We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POT Int.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cortijo Las Salinas
Ranked #1 of 8 Jaen B&B and Inns
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“POT Int.”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Set in idyllic olive groves, Cortijo Las Salinas this is the perfect retreat for those wishing to recharge their batteries and get away from the city life.
With perfect hosts Steffi & Steve went out of their way to make our stay a long lasting experience.
Great company, exceptional food, wonderful entertainment and long lasting memories, it won't be my last visit.

Simon
Windsor

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
8
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Having found the website I contacted Steve & Steffi to ask if they would run a cookery experience for myself and 4 other friends. Steve took over, sending me sample recipies and ideas which we agreed before departing. On arrival we were greeted with chilled glasses of Tinto and following a tour of this fabulous location were were soon up to our elbows in flour, making rosemary and garlic bread in the outdoor olive wood oven ahead of dinner. Dinner on our first night was to be local delicacy, suckling pig slow cooked with local vegetables and a cheesboard from local farmers which must have been from the gods! Steve was the perfect host and teacher. Attentive and calm whilst ensurung that at whatever level of experienceyou felt involved. He provided the perfect balance between relaxation and fun, all brought about by our efforts to prepare and cook some fantastic food. Monkfish with saffron and capers, creme catalan seared by a blowtorch to create the perfect toffee crunch and wild artichokes, garlic, peppers and asparagus, browned on the "plancha" (hot plate) drizzled in olive oil and sea salt presenting the perfect accompanyment to an early evening gin & tonic. Everytime we got together to cook Steve had menu directions for us to keep and together we cooked, laughed and enjoyed. With new guests arriving for artists classes we were under pressure to deliver and produced Paella for 15 which everyone loved. On our last night we prepared what must have been 100 toppings for our Pizza evening. Everyone got to choose their own toppings and orchestrated by Steve & Steffi, we "paddled" perfect thin and crispy pizzas into and out of the outdoor oven. The time went so quickly and we were very sad to leave. No matter what your level of experience you would love a cookery experience at Las Salinas. We will return and can't wait to try even more recipies from the "master". Many thanks to Steve & Steffi - a perfect experience delivered by perfect hosts.

Room Tip: Steffi allocated the 5 of us an "apartment" which had 4 rooms, 2 bathrooms and a kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I went with a group of friends on an art course as Steffi is a great art teacher and artist. We had the best hospitality and met some other interesting fun people while we were there. The Cortijo is rustic and very spanish in appearance, so relaxing and calming set among the olive groves with beautiful views. The rooms are lovely and comfortable and clean with fresh towels and it is a lovely spanish experience. You can cater for yourself or do as we did and had the food prepared for us. Steven is a great cook and the other staff are so obliging. Close to Granada and Cordoba and also smaller towns with markets and historic buildings a fab place for art, touring or just chillin. They can cater for large parties or a group of friends or one couple nothing is too much trouble i seems I am going next time to do some health and yoga...

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite unique it would be difficult to choose best to contact them with your requir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imelda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisons-Alfort, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

A very nice and quiet place in the middle of the olive trees, at the end of a two kilometres track. Steffi and Steven made from this old cortijo a wonderful place to spend holidays, when you're looking for a place to go with friends and family. Very discrete hosts but always present when you need them, they ensured perfectly our daily well-being during our stay.
Last but not least, the pizza-party was very much appreciated, even by the kids or by the parents.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were looking for a large villa in Spain not on the coast and away from the British crowds. My sister, two friends and our families were looking for a self catering place that could cope with a total of 22 people. I had the unfortunate responsibility of choosing our holiday location. I searched hundreds of websites and found Cortijo Las Salinas on www.andalucianoasis.com. It looked perfect, but was not sure about booking directly with the owners after all the publicity about the scams featured in the newspapers. The photos on the website looked perfect and I became confident having spoken to Steffi, and seeing their Owner Verified badge on the website
When we arrived it was breath-taking, Cortijo Las Salinas is magical and everything we had hoped for. It really is a rare gem being one of very few Cortijos of this standard in the Granada/Cordoba area. It is situated in a wonderful location with stunning views over the mountains and olive groves. Retaining all of its original charm, it truly is an Andalucian Oasis! Its secluded location makes it possible to fully escape the crowds at this relaxing and tranquil retreat whilst still being able to enjoy a home made night life with no restrictions on noise, as there really is no one to disturb. There are MP3 connection points everywhere so make sure you pack your own music. Even with 22 of us, we didn’t feel on top of each other. There are many beautiful places to be secluded and private. I really can’t recommended Cortijo Las Salinas highly enough and we will certainly be back.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cahors, France
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed her for 10 days in march this year--what an amazing situation. Steve & Steffi proved to be the perfect hosts --looking after us and yet giving us space.
Set among the olive trees ,with beautiful walks all around --wild orchids --peaceful and enchanting. Las Salinas is both stylish and comfortable-- and with Granada and Cordoba within an easy day trip its the perfect place for a gathering of friends ,family reunion or special celebration. A real gem in the Andulusian hills.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHENP325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Wow! What an incredible place! Paradise on earth!! We wanted to stay forever and never leave! Our large extended family stayed at Cortijo Las Salinas to celebrate a special birthday. We had the whole villa which included every facility of the cortijo.

It is located on a hill overlooking the small village of Sabariego. The whole place is extremely clean and the decoration, and architecture is stunning, everywhere has a great view of arches, clock tower, wooden gates, Sculpture garden, fountains, interesting places everywhere.

We wanted a self catering villa and our group of 20 loved every aspect of the place. It certainly has the WOW factor when you arrive. The facilities for self catering are second to non. The outside kitchen is very large with a bar, wood oven, bbq, old carved marble sink and table for 20, actually the casita is much bigger than it looks in pictures on the website, there was plenty of room for our group and the friends that joined us for the day, making 28 in all. Everything was provided, Espresso coffee machine, large catering size toaster, large drinks fridges, pool towels etc.

The pool was large and sparklingly clean, The bamboo Gazebo by the pool was great. There is an honesty bar (drink what you want and pay at the end of your stay) stocked with ice creams, beer, bubbly, wine, fruit juices etc all at cost price so it saved us having to buy, carry back and try to chill to ice cool, it was all done for us. We had intended visiting Cordoba and Granada but to be honest we just didn’t want to leave Cortijo Las Salinas. Maybe next time. The local people are wonderful and friendly and there seemed to be a fiestas happening all the time.

Steve and Steffi were amazing, being both helpful and looking after our every need while being very discrete. Steve and Steffi organised a Pizza evening where we all made our own favourite pizzas and Steve cooked them in the wood fired pizza oven. We had such fun we asked them to do it again another night. We also asked them to cook us a Paella for everyone which was a great success.

The pictures on their website and don’t do it justice, it’s one of the few places that is better than the website and publicity.

I would recommend a stay at Cortijo Las Salinas without any hesitation. It can only be described as AWESOME!!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bradley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaen hotels
47.6 mi away
Balneario San Andres
Balneario San Andres
#4 of 17 in Jaen
92 reviews
21.8 mi away
Parador de Jaen
Parador de Jaen
#1 of 17 in Jaen
838 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Infanta Cristina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hotel Condestable Iranzo
25.6 mi away
Hotel Ho Ciudad de Jaen
22.5 mi away
La Cimbarra
La Cimbarra
#3 of 11 in Jaen
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Las Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Las Salinas

Property: Cortijo Las Salinas
Address: Sabariego, Alcaudete, Alcala La Real | Alcaudete, Alcala La Real. 23685, 23685 Jaen, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Jaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cortijo Las Salinas is a unique and impressive country house for self catering rental to large groups of friends and families up to 24, centred around a large traditional courtyard set amidst ancient olive groves, with uninterrupted views over the beautiful and dramatic Spanish landscapes. You can relax by the large swimming pool, eat outside in the casita, cook using the traditional wood burning oven or indulge your creative side in the art studio. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing