We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view”
Review of Hostal Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Avalon
Ranked #1 of 32 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We drove here from Malaga, after we had stayed in Granada, Cordoba, Ronda & Malaga. Nerja was our chance for some rest and relaxation and it didn’t disappoint.

The room was a good size and spotlessly clean with a compact shower. There was a lovely sea view from the balcony. Everyone we came into contact with at the hostal was friendly and helpful. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant which was delicious, a very good varied menu and reasonably priced.

The beach is within a 5 minute walk down some stairs and there’s a restaurant/bar with sun loungers, €4 each. It's worth taking swimming shoes as the walk into the sea is over some large pebbles which can be a bit unconformtable under foot.

We walked each night to Nerja along the beach path which took us about 45 minutes, a nice stroll by the sea. Lots of restaurants/bars to choose from in Nerja.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libran_Lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
115
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic 5 night stay at the Avalon. From the moment we were met Alix and Kevin we knew we had made an excellent choice for our stay - the friendliest of welcomes was echoed by the lovely staff we met during our stay. Having known it from years back, it was wonderful to see how much the present owners have improved the facilities. The room was lovely and our balcony had stunning views over the bay towards Nerja with the backdrop of the mountains beyond. The bed was the most comfortable ever and the air conditioning wonderfully efficient - very necessary in the summer in southern Spain! The food was stunning - very imaginative and cooked and presented to perfection - such a welcome change from the usual Spanish fare!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea with the same stunning view and balcony from which to admire it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOLTON
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Recently visited the Avalon in nerja. If you want to see Nerja at night go here. Beautiful views of the mountains, beach, and Nerja. When it gets dark everything sparkles. Peaceful and tranquil set on the hillside of Punta Lara Urbanisation. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. I would definitely recommend this for a drink and something to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAZDAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Avalon for our wedding anniversary, we stayed for three nights and it was fantastic, the view from the rooms and terrace was stunning, the staff couldn't,t do enough for you from start to finish, the owners Kevin and Alix were brilliant hosts and the food was the best we have ever eaten and reasonable prices for gourmet food, this is a fantastic find and we will certainly stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight on 27th June to attend a wedding at local hotel. Despite arriving early, was able to leave bags in a safe place whilst staff sorted room. A beautiful and charming location that is very tastefully decorated and captures all of the charm of Spain. Room was clean, well equipped and spacious and the view was great, overlooking the coast. Wish I could have stayed longer, will definitely return to this place and highly recommend this venue to couples and single travellers. Great setting, great location and lovely, friendly and helpful staff. Thank You.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GREGGO1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We live about an hour from Nerja and visit occasionally, for various reasons. The restaurant at El Avalon is wonderful, with what must be the best views over the town and coast. In a place with numerous eating options, El Avalon scores the highest, in our opinion, for having gourmet food at very reasonable prices and friendly service. The home made croquetas are award-winning, apparently and now we know why. Delicious. And my husband was reduced to blissful silence by his pudding. Now we have many more reasons for visiting Nerja!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyRodgerBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We booked the Avalon for a treat for my parents as it was my Mum's 60th birthday.
As a family we have a villa on the complex Punta Lara (a few yards from the Avalon) and we often come to the Avalon for a meal.
We stayed in the family Villa but were always welcomed when we joined my parents at the Avalon.
We have eaten in the restaurant on numerous occasions and the food has always been excellent and the views make the dining experience extra special.
The service we have received has always been first class and the owners and staff now remember us on each visit which is always nice.
The stay for my parents was lovely. They had a nice room again with fantastic views.
We all met there for breakfast on a couple of occasions and they were lovely, they also organised a champagne breakfast for my mum on her actual birthday.
I would highly recommend the Avalon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,771 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#5 of 37 in Nerja
180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Avalon

Property: Hostal Avalon
Address: Lugar urbanizacion Punta Lara 22, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, family run Andalucian hotel with beautiful views. 50 Metres from the beach. All 6 spacious rooms en-suite with large private terraces with sea views, air con, free wifi and satelite TV. Rooms refurbished in January 2015. Restaurant, bar and terrace open all day, everyday. Large, free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing