We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of Florida Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Florida Spa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Just back from here after two week stay, hotel we'll situated near the front and the room we had 1220 had good views over the marina, food was good with plenty of choice. Reception staff were very helpful especially Sergio who we had a good laugh with, dining room and bar staff all very friendly. Only complaint I had was with the cleaners who did our room but this was quickly sorted out. Room was a decent size with double bed, free safe and fridge in room also kettle for tea or coffee which is supplied by the hotel. Kim the rep was good and any problems were noted and sorted. Location very good near the front for shops and restaurants, nice and flat for easy walking.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks a lot for your feedback and for choosing the Florida Spa as your holiday hotel. We are happy to hear you liked our hotel and found our staff friendly and nice. We love to see guests coming back so we hope you pay us another visit in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    482
    122
    25
    13
See reviews for
187
928
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cymru
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed, with Thomson, for a week in mid-October. I'm sure, for many people staying here the experience is pleasurable. The positive is its excellent location, good food and sometimes helpful staff. Our stay was marred by two events. Having read Tripadvisor reviews about the noise problem in rooms on the lower floors we emailed a request for a room on higher floor, the 11th being ideal. We received a reply saying our request had been noted.

On arrival we were allocated a room on the first floor. We referred to our emailed request, of which there was apparently no record but were told that there was the possibility of changing rooms the following day. The wc in our bathroom had the usual 'disinfected' sash across it though the toilet needed to be flushed and there were drips on the seat. The bin was overflowing.

Worse was to come. On returning to the room after dinner the noise from the bar was deafening. We had been awake since 3.00am that day and were desperate to sleep. There was no hope of that until the music ended at about 11.30pm. We were given a quiet, clean room the following morning on a higher floor.

The day before we were due to leave my dressing gown disappeared from our room. We reported this to reception who thought it had probably been picked up with the laundry and would speak to housekeeping. ( The bed linen is white, the gown is dark green.) We also spoke to the Thomson rep who said, "Leave it with me." As we were leaving soon she told us that if the gown was found they could have it delivered to us, at our expense.

We spoke to reception and the rep before leaving but neither brought up the subject of the gown. Reception had no record of the loss. The worst thing about this is the attitude of the staff involved. We got the impression that missing clothes is a common event and that the responsibility lies with the guest. There has not been one word of apology form the hotel, just a shrug. We have been home a week now and if we hear from the hotel or the rep we will update our review.

In spite of this we did enjoy our stay and would consider going back but only if we were guaranteed a high floor!

Room Tip: For a peaceful night a high floor is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CymroCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Antrim
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

As we had been to this hotel several times we knew what to expect. After a gap of over four years we were pleased that high standards had been maintained. The receptionists were welcoming and check in was smooth. The hotel has twelve floors each with sixteen rooms. Eight directly face the sea and get morning sun whilst the eight on the pool side have a view of both the sea and the mountains and get afternoon sun. In 2014 Thomsons are imposing an extra per night charge for both room locations. I fail to understand where those who don't pay the extra charge will be allocated rooms. Perhaps on the roof!

Rooms are well furnished with free safe, fridge and wifi. The wifi was good in our room on the 9th floor. The flat screen TV had BBC1, ITV and other English channels. Perhaps the corridor carpets could be replaced as though kept clean are looking a bit worn and tired.

Maria runs the restaurant in her usual friendly and efficient manner. The food was very good. There was a good choice for breakfast with porridge available every morning. Dinner was equally good with plenty of choice and variety of both meat and fish dishes. The restaurant staff were friendly and attentive.

The swimming pool is small as one would expect in an hotel close to the centre of town. One noted a few sad people who queued for the pool to open so that they could perform their morning towel placing ritual.

It should be noted that during our stays at this hotel it was clear that the majority of customers were of retirement age. The evening entertainment reflected this.

Natasha, the Thompson Rep, gave a clear and informative presentation.

This is a very good hotel which I would recommend highly.

However, in postscript, I must add that the airport transfer on 29th May was a shambles and did Thomsons no credit. No reps were present to check people on to the coaches and confusion reigned. However, well done Florida Hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view morning sun. Pool view afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traintraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for coming back to Hotel Florida Spa and for rating us so highly. We really appreciate your comments and are happy to hear our hotel reached your expectations. We are pleased to know you overall enjoyed your stay with us so we hope to see you back at the Florida sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights - The best thing about this is Location - close to everything -
We only had breakfast and it was ok - Entertainment at night was fine. Most of the staff were efficient and pleasant - check in good.

The hotel is a bit tired - well worn.
There is a lot of road works taking place at this time in fuengirola which is not nice to look at and there was a lot of noice from the machines. We had a look at the Yaramar Hotel - the pool at this hotel was much better but not as good a location.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor and pay extra for the corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mairebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here in early September. On arrival we were quickly checked in and allocated an 11th floor room which I was very happy with as had seen reviews on here which recommended being on a high floor. We had a room that overlooked the pool but you could also see the marina.
Once unpacked we headed down to the pool where there was plenty sun loungers available this was about 1pm. The pool is very small but as we don’t usually do much swimming it was fine for us when we needed to cool down.
We were half board and would say the food was always very nice with plenty choice to suit any fussy eater and I am quiet fussy.
There are a few happy hours in the hotel throughout the day. I would like to give a special mention to Antonio and all the Bar staff great service and entertainment from them all.
The hotel is in a good location for all the bars and also restaurants. If you are looking to eat out fish alley is the place to go where there are lots of restaurants whatever you want I am sure you would find it here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamck129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thanks for writing such a nice review and rating us so high. Your words are very flattering and we are very pleased to know you had a fantastic stay at Hotel Florida Spa. We really appreciate your kind comments about our bar staff and we will pass them onto Antonio and his team. We hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fahan, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel is ideal for couples and has the best food on the menus. The rooms are comfortable and the staff are so helpful. The train station is very close and the bus service is a short walk away. Plenty of shops and resturants close by and the beach is very clean,the sun is always shining.

Room Tip: one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your review and the high rating. We really appreciate your kind comment regarding our staff and hope you choose us again as your holiday hotel soon as it would be fantastic to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

In agreement with an earlier review ... I believe that this hotel has been adorned with one too many stars. When booked, this hotel was listed on Trip Advisor as one out of thirty-six hotels in Fuengirola ... upon our return it still is ... and therefore can only wonder what’s in store for guests/clients at the other hotels in this resort?
I don’t think that the rating problem lies entirely with this hotel but with the rating system for Spain. This was our sixth visit to Spain (... all different resorts) and we find that a four star in Spain equates to a three star anywhere else (... from the various places we’ve visited so far).

For our two week stay we had a double room on the top/twelfth floor overlooking the nice harbour and coast-line. The room was adorned with the usual fitments ... mirrored wardrobes, dressing table, bedside cabinets (... starting to show signs of wear) ... with safe, fridge (... kettle) air-con and Wi-Fi all free to use. No bath in the large en-suite ... just a large shower. The rooms were cleaned etc on a daily basis.

There appeared to be an infestation of ants??? ... on the twelfth floor!!!

We were there on half board basis. The food was okay (... good choice, hot and cooked well) ... but maybe not quite to four star standards (... with last year’s four star holiday/hotel in mind). The entertainment afterwards was for the older clientele ... we never bothered with it.

After reading a number of reviews before we left, we were expecting the pool to be small ... I can confirm that it is indeed very small ... situated on the third floor above the restaurant (... thus with no grass/shrubs/trees/greenery etc.). Reviews also stated that there are not enough sun loungers but with the twelve floors of hotel accommodation towering over one side of the pool and apartment blocks looming to the other three sides ... it took a little while for the sun to reach the pool/wind tunnel and if/when the lift stopped on that floor there always seemed to be a few empty chairs?

We used the spa a couple of times ... pool and jacuzzi were free to use. Additional charges were incurred for the use of the sauna etc.

Public transport appears to be cheap. We took the train to Benalmadena (... station’s approx fifteen minutes walk from the hotel). Enjoyed our visit to Benalmadena, along with the trips arranged through the rep to Gibraltar and Morocco.

Fuengirola appears to be a little run down in places with boarded up shops and graffiti ... the beach also appears to be soiled in places by too much discarded litter. There are plenty of loungers on the beaches @ approx 4.50 euros each (... or 5 euros for two loungers outside the sister hotel The Yaramar).

Overall we had a good holiday. The hotel was a in a good location within the town ... close to shops, restaurants, pubs and opposite the beach. Although in our opinion the hotel wasn’t quite four star calibre (... or Thompson’s Platinum) ... it was nevertheless a good hotel and would return for another visit/stay (... with no high expectations, just of three star standard).

The hotel could possibly benefit by being spruced up, a little decorating, replacing missing tiles both in the pool and spa area, replacing some of the worn furniture in the rooms, fixing the air conditioning system in the main hotel restaurant (... the latter sandwiched between the spa on the floor below and the pool on its roof above ... a possible contribution to the overheating?).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LellynIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.6 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Spa

Property: Florida Spa
Address: C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Florida Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuengirola’s New Hotel Florida Spa is located beside the port, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This state-of-the-art, four-star facility offers 184 rooms, all of which are complete with air-conditioning, heating, a fridge/minibar, satellite TV, Music Channels, and pay-for-view films. Along with the expected accoutrements of a telephone, a hair-dryer, and tea and coffee facilities, each room at the New Hotel Florida Spa also offers its own safe so you can enjoy the fun of the Costa del Sol with complete peace of mind while you leave your valuables behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Florida Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Fuengirola
Florida Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing