We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel”
Review of Hostal Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Avalon
Ranked #1 of 31 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

What a find awesome location overlooking mountains and beach leading into Nerja
Alix and Kevin are doing a great job super clean rooms and a top class restaurant all at a really good price
30 min walk along beach to town centre with buses or taxi if you need them
We look forward to returning

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
112
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at El Avalon for 1 night on 21 st January, it is set in a slightly elevated position, giving spectacular views of the Sierra mountains, Nerja town and the Mediterranean sea.
Dinner was fantastic, prepared by Kevin a chef for over 30 years, starter of empanadas not to be missed, lamb shank, and finished of with home made ice cream, and washed down with lashings of the house Rose. Breakfast you can choose what you like with the homemade granola a big hit.
The 6 rooms are neatly appointed and spotlessly clean as is the kitchen and dining room, great outside terrace for summer dining, with the same spectacular view. They are closing in February to have a complete revamp. We enjoyed it as it is, so I am sure it will be great when it is refurbished.The bar is extensively stocked and open all day, with very reasonable prices.
Kevin and Alix are a charming couple and nothing is too much trouble, so whether you are planning to stay or just lunch or dinner make sure you visit the Avalon.
Dont take notice of the 2 star rating this small hostel packs a 5 star punch.We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chagill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I were recommended Avalon in April this year and we had a beautiful meal there. We were so impressed that we promised to return which we duly did so in October. On this occasion we availed of dinner on two nights, overnight accommodation on both nights and lunch and breakfast. It is reasonable to say we sampled all aspects of their food, service and accommodation.
It was truly a wonderful experience. The food is absolutely amazing which is prepared by Kevin and his staff and presented graciously by Alix and her dining room team. Sample the pork main course it is stunning.
Standards were maintained at all meals including breakfast and lunch. While they have an extensive wine list it is difficult to pass the house wine at e12 per bottle.
The views from the balcony are absolutely amazing especially at night time. The location of Punta Lara is an ideal location to escape from the bustle of Nerja town which is two kilometres away.
Thank you Kevin and Alix, we will be back next year.

Room Tip: While room are very restful they are scheduled for upgrading. All six rooms have views facing west w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had our wedding party at The Avalon, and what a perfect place to celebrate our day. The owners, Alix and Kevin, helped us with the planning in the best ways. The food was great, the service fantastic and the atmosphere made our day into a fairytale. Some of our friends and family stayed at The Avalon Hostel, and was very satisfied. We have been to Nerja several times, and we have not found a restaurant that matches the food and prices. We can recomend this to everyone who wants to celebrate their wedding in Nerja. The Avalon is also perfect for couples and families. Thank you Alix and Kevin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hostel Avalon. It has everything to make vacation or travelling a memorable experience. Easy parking, spacious and clean rooms, comfortable beds and bathrooms, beautiful views from balcony, as well as a great restaurant with tasty, healthy and reasonably priced breakfast. It is an easy 20 minute walk down the beach to Nerja town.
What made the hotel really special was the service - we were made to feel at home and at ease by owners and staff alike.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackdaw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Avalon. It is a lovely comfortable hotel with fabulous views over towards Nerja. We had a lovely clean and comfortable room with a furnished balcony. It was most comfortable with wonderul hosts and staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts and evening meals were wonderful. Food excellent and well presented. There are regular buses into Nerja from just across the road and a taxi was 7 euros, which we used to return at night. Lots of lovely walks nearby and about 30 mintues along the beach into town. Thankyou Alix and staff for making us feel so welcome and we do hope to return in the future..

Room Tip: All rooms are similar with lovely views and terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Kevin and Alix have done it again. Having moved from the beautiful scene of Cerro Gordo, their restaurant about Nerja is just as stunning and the there is food to match. The fish soup was melt in the mouth with a strong tomato base and the stroganoff perfect. As always the service was attentive without being overpowering and the staff knowledge and manner professional but friendly. This is a must visit restaurant for anyone who enjoys high quality food at reasonable prices.
Bridget Prentice, London

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgetprentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Avalon

Property: Hostal Avalon
Address: Lugar urbanizacion Punta Lara 22, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, family run Andalucian hotel with beautiful views. 50 Metres from the beach. All 6 spacious rooms en-suite with large private terraces with sea views, air con, free wifi and satelite TV. Rooms refurbished in January 2015. Restaurant, bar and terrace open all day, everyday. Large, free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing