We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and views, great value, friendly family service - top marks”
Review of Estrella del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estrella del Mar
Ranked #16 of 33 Nerja B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This simple family hotel has basic rooms (see my pics) but ticks all the right boxes - great location for the top-rated Burriana beach and town centre, amazingly good friendly service, and superb value. Its in a quiet location just up a hill from the beach, with free street parking if you have a hire car. Plenty of good restaurants in the area, and they have one in the hotel too, though we did not get to try it as it was closed for the Easter holiday. No tv in the room, but there is wifi.
Highly rated, a real gem - will happily visit again!

Room Tip: Best balcony views are rooms 201 and 202 in my estimation. If visiting by car, park in the Bellavist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Since the first time, when we just came by and stayed for a couple of nights, we've spent our Summer holidays here for fifteen years in a row. And; we're coming back! The family, the location, the price, the food and the total experience of beeing welcome and well taken care of. The hosts are eager to advice you as to walks, places to visit, what is happening in the area...
So, we are sad to leave this place, and the friendly atmosphere, even after three weeks. Perfect for a holiday; close to the beach, quiet nights, and a short walk to the center if you're in for some night-life. And; - the steep return from the beach is an excuse for the cold Mahou in front of the hostal, relaxing in the shadow.

Room Tip: When we're not there: Room 101!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Been here last year. Hotel is very clean, they are very friendly and it has a great location. Just 10 minutes walk from the beach at Burriana, which really is "the place to be". You should however take into consideration that the walk is very steep, going down is no hassle, but going up again ;-) is more of a job !
Breakfast is only a cup of coffee and a little baguette, with marmelade and butter. No problem for us as we went out for breakfast, which is very lovely if you want to eat it in a restaurant near the beach. Rooms are spotlessly clean. Very basic but all necessary things are provided and you're only there to sleep. I would really recommend this just for B&B. It's great and costs nothing for such a location. Friendly people and very Spanish feel ! Loved it !!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stay here. Why pay more for less? First off, our hosts were lovely, warm and welcoming people. Secondly, the room was VERY clean, and I'm a neat freak. The location was fantastic, the terrazzo inviting, and the price was just right. I only wished we had stayed here longer.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here for the weekend and found the room (206) to be of good size, basic, no frills, spotlessly clean, and comfy. We contacted the hostal and requested to take our dog, this was not a problem and there were no additional fees for us. The hostal is in a good location, within 5 minutes walking distance from all the main shops, bars and restaurants. We found the place very easy using tom tom and there was plenty free parking right outside the door. All rooms have a bit of a sea view, some better than others. Breakfast was not included but was available for an additions 3.50€. We ate there both mornings and enjoyed the orange juice, toasted bread roll with jam, coffee or tea and a small slice of cake. This is a family run establishment and everyone was welcoming and polite. I would definitely recommend this hostal for those who want a good, clean base for their holidays.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just returned from a fantastic week in Estrella del Mar. The service is top notch with the family and they are extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms are newly renovated and very clean. There is daily cleaning of room and nice big wardrobe. Rooms with a balcony facing the ocean's morning, where you can sit and enjoy your morning coffee. Located near the lovely beach and promenade, and 5 min. until the city with lots of restaurants and shopping. Highly recommend decent place to have it all within reach. Opportunities for trips by car or local bus. The price of Estralla del Mar is incredible for the price and breakfast is 3.5 euros. We just got home last night and miss it already and hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed for three nights in this value for money hostal chosen originally for its location close to the Burriana beach. Set in a quiet street we enjoyed peaceful nights in our more than adequate bedroom. Ours had a good shower (and a tiny tub) with a nice balcony and pleasant views. Everything was clean and well-maintained. Breakfast is ok (not the strongest coffee in Spain) and the bar serves good cold beer after a long day in the sun. The location is perfect, five minutes from the beach (a bit longer on the way back!) and an easy stroll into town for the restaurants and shopping. Good English spoken by the helpful owners. We have stayed in the Parador previously but it is not easy to get a good deal in season and I would return to the Estrella del Mar anytime.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Andalucia
Hostal Andalucia
#19 of 37 in Nerja
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,866 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playamaro
Hotel Playamaro
#27 of 37 in Nerja
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrella del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella del Mar

Address: Calle Bellavista 5, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range: £44 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Estrella del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing