We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a four star!”
Review of Florida Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Florida Spa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I were looking forward to staying here due to the great reviews. We left for home nine days later feeling very disappointed.
We are not fussy eaters but the food has to be the worst we have ever had. The breakfast had the usual variety of cereals, cold meats, fruits etc. but the cooked English was mainly cold with the bacon burnt to a crisp. The dinner was not much better. The meats were indelible and mashed potato required a spoon! The vegetables were mushy and over cooked. The only plus was the dessert menu which was very nice.
We had a very quiet 11th floor room overlooking the sea (apart from being woken up every morning with piped music in the corridors!) I thought the beds were ok but my husband found them very uncomfortable and didn't have a single good nights sleep. One of the main gripes from ourselves and other people staying was the condition of the the bathroom towels. They are so thin it was difficult to get dry!
I have to say however that the staff were excellent. Very friendly and helpful.
The entertainment is very geared for the older generation, definitely not a family hotel. The pool is very small with a limited amount of sun beds.
We won't be going back to the Florida Spa.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank necter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Florida Spa and for letting us know your opinion. We take good note of all your comments and we thank you for your kind words about our staff. We are very sorry to hear we did not reach your expectations and you are not planning to come back. It was a pleasure to us to have you as guests and we really appreciate the trust you had in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was our third holiday at Florida Spa in May, having had two in November and as always the hotel, it's staff did not disappoint. Maria and her team, Antonia and his bar staff, Eve our domestic lady on the 11th floor and the young energetic team at reception all go out of their way to make your holiday at this excellent hotel good in every way.

We were blessed with super weather and Fuengirola offers so much for the holiday maker. The hotel is so central to everything and for less mobile guests, once on the promenade, which is just a short walk away, it is entirely flat for ease of walking and good exercise. We will be returning. Thank you again Florida staff for a lovely early summer holiday.

Room Tip: High floor on front or side give you views - front sun in the morning - side sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thanks a lot for returning to Hotel Florida Spa and for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and are very happy to hear this third visit was as good as the previous. We hope the fourth comes very soon as it would be a real pleasure to have you with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed in the Florida Spa hotel with my Mother for a week in the middle of May this year.

I am going to start with the positives, the staff are very friendly and very efficient, and there is free WiFi (which as far as I can say is a must in any hotel which calls itself a 4* hotel.

But this is not a 4* hotel, it can call itself a 4* all it likes but it isn't.

The pool area is very small, surrounded by buildings and with only a sliver of a view of the sea. The area is very dated and the loungers are uncomfortable and some of them are covered in cigarette burns. Also on one of the days there there were no towels available making the whole experience also very unsanitary.

The bedrooms are nice, big balcony, but there is no lock on the balcony door so this is not suitable for small children, also there is no mini-bar and when I asked for mine to be stocked I was told it would be better if I just ordered the drinks from the bar. When I ordered the drinks from the bar I was told that it was hotel policy to charge them to the room and the waiter wouldn't take cash. Annoying.

The corridors are piped through with the most annoying piped music, it is just terrible, too loud and woke me up on a couple of mornings.

The food is was very disappointing. There is a buffet in the evening of dried out luke warm fish and inedible meats, cold veg and what looked and tasted like package potatoes. One night we got lovely salmon for the most it was a mission to find the least dried out looking piece of fish for dinner.

The bar area and the entertainment in the evenings is very dated and while this hotel definitely aims itself at the more mature holiday maker, there is no excuse for the cheesy 70s and 80s tuneless fiasco we were faced with each night.

Again this is not a 4* hotel, it is very disappointing and certainly not suitable for couples travelling under the age of 65, families with small children or solo travelers. Or basically anyone who wants to stay in a 4* hotel.

Sorry Florida Spa, your staff are lovely, but you are just not up to scratch.

Room Tip: The higher the better and ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unaontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for staying at Hotel Florida Spa and for letting us know your opinion about our establishment. We are very sorry to hear we did not reach your expectations. We are very grateful for the trust you had in us though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

@We arrived at the hotel early afternoon, reception staff were very welcoming and our bags were whisked away by the porters, we were given rooms on the top floor, a clean room with comfortable beds everything you could require, hairdryer, fridge, safe plenty of hanging space and draws, flat screen TV, table and chair, balcony with two chairs and a table. In the bathroom toilet large shower, even a retractable clothes line in the shower your washed items would dry over night in there. The staff were very helpful, friendly. We had rooms 1208, 1210 next door to each other, three lifts that were very good and did not keep you waiting to long. The dining room was on floor E again the waiting staff etc were very good. You could always find something to eat there was a very good selection every day. The pool must get packed in the height of the summer it is only a small one and not very deep plenty of sun beds and sun shades a very good snack pool bar with very reasonable prices and great food. Standard entertainment in the evening singers mainly, the highlight was the Flamenco show three ladies and a man, very good show. The lounge area was very large plenty of sofas chairs, a dance area 2 bars, there is also a TV room in the Nelson bar on floor E, a very good spar on minus 1 Thompson guests are allowed to use at no extra charge I believe. We all enjoyed our stay at the Florida Spa. Thank you one and all.

Room Tip: The only complaint is the pillows are very hard if they changed to better quality pillows it would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pip207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for staying at Hotel Florida Spa and for writing a review here on Trip Advisor. We are delighted with the high rating and the beautiful comments we received from you. It is very rewarding to know you had an enjoyable time and a great holiday with us at the Florida. We hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed at the Florida last week( early to mid May). Enjoyed a relaxing peaceful holiday at the Florida. Emailed for a high room getting sun in the afternoon and they complied with my wishes.We were allocated room 1202 which is situated on the top floor(you need a head for heights!)at the rear of the hotel on the Western side overlooking the pool,and to the left the Med and marina and the promenade. To the North(the right hand side of our balcony) there was a far reaching view over the town and up to the mountains and Mijas. We had paid for a superior room and it was well worth the extra. The spacious room was very well supplied with free tea and coffee everyday,extensive range of bathroom cosmetics replenished everyday,free wi-fi,free safe, free fridge, hair dryer,white robes and slippers all supplied. Ample storage and good quality furniture on the ample balcony. The bathroom had bath with shower,plus a large walk in shower(which unfortunately seemed to have a mind of it's own when temperatures were selected,it would suddenly become scalding or ice cold-my only gripe). Everywhere was kept extremely clean.At all times the staff were smiling and welcoming. The reception staff were very helpful and cheery. The food was fine,and if you are on a diet ,forget it. There is a massive selection of hot and cold food on offer to sample and enjoy.All manner of meats and fish and extensive offering of salads and sauces and pickles. My wife and I had no problems with any of it and very surprised at some reviews regarding the quality. It's location is ideal being close to the main promenade and the train and bus stations. The evening entertainment was of reasonable quality and the performers ranged from singers,musicians,and dancers. There were no day time activities which gave the hotel it's relaxed atmosphere where during the day one could lay back in quiet relaxation by the pool soaking up the sun or reading your book. The bars had a good stock of drinks and snacks and the prices were very reasonable for the grade of hotel. Our fellow residents were of the senior age group and if you are looking for the younger lively set this hotel is not for you.
We were staying on a half board basis because we like doing our own thing we spend our days exploring the town and it's environs all day long and the hotel is well placed for access to the very reasonably priced trains and buses.On the train all the resorts along the coast can be reached ending at Malaga in 40 mins on the train. A marvellous city to explore. Mijas is a short bus ride up in the hills and from there some very pleasant walks can be had through the woods with fantastic views along the coast even to Gibraltar and on clear days to North Africa.
We have visited the Spain and the costa del sol many times and stayed in many hotels and we can confidently say that the Hotel Florida fully deserves it's number one position in Fuengirola on Trip Advisor. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable experience and I heartily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High room, sunny side, superior worth extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BUCEPHALES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thanks a lot for choosing to spend your holiday at Hotel Florida Spa, for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor and for your beautiful and well detailed review. We are delighted to hear you liked the hotel so much and you really enjoyed your time with us. We are very grateful for all the praise received from you and would love to see you back at the Florida Spa some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

wife and i had 3 night stay,room only, just before easter, great staff,very clean room, this is a perfect location for every thing in fuengarola, la cepa beach 2mins walk is great. find salamanca resturant for fantastic lunch,find moochers for steak in evening. tip..9th floor room superier is what you want. 2nd visit in year. the hotel is more for older people dont let that put you off.

Room Tip: 9th floor superia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IANBARKER_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your review and for your recent visit to Hotel Florida Spa. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of the hotel and resort. It would be fantastic to see you back at the Florida so we hope your next holiday here comes very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Visited Fuengirola 29/4 to 6/5/14 and stayed at the Florida Spa Hotel. The hotel and staff are good especially the bar staff who joined in the nightly entertainment. It was let down by the food quality which was poor. Food was either under cooked or overcooked. The variety was good. This resort is for the self caterers plenty of restaurants very few bars not a lot of entertainment. Will not be going again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for staying at Hotel Florida Spa. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy our food and therefore you are not planning to come back. We do take note of your comments. It was a pleasure to have you as guest and we really appreciate the trust you placed in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.6 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,492 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,078 reviews
1.2 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,049 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Spa

Address: C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: £66 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florida Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuengirola’s New Hotel Florida Spa is located beside the port, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This state-of-the-art, four-star facility offers 184 rooms, all of which are complete with air-conditioning, heating, a fridge/minibar, satellite TV, Music Channels, and pay-for-view films. Along with the expected accoutrements of a telephone, a hair-dryer, and tea and coffee facilities, each room at the New Hotel Florida Spa also offers its own safe so you can enjoy the fun of the Costa del Sol with complete peace of mind while you leave your valuables behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Florida Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Fuengirola
Florida Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing