We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed :-)”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Jaen
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Europa is a small hotel but it is very nice and is in a great location.
Staff are friendly and some speak English which helps greatly.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable (although the glass walls in the loos are strange) but overall a very good hotel.
When I was there the parking was underground and very difficult to get into the designated space in the corner of the garage in odd maneouvres so I started parking in the car park nearby or in the street therefore I'd suggest that you don't pay for parking.
There's a nice balcony on the top floor which is described as the solarium. Its worth a visit as it is a nice sun trap and there are great views from up there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, there are a few
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clanranald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

For price/quality it’s fine. Room clean and quiet, though there was a smell of damp that you find in many old Spanish hotels. Free wi-fi was strong enough to make a video call. It’s very central and close to bus station (as Larry mentions…if you're on foot, don’t follow road signs, print out a map before/ask directions so you’re not taken around the one way system) It's about 15 mins on foot (uphill walk) from the train station or a 5€ taxi ride. Reception staff were friendly and helpful – though the surly breakfast waitress could learn to smile…it would make her job much easier. Breakfast fine, there’s even fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john32london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This isn't The Ritz, but it's not so bad.
Unlike some other travelers, I experienced friendly service from a young man who is studying at the University of Jaen full-time and working full-time, as well. His English was fair, and my Spanish is about the same, so communication was no problem with he or other hotel personnel.
Breakfast was typical and not bad; Wi-Fi worked well.
Rooms are very clean and adequate. Price is a bit high compared to value, I think, and to some other similar Jaen hotels. But the hotel was quite clean, quiet, and located minutes from the center.
There are at least 3 restaurants and a pharmacy on the Plaza de Belen, and it's a few minutes from the Avenida de Madrid, which is the main shopping street.
There's a good grocery store to the right out of the hotel and to the first left.
One tip: Ask for directions if you want to get to the hotel from the bus station, rather than following the signs. The signs will get you there, but one way has about 4 pretty rugged hills, which was unpleasant lugging a heavy suitcase.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LarryJ917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

No one was helpful or friendly when we checked in. We do not speak Spanish and English was not spoken very well. Fortunately our daughter was with us and she is fluent in Spanish. It was a warm night and we had no air conditioning in our room, during the night we lost power, my husband needs electricity for medical equipment and when we told them we were without power they did nothing to help us. When we left the room in the morning the halls were cool, but the room was still hot. WE had a very uncomfortable night and got very little sleep. When we checked out we complained again my daughter spoke to them in Spanish and after much discussion they took a very small amount off of our bill and I said it wasn't worth arguing with them anymore, but I would never stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Modern style hotel, small slightly cramped rooms, close to the town centre. Ok for a quick stay in Jaen.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hooterthebikefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

It's a budget hotel and you get what you pay for. Having said that, the rooms are adequate and the included breakfast was better than many more expensive hotels. The hotel is about to undergo renovation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thereset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It looks a bit grotty from the outside but once you get in, it's good, clean, no frills and the service is top notch. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the room (I think it was one of the posher ones), although fairly basic was comfortable and clean. It is about to have a facelift so it may actually improve further. The only downsides to the place were a lack of parking, although this can be done on the street outside if you can find a space, or in the hotel garage which costs 10 euros a night. That said, the staff warn you of the cost and make sure that you are ok about paying the high price. The other thing is that the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything that goes on in the hotel, in any room it seems so be prepared to hear the habits of your neighbours. I would stay there again if I returned to Jaen and I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fudgelumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaen hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Ho Ciudad de Jaen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condestable Iranzo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Infanta Cristina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Xauen
Hotel Xauen
#9 of 17 in Jaen
180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parador de Jaen
Parador de Jaen
#1 of 17 in Jaen
928 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Juleca
Hotel Juleca
#6 of 17 in Jaen
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Plaza Belen 1, 23003 Jaen, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Jaen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Jaen
Price Range: £52 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing