We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service and views of the Med”
Review of Rey Alfonso

Rey Alfonso
Ranked #89 of 395 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, service and views of the Med”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Quite a surprise as this restaurant is situated directly below the spectacular Balcon de Europa. Food and service were both excellent and the views were first class....

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    37
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect setting food and service”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Went to Rey Alfonso because its the best location of any restaurant in Nerja. The. Food was delicious and the waiter was very courteous and attentive we will certainly make a return visit to this very delightful restaurant

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hucysaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The setting at the end of the Balcon was superb, therefore we were surprised to see that only three tables were taken when we arrived. We were worried the experience would be poor. However, we were very wrong to think this.

The service and the meal was really well presented and cooked. For mains I had pork in honey, cream and sultana sauce, my husband had chicken in a garlic sauce. Beautifully cooked and presented. The wine was excellent, and the liquor offered at the end was a nice touch. The bill was average for an above average meal.

We really enjoyed our night out there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MacinSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhama de Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy chocolate mousse”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This restaurant needs to have a big sign upstairs on the Balcon de Europa because if you don't know it is there you would miss it. The place was completely empty at 9:00 pm on a Thursday night. In fact when we walked in it looked closed. The waiter who I imagine was the owner was really wonderful. His service was attentive without being annoying.
We had a really nice bottle of vino tinto called Murice which was recommended and was delicious. As an appetizer we had scallops. It was a very small portion but it was very good. We had read a review that someone thought the paella was the best they had in Spain. My friend wanted to try Paella while here in Spain so we had that. It was better than average but not great. I have had much better. It was a little dry and there was a lot of peeling of seafood involved.
The best part was the service, the location and the dessert.
There were reviews that commented that the decor was a bit of date but I thought it was fine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lkezmoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This must be the best location in Nerja - fantastic views over the sea, and to the mountains to the east. The food was excellent and the service attentive. We ordered the paella so we knew that it would be a 40 min wait for it to be cooked. That was fine, sitting and enjoying the view.

Considering what it has going for it, the fact that the restaurant was nearly empty was somewhat surprising. However the reason is clear - the decor is shabby and old-fashioned, and if you go down the steps and peer in you don't even see the tables laid up. Nearly all restaurants make a bit of a show of the table layout with sparkling glasses, maybe a candle or light feature, and generally make the place welcoming. It would certainly put off the casual trade to see a drab interior with no effort being made to make it attractive.

It would cost a bit to change the whole interior design, but some of the smaller things could be done cheaply and make the place much more attractive. It would be nice if someone with a bit of vision took it over and transformed it into what could be a stunning attraction for Nerja.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chanquete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rey Alfonso also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Rey Alfonso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing