We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of Florida Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Florida Spa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here in early September. On arrival we were quickly checked in and allocated an 11th floor room which I was very happy with as had seen reviews on here which recommended being on a high floor. We had a room that overlooked the pool but you could also see the marina.
Once unpacked we headed down to the pool where there was plenty sun loungers available this was about 1pm. The pool is very small but as we don’t usually do much swimming it was fine for us when we needed to cool down.
We were half board and would say the food was always very nice with plenty choice to suit any fussy eater and I am quiet fussy.
There are a few happy hours in the hotel throughout the day. I would like to give a special mention to Antonio and all the Bar staff great service and entertainment from them all.
The hotel is in a good location for all the bars and also restaurants. If you are looking to eat out fish alley is the place to go where there are lots of restaurants whatever you want I am sure you would find it here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mamck129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thanks for writing such a nice review and rating us so high. Your words are very flattering and we are very pleased to know you had a fantastic stay at Hotel Florida Spa. We really appreciate your kind comments about our bar staff and we will pass them onto Antonio and his team. We hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel is ideal for couples and has the best food on the menus. The rooms are comfortable and the staff are so helpful. The train station is very close and the bus service is a short walk away. Plenty of shops and resturants close by and the beach is very clean,the sun is always shining.

Room Tip: one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your review and the high rating. We really appreciate your kind comment regarding our staff and hope you choose us again as your holiday hotel soon as it would be fantastic to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

In agreement with an earlier review ... I believe that this hotel has been adorned with one too many stars. When booked, this hotel was listed on Trip Advisor as one out of thirty-six hotels in Fuengirola ... upon our return it still is ... and therefore can only wonder what’s in store for guests/clients at the other hotels in this resort?
I don’t think that the rating problem lies entirely with this hotel but with the rating system for Spain. This was our sixth visit to Spain (... all different resorts) and we find that a four star in Spain equates to a three star anywhere else (... from the various places we’ve visited so far).

For our two week stay we had a double room on the top/twelfth floor overlooking the nice harbour and coast-line. The room was adorned with the usual fitments ... mirrored wardrobes, dressing table, bedside cabinets (... starting to show signs of wear) ... with safe, fridge (... kettle) air-con and Wi-Fi all free to use. No bath in the large en-suite ... just a large shower. The rooms were cleaned etc on a daily basis.

There appeared to be an infestation of ants??? ... on the twelfth floor!!!

We were there on half board basis. The food was okay (... good choice, hot and cooked well) ... but maybe not quite to four star standards (... with last year’s four star holiday/hotel in mind). The entertainment afterwards was for the older clientele ... we never bothered with it.

After reading a number of reviews before we left, we were expecting the pool to be small ... I can confirm that it is indeed very small ... situated on the third floor above the restaurant (... thus with no grass/shrubs/trees/greenery etc.). Reviews also stated that there are not enough sun loungers but with the twelve floors of hotel accommodation towering over one side of the pool and apartment blocks looming to the other three sides ... it took a little while for the sun to reach the pool/wind tunnel and if/when the lift stopped on that floor there always seemed to be a few empty chairs?

We used the spa a couple of times ... pool and jacuzzi were free to use. Additional charges were incurred for the use of the sauna etc.

Public transport appears to be cheap. We took the train to Benalmadena (... station’s approx fifteen minutes walk from the hotel). Enjoyed our visit to Benalmadena, along with the trips arranged through the rep to Gibraltar and Morocco.

Fuengirola appears to be a little run down in places with boarded up shops and graffiti ... the beach also appears to be soiled in places by too much discarded litter. There are plenty of loungers on the beaches @ approx 4.50 euros each (... or 5 euros for two loungers outside the sister hotel The Yaramar).

Overall we had a good holiday. The hotel was a in a good location within the town ... close to shops, restaurants, pubs and opposite the beach. Although in our opinion the hotel wasn’t quite four star calibre (... or Thompson’s Platinum) ... it was nevertheless a good hotel and would return for another visit/stay (... with no high expectations, just of three star standard).

The hotel could possibly benefit by being spruced up, a little decorating, replacing missing tiles both in the pool and spa area, replacing some of the worn furniture in the rooms, fixing the air conditioning system in the main hotel restaurant (... the latter sandwiched between the spa on the floor below and the pool on its roof above ... a possible contribution to the overheating?).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LellynIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel is in a good location overlooking the marina/harbour.The rooms have good facilities including tea/coffee facilities,safe,walk in shower with additional hand held shower head,pool towels,fridge,ceiling fan and A/C which operates even when the sliding doors to the balcony are open.
The central position of the hotel means that it is only a short walk to the train and bus stations and also to the centre of the resort.
The staff are a great asset in this hotel,they are friendly and very hard working and a special mention must go to Antonio and his staff in the Miami Bar,his impression of Michael Jackson was really good.
Another good thing about the hotel is the happy hours,there are two at the pool snack bar between 12.00 and 13.00 then 21.00 and 22.00.
The Miami Ber has a happy hour between 20.30 and 22.00.(yes it is an hour and a half) which you get value for money.
The breakfasts are good and there is always a good choice at dinner.The pool and surrounding area is a bit small and despite notices on doors,towels get put on sunbeds very early without people occupying them.
When there visit the BioParc (zoo) it is fantastic.

Room Tip: A sea view room is good as it overlooks the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexander448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thanks a lot for your review and your nice comments. We are glad to know you liked our hotel and hope you had a fantastic stay with us. Antonio not only is a great professional but also a real character and a box full of surprises so we will pass your comments on to him, we are sure he will be well flattered!! Hope to see you back at the Florida soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Second visit to the hotel and as usual the hotel did not disappoint. On arrival we had a big problem with our room allocation not I hasten to add the hotels fault but Thomson's. Thomson had no interest in our complaint and washed there hands of us and did nothing to resolve our complaint in the 10 day stay. The hotel on the other hand did everything in their power to resolve our complaint and we would like to thank the reception staff and Maria for everything they did for us.
The hotel is central so some resort noise can be heard and if you don’t like pan pipes take ear plugs (every night for 10 days) but being so central means that the hotel has everything on its doorstep including the train station for getting out and about in the area.
The rooms are good, starting to show their age but with walk in showers flat screen TV balconies and a very good standard of housekeeping.
The food is excellent and the hotel seriously does cater for all tastes for the UK market, but with fish and local dishes every night also. We managed to avoid the entertainment every night so cannot comment, but have to say had a great time at the hotel and we would like to thank the staff for making my birthday memorable for the correct reasons.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for writing a review and rating the Florida Spa so high. We are sorry to hear about your initial room problem though happy to know you received a good service from our reception staff. We hope to see you back at the Florida soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Smart but nothing amazing room wise considering the price. If only it was a grand as the reception! Lovely big shower in the room though and glad they put a pool on the first floor, it gets sun from noon till around 6pm (all on one level with disabled toilets). Its central though which is great, but expect some street noise around the pool. Inside the rooms is fine though noise wise. Now ..... plastic chairs on the balcony which are the same as a cheapy bar down the road, doth not a 4* make !! neither does plastic glasses in rooms either in my opinion. All the staff were lovely though.
The spa where the indoor pool is fine, I had a lovely massage there.
Please go down whats called 'fish alley' which is where loads of restaurants are. I had lovely meals there every night. Its very hustle and bustle but you can eat really well, cheaply and moderately priced. Look in the back of the menus where they have the set menus. Oscars did a 3 course menu for 8.5 euros! very good food. Ling Bings (chinese), Nawab (Indian), Thai House, and La Casa Rustica (European fare) were all really good restaurants, varying in price.
Down by the marina are other bars and restaurants. Meat and Rock is very good (Danish food), Karma Bar (Irish bar) good, and Shaggys bar which has a really good outdoor bar with different live music 6 nights a week! I went there after dinner almost every night.
Bits and pieces : Now its not full of youngsters being rowdy, its more middle aged and above.
A Servi Red is opposite the hotel, I mention this as there aren't many cash machines, theres another one in the Sweet shop on the promenade its called Sweeties I think.
Most people speak English but please try a 'Hola' and a 'la cuenta por favor' ?? Have fun!!

Room Tip: Lifts to all floors. I had on overlooking the pool and had great sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Junebuggy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Florida Spa as your holiday hotel and for your well detailed review, we are sure many Trip Advisors users will find it very useful. We are glad to hear you found or staff friendly. We are also happy to know you got to explore the surrounding area and the many bars in town. We hope you choose us again if you ever decide to visit Fuengirola again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

It irks me when I book a hotel and the standard is less than expecting, The Florida is an example – labeled as 4 star plus –
The pool is tiny
There are not enough loungers, some are tatty and worn
The dressing gowns were discoloured and worn
The floor was cheap laminate that was starting to lift
The balcony was tiny and housed the air con unit complete with peeling paint and a view right into apartments less than 20 feet away
Fridge kept drinks warm, yes warm and had to be replaced

The hotel would merit 3 stars in the UK
Aside from this it is an ok hotel, reasonably modern but starting to show sign of wear.

Location is set back from the front line but with no obstructions to the front.

Food was pretty good, decent amount and plenty of choice – no complaints on that front

Staff – mixed bunch, all hard working but varied in their interaction with guests

Entertainment – mainly for the oldies and with some really terrible acts, some singers we heard from our balcony were truly awful.

Buses are cheap (3.5 euros to Marbella (but be sure to get off when it hits what looks like the main street unless you want to be driven 15 minutes up the hills to the bus station)

Pueblo Mijas – 1.5 euros into the mountains is an absolute must see village (do not confuse with Costa Mijas en route to Marbella

Bus station does not look like a typical station, it is more a selection of stops at a busy corner, rep gave us misleading info re where to get buses etc. so do not expect lines of coaches and destination boards. The street leading to it runs from the road parallel with the beach near the Florida, easiest way from hotel – turn right outside front door, cross over at traffic lights and take road that runs parallel with se front, 10 mins walk and the station opens up in front of you, as said it does not look like a typical station
Buses to Marbella sit outside the station and you buy a ticket, others you pay on the bus – just check at the ticket office

Fuengirola is quite run down in parts near the hotel with empty boarded up shops and graffiti, something needs to be done. But walk away from the sea front and you will find some really nice areas, loads of shops, coffee houses etc

It is a bit like Benidorm in that it is quite Anglified, usual selection of bars and cheap restaurants/stores but probably has something for everyone.

Decent beach with plenty of loungers but quite pricey at 9 euros per day for 2 (the hotel does offer a discount but you have to walk quite a bit to a stretch outside one of their sister hotels, it was simply too far to make it worthwhile.

We were half board so only ate lunch so very little to rate but I must mention Mister Noodles, just down from the bus station on the right heading towards the sea front – excellent Thai noodle dishes and great value, ate there about 5 times for lunch

Hotel spa is well equipped and you get free use of a very small pool and large jacuzzi, for 10 euros you can use the sauna and steam room - should be included in my opinion

Hotel wi-fi was decent in public areas but frustratingly slow in room
Good to see air-con and safe being included (one of my per hates is being charged for them)

Room Tip: High floor with sea view is pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,471 reviews
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,328 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
1.2 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Spa

Address: C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: £68 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florida Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuengirola’s New Hotel Florida Spa is located beside the port, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This state-of-the-art, four-star facility offers 184 rooms, all of which are complete with air-conditioning, heating, a fridge/minibar, satellite TV, Music Channels, and pay-for-view films. Along with the expected accoutrements of a telephone, a hair-dryer, and tea and coffee facilities, each room at the New Hotel Florida Spa also offers its own safe so you can enjoy the fun of the Costa del Sol with complete peace of mind while you leave your valuables behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Florida Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Fuengirola
Florida Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing