We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the sun”
Review of Florida Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Florida Spa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun in the sun”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A friend and I had to go to the US consulate in Fuengirola and decided to make a weekend of it and stayed at Florida Spa. It was fantastic! Yes, we were the youngest by 30 years but we really enjoyed it and made some friends. The breakfast was delicious with so many options that I personally went a little crazy because I am so tired of eating tostadas. The spa was small but clean and I got a great 30 minute massage. The weather was wonderful, some great restaurants and bars near by, and we had views of the sea from our room. Our favorite part was the bar at the hotel. They had a cocktail of the day and then games or music in the evening which was a blast! Now, if you want an authentic Spanish experience do no come near Fuengirola!! We had no need to speak Spanish anywhere and everyone around us was for the most part British and the area caters to this. Some things that bothered me were that there were some unfriendly people working at the front desk. And we woke up one morning to the toilets not flushing in the building which isn´t a horrible thing because it only lasted an hour in the early morning....but at the same time I like my toilet in working order. Also we ordered room service one night and it wasn´t very good. But overall, I would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antxiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thanks a lot for staying at Hotel Florida Spa and for your feedback. We are glad to hear overall you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We take note of your comments regarding the front desk, the room service and the flushing issue. Please accept our apologies. We do hope you return to the Florida soon and this time you have a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    500
    129
    26
    14
See reviews for
201
968
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

recently stayed at the florida spa with my wife and two friends.we were returning to this hotel after having a great holiday there last year.On arrival at the hotel the first thing that amazed us was that the man on reception , Maria in the dining room and a couple of the waitresses remembered us from last year.Everything about the hotel from the food to the evening entertainment was first class - so much so that guests staying at the two sister hotels nearby regularly visited the Florida for the entertainment.Natasha., the resident Thomson rep was very helpful and knowledgeable and it was obvious she thoroughly enjoyed her job.I would definitely recommend this hotel especially for the more mature clientelle.,as the hotel is ideally situated on the flat and close to the town centre and the beach.

Room Tip: room on higher floors have better view.Sea view preferable and upgrade to premier room if you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffllanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks a lot for your review and for choosing Hotel Florida Spa once again as your holiday retreat on Costa del Sol. We are very pleased to hear your second stay at the Florida did reach your expectations and that you had a great time. It would be great to see you back so we hope you pay us another visit some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have just returned from a nine day stay. We decided on a Tuesday we would like a short break away and we flew on Saturday. We decided on Florida Spa because of the reviews and our faith was rewarded. We were welcomed warmly at reception, our room was very comfortable, breakfast and evening meals were consistently good, easy wifi, and the staff especially in the bar in the evenings were a delight to watch engage with guests and offer service with a smile. Whether this is due to staff training or down to personality of the individual staff, it certainly makes a difference in guests' perceptions of a hotel as a whole. The hotel has an excellent spa which we were suprised was never that busy. We used the pools regularly and I had two massages which, I have to say, were a real treat. The masseuse was professional and a real benefit to the hotel facilities. Certainly I will return and recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveL427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for rating Hotel Florida Spa so highly and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users. We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic time with us and we really appreciate your kind comments about our hard working staff. We hope you visit us again some time soon after this very positive first experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Location, location, location, is a starting point but you need to back that up with all the other qualities which make your stay memorable. On each time I've visited this hotel I've always been impressed with the friendly staff, warm welcome, first class service, spotlessly clean facilties etc. Free wi-fi. Excellent views. Fantastic food. Not far to train and bus stations, fish alley, the square, new port and other attractions. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ONCE AGAIN.

Room Tip: Sea facing view recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GolfbloggerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thanks a lot for visiting Hotel Florida Spa once again and for writing a review here on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to read we did not disappoint! We love seeing friendly familiar faces coming back, so we hope to see yours again some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I have just returned from five days at the Florida Spa, hoping for a relaxing break after a busy Christmas and New Year, we were not disappointed.The staff on reception were very welcoming and our bag was carried to our room on the tenth floor by a very pleasant young man.The view from our balcony was spectacular, we could see the marina and beach to the right and to the left we had a view of the resort and in the distance the snow capped mountains. We sat on the balcony and enjoyed the warm sun.
The bathroom was large with a superb walk in shower, very modern basin and good quality hair drier and of course a toilet.
We stayed bed and breakfast and the buffet breakfast supplied everything that was required. The staff in the dining room were marvelous always friendly and very helpful to the clients who needed a little extra help.
The pool bar area was great, the drinks were very reasonably priced and at this time of year there were plenty of sun beds and seats for everyone.
The entertainment was excellent and Alex does a wonderful job during the day and into the evening. The bar staff in the lounge were hard working and extremely pleasant. There was always a smile with the service.
The spa is well worth a visit with the pools and steam room.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Florida and will be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking marina get sun early in the day in january higher floors the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RAYODEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thanks a lot for choosing to stay at Hotel Florida Spa and for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor users. It fills us with joy to hear you had a lovely time and you managed to have a relaxing break. We really appreciate your kind comments about our staff and we hope to see you returning some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights over the New Year holiday the prime reason being to meet with friends to celebrate at their apartment area.
The hotel is very welcoming with excellent reception facilities. We were on a bed & breakfast basis and the buffet breakfast choices were excellent with enough variety to please anyone's taste.
Our room was quite spacious and had a lovely view over the harbour/beach - great sunrises. Everything clean and tidy. Bed a little hard for my personal liking but just one of those things. Rooms could be noisy having thin walls - depends on neighbours. Our room (918) was fine.
Cannot comment on spa facilities - forgot to bring the swim wear and we were out a lot with friends; likewise the entertainment was missed but other customers seemed to enjoy it. One couple we met returned to this hotel every New Year for the past 12 years - that's commitment! I like a change of scenery personally.
Good mix of English and Spanish clientele.
There is an underground hotel car park available for €8 per day. Leave the car there and take local transport to Malaga by train or Marbella by bus.
Free WiFi works well in the rooms.
If time permits, do not miss Fuengirola zoo -or bio-park as it is called here. It is brilliantly laid out and animals have huge open spaces and are obviously very well cared for. Allow three hours minimum.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Most rooms have balconies with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacko48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thanks a lot for staying at Hotel Florida Spa during your recent visit to Fuengirola and for rating us so highly. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your 4 day stay with us and you made the most of your time on Costa del Sol. We hope you pay us another visit in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Went to Florida over Xmas period with my husband and mother and we had a wonderful time.
We have been to The Angela and The Yaramar several times but the Florida is, in my opinion, the superior hotel. Went to the Florida about six years ago and it was good then but now it is considerably better.
All staff are friendly, prompt and efficient without being overly sugary with the older clientele. The rooms are large enough, clean and airy with plenty storage, mini fridge and safe. There is a kettle, coffee (if you are a coffee buff I suggest you take your own...............I did), tea bags ( as per coffee), sugar, tiny sterilised milk and small cups, ( I suggest you take your own cup if you like a mug, especially in the morning). If you prefer fresh semi-skimmed milk you can buy some from the supermarket to the right of the hotel, at the entrance to the hotel turn right, cross a narrow road and the supermarket is on the corner, also if you are partial to a cake there is a lovely cake shop opposite the supermarket.
The food in the hotel is very good, breakfast is the same as most hotels, eggs, toast, beans, tomatoes, the range of breads is very good for those who want a change from standard sliced bread. There is an impressive array of fruits in the morning and evening and I have to say the apples, in particular, are the best I have tasted. The dinner menu was varied, a main roast each day, chicken, beef, duck, oxen and pork ( which we dont eat!!!!), if you didnt like the main roast there were other meat, fish and veggie options and an impressive salad bar. The soups were hit and miss but the ones we tasted were quite good.
Service in the dining room was efficient and friendly, the chefs came regularly to re-fill and check for spillage.
The people staying at the hotel were predominately over 50 but there were some younger people and teenagers, I saw only one couple with a baby who was a little gem. Although it is a positive step to have a varied age range I am not sure that the hotel is appropriate for older children as there does not appear to be any facilities to keep them occupied.
I am unable to comment on the Xmas Gala dinner as we decided to have a meal out, our reason for this as I have already said, we dont eat pork and did not want to make a fuss in the event that pork was on the menu.
We enjoyed the hotel very much, much better than the Yaramar and Angela, for some reason the atmosphere was friendlier and lighter which to a large extent is down to the clientele but the staff take a lead in creating a good atmosphere.
I cant comment on the entertainment as I prefer to read in the room but I did hear the music and saw people up dancing, they seemed to be having a good time or is this down to "happy hour!!!!"
If I have to pick just one negative, more of an irritant really, it would have to be the constant music in the corridors, which at Xmas time was carols on a loop!!!!!!
The situation of the hotel is central to buses, trains, the marina is over the road and in season you can get a ferry to Benelmadena. The promanade is flat for waliking and there are many shops to potter around, if you so wish.
We will return and highly recommend th Florida it deserves its number 1 status.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank loveholidays010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thanks a lot for giving Hotel Florida Spa such a high mark and for your well detailed review. We are delighted to hear you really like our hotel and had a nice stay over Christmas. You shouldn't have worried about the Christmas Gala Dinner as our main dishes were sole and turkey. If next time you spend Christmas with us and are in doubt do not hesitate to ask or check our Facebook page as we tend to publish our menu on there too. Regarding music in the corridors we do take note of your comment. It would be a real pleasure to us to welcome you back, so we hope you visit us again some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
991 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Consistorial
Hotel Casa Consistorial
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Spa

Property: Florida Spa
Address: C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Florida Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuengirola’s New Hotel Florida Spa is located beside the port, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This state-of-the-art, four-star facility offers 184 rooms, all of which are complete with air-conditioning, heating, a fridge/minibar, satellite TV, Music Channels, and pay-for-view films. Along with the expected accoutrements of a telephone, a hair-dryer, and tea and coffee facilities, each room at the New Hotel Florida Spa also offers its own safe so you can enjoy the fun of the Costa del Sol with complete peace of mind while you leave your valuables behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Florida Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Fuengirola
Florida Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing