We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food”
Review of Hostal Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Avalon
Ranked #1 of 33 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Kevin and Alix have done it again. Having moved from the beautiful scene of Cerro Gordo, their restaurant about Nerja is just as stunning and the there is food to match. The fish soup was melt in the mouth with a strong tomato base and the stroganoff perfect. As always the service was attentive without being overpowering and the staff knowledge and manner professional but friendly. This is a must visit restaurant for anyone who enjoys high quality food at reasonable prices.
Bridget Prentice, London

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bridgetprentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Avalon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday in Nerja area, staying at the Hostal Avalon. We booked having visited its excellent restaurant earlier in the year. As a hotel it is equally excellent. The room was lovely, spacious and had wonderful views over the sea and hills from its balcony. The service was very friendly and efficient too. The food was again fabulous and of very high quality. We can't praise this establishment and its owners enough and will definitely return.
Vince & Kathryn Wood.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This small hotel is one worth visiting. Alix and Kevin (the owners) and their staff gave us a warm, friendly welcome and excellent service throughout our five night stay. Kevin serves the most fabulous food ever and having been a chef in many parts of the world he brings the influences of many places to his menus. Serving five star food at reasonable prices whatever you choose from the menu you won't be disappointed be it a breakfast, lunch, dinner or tapas although you are just as welcome if you just want to sit on the terrace with a drink and admire the views. Alix's attention to detail is obvious in everything from furnishing the rooms, to cultivating the garden, to the way she runs the restaurant. Set on the peaceful hilllside it has stunning views from the balconies/terraces day or night. it's just 5mins from the beach and Nerja is within easy reach too. The beds are really comfortable and air conditioning much appreciated. Well worth a visit for couples and families alike.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter we had a peep in most of them and they are all good and all have the excellent...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We drove here from Malaga, after we had stayed in Granada, Cordoba, Ronda & Malaga. Nerja was our chance for some rest and relaxation and it didn’t disappoint.

The room was a good size and spotlessly clean with a compact shower. There was a lovely sea view from the balcony. Everyone we came into contact with at the hostal was friendly and helpful. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant which was delicious, a very good varied menu and reasonably priced.

The beach is within a 5 minute walk down some stairs and there’s a restaurant/bar with sun loungers, €4 each. It's worth taking swimming shoes as the walk into the sea is over some large pebbles which can be a bit unconformtable under foot.

We walked each night to Nerja along the beach path which took us about 45 minutes, a nice stroll by the sea. Lots of restaurants/bars to choose from in Nerja.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libran_Lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic 5 night stay at the Avalon. From the moment we were met Alix and Kevin we knew we had made an excellent choice for our stay - the friendliest of welcomes was echoed by the lovely staff we met during our stay. Having known it from years back, it was wonderful to see how much the present owners have improved the facilities. The room was lovely and our balcony had stunning views over the bay towards Nerja with the backdrop of the mountains beyond. The bed was the most comfortable ever and the air conditioning wonderfully efficient - very necessary in the summer in southern Spain! The food was stunning - very imaginative and cooked and presented to perfection - such a welcome change from the usual Spanish fare!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea with the same stunning view and balcony from which to admire it!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Recently visited the Avalon in nerja. If you want to see Nerja at night go here. Beautiful views of the mountains, beach, and Nerja. When it gets dark everything sparkles. Peaceful and tranquil set on the hillside of Punta Lara Urbanisation. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. I would definitely recommend this for a drink and something to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAZDAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Avalon for our wedding anniversary, we stayed for three nights and it was fantastic, the view from the rooms and terrace was stunning, the staff couldn't,t do enough for you from start to finish, the owners Kevin and Alix were brilliant hosts and the food was the best we have ever eaten and reasonable prices for gourmet food, this is a fantastic find and we will certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
336 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,820 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Avalon

Address: Lugar urbanizacion Punta Lara 22, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range: £65 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, family run Andalucian hotel with beautiful views. 50 Metres from the beach. All 6 spacious rooms en-suite with large private terraces with sea views, air con, free wifi and satelite TV. Rooms refurbished in January 2015. Restaurant, bar and terrace open all day, everyday. Large, free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing