We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautifully restored”

Centro Cultural Banos Arabes
Ranked #2 of 59 things to do in Jaen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
leuven
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“beautifully restored”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The baths are very beautifully restored and give a really good idea of how Arab baths used to be. There is lots of explanation available. Entrance is free for EU-citizens , you have to show an ID.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeuvenAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    122
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PhilDK2010 got it wrong!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Only the original entrance is being worked on, at present, and the remainder of the site is fully restored and in good condition. Even though we don't understand Spanish, directions to the alternative side entrance (just a few metres away - I can't imagine how Phil got lost) were obvious. Access was free and the attendant very helpful. Having recently seen the baths at the Alhambra Palace, Granada, these were in far better condition and much more interesting,

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sønderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wait until renovation is completed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I went here, as recommended by a tour book. The experience was bizarre. They are renovating the property, but the signage is so bad, we walked around several blocks before finally asking a local to direct us to the arab baths entrance. We found the entrance down a dark alleyway to the left of the building; it consisted of an unmarked single open door. After we entered, we were greeted by a nice man in uniform, who sat behind a desk and pointed the way in. We walked by a couple of employees sitting at desks who were completely engaged in conversation with each other, and in fact seemed annoyed to have to point us toward the entrance.

Once inside, we could appreciate the baths themselves. It was quite impressive, the way they were set up with three different levels of heat. However, there was something quite humorous about the dehumidifiers placed around the baths. Obviously it ruins any appearance of historic authenticity to have hardware store dehumidifiers chugging away noisily. It made it feel like I was visiting my parent's old basement. Had there been flooding? Was this just part of the renovation? Strange.

Anyway, the baths themselves are interesting, but definitely not worth seeing until the renovation is complete. It could be that we just got the wrong impression because things are in transition.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilDK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

++ Video shown prior visiting the baths is very comprehensive
+ Interesting visit, the whole site can be seen.
+ Within walkin distance (15 min. from the (old) city center)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miguel957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“tastefully restored”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Arab baths are situated underneath the Palace Villadompardo which was built over the baths they are the largest baths outside Morocco I was fascinated by the method used to excavated the baths.

I didn't like the fact that there is no parking in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank durnfordSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Centro Cultural Banos Arabes also viewed

 
Jaen, Province of Jaen
Alcala la Real, Province of Jaen
 

Been to Centro Cultural Banos Arabes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing