We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, right next to the Balcon de Europa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mena Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mena Plaza
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent location, right next to the Balcon de Europa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here in May 2011, so it wasn't too hot, but after our road trip across culture-heavy Andalucia, Nerja was a fantastic chill out location. Our research showed that it was the "least tacky" of the Costa del Sol beach towns, and we found it delightful!
This hotel seemed almost brand new. It's located in a very nice looking square that is still partly under construction. But this was a minor issue, the hotel is ideally located, very central. It's literally a 3min walk to the Balcón de Europa viewpoint, a huge plaza that overlooks the gorgeous Mediterranean. The hotel is worth it for this alone.
The room we got was simple and very clean. We used the rooftop pool to just chill out. It's small but great for just soaking around and taking in the great view of the town and sea. Again, very well maintained, it looked new. We didn't get the breakfast included so can't comment on that.
Since we were so central in the town we could go out to the restaurants and bars at night and just walk home easily, the location was excellent.
I usually try to balance my reviews with positives and negatives, but this hotel hardly had any negatives. We got a really good price through Expedia and can't recommend it enough. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cuatez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    118
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
191
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Hi just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and found it to be really good.
I stayed here with my husband ,sister and brother in law and could'nt fault the hotel or resort,
we were both lucky enough to get large double rooms both facing onto the square ( unfinished but no building work going on) and mountains lovely veiw.
breakfast was good offered both hot and cold food plenty of choice and very fresh.
hotel was spotlessly clean. reception staff very help full we had a problem with our transfer company getting back to airport and receptionst was very helpfull letting us use her phone then she rang company for us then resulting in her finally getting us a taxi to catch our plane on time = EXCELLENT SERVICE.
The hotels air con is very good and needed in the hot spanish sun. pool area very well finished off astro turf on floor . pool very s mall but big enough too cool down in and always enough sun beds .
The resort of nerja is very good big choice of bars and restaurants and the amount of free tapas given in the bars is amazing. we only ate out twice as full grazing on free tapas throughout the night ( hot sausages patatas bravas, mini bacon buns, meatball, anchovioes on toasted bread goats cheese ) and i could still go on.
WE went to a flamenco show behind the hotel 36 euro a head , little dear but was in there 3 hours lovely meal paella to die for and lovely lemon and champange sorbet , the dancers were really talented but sadly a little laking in atmosphere the night we were there due to other customers ( not saying which nationality)
went to the caves as dull one day - my opinion not worth the 8 euro entrance fee,.
caught the local bus (1 euro) up to frigglliana well worth an afternoon vist great veiws and cute back streets went on tourist train (3 euros) around village.
there seems two sides to nerja old town really pretty then the beach side little more touristy and bigger hotels. I preffered the old town where this hotel is slap in the middle of , plus a small beach 5 mins walk .
I WILL RETURN TO NERJA SOMEDAY and would happily reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: front rooms best veiw. 2nd floor bigger balconies and nobody overlooks you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetsetter087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We have just come back from a 10 night stay at the Mena Plaza - I was apprehensive about the noise issues other reviews had pointed out but i can honestly say it was not an issue for us, the only noise we heard were people closing doors (mainly in the morning) and the odd flush of a toilet but other than that i cant imagine any hotel could have been more sound proofed! It was amazingly clean - and the cleaners were very accommodating when we weren't ready for them to come in in the morning and were happy to come back later. The breakfast was great - hot sausages, eggs and beans, a range of meats, cheese and various types of bread, cereals, yogurt, fruit, orange juice and coffee - i don't think you could want much more! There are also a few tables outside which pleased me as I like to sit out on holiday! The main plus point about this hotel was the location - perfect! Right in the centre near to restaurants and bars and burriana beach just 10-15 mins walk and all other beaches are nearer. I would definitely consider coming back!

Room Tip: front of the hotel - good size and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Green84_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Myself and a friend arrived and there was a mix up with the room. They gave us a double bed instead of two single beds. My friend booked a double room but rang back hotel to confirm twin but there was a mixup. The hotel quickly resolved it and moved a bed in. The hotel was so clean and breakfast was great. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. This hotel is more a 3 or 4 star than a 2 star. Hotel is right beside the plaza and all the shops and restaurants. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank procus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,101 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

2 star hotel more like 4 star. nice room with balcony great pool on the roof with stunning views. breakfast was good.staff friendly and helpful.the hotel is in a quite square that is new but unfinised yet due to recession.its very central 50 yards to the balcon. bars cafes restaurants 100 yards to beachs also shops.and the main church.the room has a fridge for your own drinks the bar in lounge is a bit bare.but you can ask for cold beers and soft drinks .from the staff will go back again in september

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

My wife and i stayed here for the weekend and found the hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was clean, high spec'd and very welcoming. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and the location is 2nd to none. The breakfast is continental as described but had hot beans, sausages and scrambled egg too. The roof top pool area was a real gem and quite provat. A safe deposit box in the room would provide some with piece of mind, but it did not bother us much. For 62 euros per night you cannot fault it!!! Unfortunately reading some of the reviews people seem able to find fault in anything, my suggestion to them is try the Hotel on the Balcon for twice the nightly rate, and then compare to see if it is twice as good. Overall a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenmore_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

A nearly new hotel in a quiet location right in the centre of Nerja. Very clean, smart and well looked after. All the staff pleasant and very helpful.
Seems to have a mix of room sizes, the first we were offered was a bit small, however we requested something bigger and were relocated to a lovely room overlooking the square at the front. Breakfast very good with lots of choice both hot and cold.
Nice roof terrace with comfortable sunbeds and small pool, though its only small it was never overcrowded, probably as the beaches are so close many guests will choose to go to those.
We had a car, though the hotel has no parking there are plenty of free places within 5-10 mins walk.
Our only problem was noise, there were some very loud guests staying at the same time who came in most nights around 3 or 4am. The night door bangs very loudly and echos through the building as does any talking in the central stair wells , as there are no soft furnishings there is nothing to cushion the sounds and there definately seems to be an issue where the design of the building in some way amplifies the sounds.
We visit Nerja regularly but would think hard about using the hotel again purely because of this issue which is a shame as in every other respect it's great.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WatfordWelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#7 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#14 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#12 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mena Plaza

Property: Hotel Mena Plaza
Address: Plaza de Espana, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mena Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mena Plaza, is one of the newest building hotels in the Historic Center of Nerja. Our Hotel is located in Plaza de Espana, few meters of the famous "Balcon de Europa" and surrounded of all kinds of stablishments. Our location, rates and services, makes our hotel a place highly recommended by our guests and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing