We went around mid-end of July 2011 but it would not let me select anything before sept 2011.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thanks a lot for taking your time in writing a review about your stay . We really appreciate it and are delighted to read you had a really good first holiday with your boyfriend at Hotel Florida Spa. It is great to know you made the most of the time and got to explore Fuengirola and even Marbella and its beautiful Marina. We hope to see you back soon for another happy holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Just spent another week at Florida Spa. Cannot fault it and we were allowed to wear shorts to dinner!! Dress code is relaxed during summer months. Staff great as usual and always found something to eat although it is, as with most Spanish hotels, repetitive.

Room Tip: Best to request room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank perch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. However we do take note on the fact that our staff did not reinforce the dress code for dinner as this is not our intention. Thank you for giving us full marks, we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just arrived back from a week at the Florida Spa (Hotel Florida) in Fuengirola. It was superb. The hotel is located about 100 yards from the harbour & beach, right next to a variety of bars, restuarants. The location couldn't be more perfect, The rooms are fantastic - not your normal holiday resort rooms more like chic city hotel rooms. They are spacious and have everything you could need including bathrobes & towels to take down to the pool or beach. The hotel itself has the pool in the first floor which is unusual but very nice - never a problem getting a bed & always clean and tidy. The restuarant is buffet for breakfast & evening meal with plenty of choice for both. The staff are all very friendly & helpful. Overall a great experience and would definately recommend it & also would love to go back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nuge11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thanks a lot for your feedback and for giving us such a high mark. We are very happy to read you had a lovely week at Hotel Florida Spa and you are willing to come back! We hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I visited for one night in July and enjoyed the hotel, It was very clean and had all the facilities you could want. The spa was gorgeous and the prices at the bar very reasonable, The thing that sets this hotel apart is the service, I have stayed in Spain many times in Fuengirola, Marbella and Benalamadena and have never seen such helpful and happy staff. We only stayed one night but definately will be booking again for more

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharlon920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thanks a lot for writing a review about your stay at Hotel Florida Spa. We know you have only stayed for a night but your words are very flattering. We will be delighted to see you back at the Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just returned from a week at the Florida Spa (last week in July) where we stayed with our two children (16 & 7). A little disappointed as this was advertised as a 'Platinum' Hotel, but we have stayed in better 'normal' 4 star Thomson hotels in the past. Accommodation and service are good, however the food on offer in the restaurant did not come up to expectations. Not a great variety either to choose from, or from day to day. The pool area is good (if small) with plenty of sun beds and parasols. However, if you are planning to visit with children, be prepared for disapproving looks as 'Thompson Platinum' seems to some people to mean adults only (as per some other reviews). This is NOT an adults only hotel - indeed the hotels provides highchairs in the restaurant ! Location is excellent with regards to the beach and amenities, with only a short walk to the bus terminal and station.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor and a view either of the sea or pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear guest we are sorry to read you did not feel completely confortable because of the looks of other guests regarding your children. As you say, our hotel is not adults only and we actually do not advertise as such. On the other hand, our sister hotels are adult only. Thank you for your review, we hope to see you back and meet your expectations this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We have just returned from our 4th visit, in the last 12 months, and although we still love the Hotel things have changed in terms of the customer profile.

This Hotel is supposed to be a Thomson Platinum Hotel and should only accept bookings from adults, or anyone over the age of 16 according to the Thomson brochure.

The Hotel had lots of young families with either babies or young children which came as a surprise as if we wanted a family Hotel we would obviously book one and at a lower price.

The other notable change this time was that there were an awful lot, about 40%, of Spanish holidaymakers which meant that, unless you ate after 9pm with the Spanish, the restaurant was very quiet and lacked total atmosphere.

The other change was with there being so many Spanish holidaymakers eating so late the evening entertainment was affected - almost no Spanish holidaymakers attended so again there was a lack of atmosphere in the bar area - great shame to for the acts as there were very few people to entertain.

The Hotel tends to cater for the Spanish in that they have their own nightclub downstairs and this area is very well supported by both the Spanish locals and also the Spanish holidaymakers.

Hope things get back to how they were so that we can visit again.

Room Tip: High floors afford the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wheawell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear guest, as we have answered in other reviews, our hotel is not adults only, we do not offer a special price for children or families but we do not advertise as adults only either, therefore anyone is welcome. As for the Spanish guests having their own "night club", as you say is due to our international guests have asked us to have different entertainment and do not like what the locals like. So we have a few days in the week when we open downstairs with entertainment catered to the locals and spanish guests but of course all our guests are welcome to go and join them if they like. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
952 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Consistorial
Hotel Casa Consistorial
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Spa

Property: Florida Spa
Address: C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Florida Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuengirola’s New Hotel Florida Spa is located beside the port, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This state-of-the-art, four-star facility offers 184 rooms, all of which are complete with air-conditioning, heating, a fridge/minibar, satellite TV, Music Channels, and pay-for-view films. Along with the expected accoutrements of a telephone, a hair-dryer, and tea and coffee facilities, each room at the New Hotel Florida Spa also offers its own safe so you can enjoy the fun of the Costa del Sol with complete peace of mind while you leave your valuables behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Florida Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Fuengirola
Florida Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing