We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location and very clean!!”
Review of Hotel Mena Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mena Plaza
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We have just come back from a 10 night stay at the Mena Plaza - I was apprehensive about the noise issues other reviews had pointed out but i can honestly say it was not an issue for us, the only noise we heard were people closing doors (mainly in the morning) and the odd flush of a toilet but other than that i cant imagine any hotel could have been more sound proofed! It was amazingly clean - and the cleaners were very accommodating when we weren't ready for them to come in in the morning and were happy to come back later. The breakfast was great - hot sausages, eggs and beans, a range of meats, cheese and various types of bread, cereals, yogurt, fruit, orange juice and coffee - i don't think you could want much more! There are also a few tables outside which pleased me as I like to sit out on holiday! The main plus point about this hotel was the location - perfect! Right in the centre near to restaurants and bars and burriana beach just 10-15 mins walk and all other beaches are nearer. I would definitely consider coming back!

Room Tip: front of the hotel - good size and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Green84_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2011

Myself and a friend arrived and there was a mix up with the room. They gave us a double bed instead of two single beds. My friend booked a double room but rang back hotel to confirm twin but there was a mixup. The hotel quickly resolved it and moved a bed in. The hotel was so clean and breakfast was great. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. This hotel is more a 3 or 4 star than a 2 star. Hotel is right beside the plaza and all the shops and restaurants. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank procus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

2 star hotel more like 4 star. nice room with balcony great pool on the roof with stunning views. breakfast was good.staff friendly and helpful.the hotel is in a quite square that is new but unfinised yet due to recession.its very central 50 yards to the balcon. bars cafes restaurants 100 yards to beachs also shops.and the main church.the room has a fridge for your own drinks the bar in lounge is a bit bare.but you can ask for cold beers and soft drinks .from the staff will go back again in september

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My wife and i stayed here for the weekend and found the hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was clean, high spec'd and very welcoming. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and the location is 2nd to none. The breakfast is continental as described but had hot beans, sausages and scrambled egg too. The roof top pool area was a real gem and quite provat. A safe deposit box in the room would provide some with piece of mind, but it did not bother us much. For 62 euros per night you cannot fault it!!! Unfortunately reading some of the reviews people seem able to find fault in anything, my suggestion to them is try the Hotel on the Balcon for twice the nightly rate, and then compare to see if it is twice as good. Overall a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenmore_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

A nearly new hotel in a quiet location right in the centre of Nerja. Very clean, smart and well looked after. All the staff pleasant and very helpful.
Seems to have a mix of room sizes, the first we were offered was a bit small, however we requested something bigger and were relocated to a lovely room overlooking the square at the front. Breakfast very good with lots of choice both hot and cold.
Nice roof terrace with comfortable sunbeds and small pool, though its only small it was never overcrowded, probably as the beaches are so close many guests will choose to go to those.
We had a car, though the hotel has no parking there are plenty of free places within 5-10 mins walk.
Our only problem was noise, there were some very loud guests staying at the same time who came in most nights around 3 or 4am. The night door bangs very loudly and echos through the building as does any talking in the central stair wells , as there are no soft furnishings there is nothing to cushion the sounds and there definately seems to be an issue where the design of the building in some way amplifies the sounds.
We visit Nerja regularly but would think hard about using the hotel again purely because of this issue which is a shame as in every other respect it's great.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WatfordWelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We were in Nerja for a wedding and compared to the other hotels and apartments that our friends were staying, ours was the best.

The hotel was clean, comfortable and quiet and we had an empty fridge which was vital in the hot weather and there was no extra charge for the fridge. We also had access to the roof top swimming pool.

Great location, 3 minutes walk from the church and Balcon de Europa and close to the beaches, cafes and supermarket.

The only negative was the breakfast, there was no fresh coffee or selection of fresh fruits but the breads, ham & cheeses were gorgeous.

I'd highly recommend this hotel for couples, families, or lone travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spoon333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Just back from a weeks a weeks stay in Hotel Mena Plaza. What a find great location to beach, restaurants and Balcon. Absolutely the cleanest hotel I've stayed in with the lowest star rating!! I was apprehensive before arrival given that its only a two star hotel but I honestly could not fault it. Each room has a fridge and hairdryer which I think might be a new installation going on previous reviews. We didn't get the TV remote from reception We just changed the channels manually and anyway do you really want to spend your holiday watching TV!! My only small criticism of hotel was the thin walls which was only an issue in the morning with loud guests in the hall. One other thing which had nothing to so with the hotel was guests (often fellow Irish!!) using bathroom next to pool with kids and then jumping straight into the water after their child said 'I think I've peed my pants'. Please use shower provided as instructed before stepping even your toe into the pool so that this can remain the clean hotel it is at present!!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrsmcdonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#11 of 37 in Nerja
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mena Plaza

Address: Plaza de Espana, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mena Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mena Plaza, is one of the newest building hotels in the Historic Center of Nerja. Our Hotel is located in Plaza de Espana, few meters of the famous "Balcon de Europa" and surrounded of all kinds of stablishments. Our location, rates and services, makes our hotel a place highly recommended by our guests and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing