We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern hotel, fab location”
Review of Hotel Mena Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mena Plaza
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely modern hotel, fab location”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

After having stayed a week before at the somewhat old-fashioned Hotel Perla Marina, my fella and I were delighted with the Mena Plaza's clean lines and contemporary decor. Our room was on the first floor, and although the balcony view was basically the back of other buildings (there are rooms facing into the Plaza de Espana), the amazingly central location more than made up for it.

The room was basic but very modern, with flat-screen telly, locally-taken photographic prints on the wall and a no-fee fridge. The power shower meanwhile was amazing, and always hot unlike at our previous lodgings. Our room did seem to be smaller than others though, after rubber-necking down the hall. Normally when you open a hotel room door you see the foot of the bed(s), however, walking into our room (No.102), you see the top, the pillows - which not only meant that the air-conditioning unit was facing our heads (FREEZING! It didn't help that our thermostat was fixed, we couldn't change the temperature or anything) but also light from the corridor filtered under the door while we were in bed. The layout was topsy-turvy, basically. Furthermore, I would agree with fellow TripAdvisors in that soundproofing is virtually nonexistent - not only did we hear children screaming from a room across the hall but also our neighbours getting jiggy... yes, really! And the two chatterbox maids outside made sure we were awake in time for breakfast (which finishes at a rather-too-early-in-our-opinion 10am).

Suffice it to say we didn't have any particularly sound sleeps then. But as I said before, the proximity to Nerja's cafes, restaurants, bars, shops, beaches and the Balcon de Europa is exempliary. Yes, the rooftop area/pool is small but it was seldom full at any one time, and offers a great view of the town. A welcome breeze, also, that you don't get at the beaches.

Breakfast was as you'd expect from a two-star - hardly eggs benedict but a decent selection of hot dishes, cold meats, cheeses, pastries, cereals and juices. We also loved that the WiFi is free (although I could only get a signal on my phone when sitting in the bathroom!).

So all in all I would highly recommend this hotel, not so much to families since there are no recreation areas as such, but definitely to couples or groups of guys/girls looking for a good value base.

Room Tip: Room 102 looked suspiciously smaller than they others, is laid-out topsy-turvily and lacked an easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DollyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    121
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
46
211
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel is in a superb location, right in the heart of Nerja. .You're only a stone's throw from several beaches whilst the busy Calle Pintada (of shops, tapas bars and restaurants) is two minutes from the hotel's front door! It's in the brand new Plaza de Espana just through the town hall archway from the famous Balcon de Europa. The Plaza is not yet fully finished but the main colonnaded fronts are in place on three sides and the effect is very elegant! Locals still call it the square over the car park....but it is coming along nicely!
Back to the hotel... first impressions are excellent, a warm and friendly welcome in a nicely cooled and simply chic reception area; even the automatic glass doors are welcoming as you don't have to put down your luggage to enter and escape the heat!
Our room was on the first floor (there are only three floors of bedrooms, 34 rooms in all) at the back and was extremely quiet. It is furnished with a double bed and an armchair that unfolds to an extra single bed! Flat screen TV, hairdryer, loads of sockets... and a fridge!!!! No kettle supplied but we brought our own small one (thanks to a previous Tripadvisor comment!). Air Con is excellent... but only works when the balcony door is fully closed, as we finally discovered! The water pressure in the shower is the best EVER... it is knockout and the hot water is incessant!
Breakfast.was surprisingly good. It was served until 10 am and even those who sat down barely minutes before ten were well served. The selection ranged from cheeses, salami. ham and chorizo, through traditional pates and sometimes salads; huge and varied selection of breads and rolls, pastries cakes and biscuits; selection of fresh fruits, prepared melon, cereals, yogurt.... hot food was eggs (scrambled or fried) sausages most days but sometimes bacon and,always, baked beans! All the food was constantly replenished, even at ten o'clock which makes a pleasant change to hotels stayed in before.
The swimming pool may at first appear to be small, but it is a godsend! The roof area has copious sunbeds and seats and large parasols to shelter under. There are loos and a shower too. The views are spectacular, with the mountains behind you and the vista of all the little white houses of Nerja nestling back into the hills. Turning your back on the mountains you face out to sea with a lovely breeze coming over the parapet. The church on the Balcon is just beneath and the old church bells ring out quite often. You feel you can reach out and touch the two skinny palm trees beyond Plaza Cavana which mark the edge of the Salon beach.... the pool area is a nice place to go to around six or seven in the evening when you come back from the beach , and there is a nice social element as many of the other guests sit around - or swim- and chat to other guests!
All in all the hotel was a perfect place to stay in Nerja, from the friendliness of the staff to its location, its amenities and cleanliness..... we're going back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel have larger balconies.. however only first floor rooms at back have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zzook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here in May 2011, so it wasn't too hot, but after our road trip across culture-heavy Andalucia, Nerja was a fantastic chill out location. Our research showed that it was the "least tacky" of the Costa del Sol beach towns, and we found it delightful!
This hotel seemed almost brand new. It's located in a very nice looking square that is still partly under construction. But this was a minor issue, the hotel is ideally located, very central. It's literally a 3min walk to the Balcón de Europa viewpoint, a huge plaza that overlooks the gorgeous Mediterranean. The hotel is worth it for this alone.
The room we got was simple and very clean. We used the rooftop pool to just chill out. It's small but great for just soaking around and taking in the great view of the town and sea. Again, very well maintained, it looked new. We didn't get the breakfast included so can't comment on that.
Since we were so central in the town we could go out to the restaurants and bars at night and just walk home easily, the location was excellent.
I usually try to balance my reviews with positives and negatives, but this hotel hardly had any negatives. We got a really good price through Expedia and can't recommend it enough. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cuatez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Hi just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and found it to be really good.
I stayed here with my husband ,sister and brother in law and could'nt fault the hotel or resort,
we were both lucky enough to get large double rooms both facing onto the square ( unfinished but no building work going on) and mountains lovely veiw.
breakfast was good offered both hot and cold food plenty of choice and very fresh.
hotel was spotlessly clean. reception staff very help full we had a problem with our transfer company getting back to airport and receptionst was very helpfull letting us use her phone then she rang company for us then resulting in her finally getting us a taxi to catch our plane on time = EXCELLENT SERVICE.
The hotels air con is very good and needed in the hot spanish sun. pool area very well finished off astro turf on floor . pool very s mall but big enough too cool down in and always enough sun beds .
The resort of nerja is very good big choice of bars and restaurants and the amount of free tapas given in the bars is amazing. we only ate out twice as full grazing on free tapas throughout the night ( hot sausages patatas bravas, mini bacon buns, meatball, anchovioes on toasted bread goats cheese ) and i could still go on.
WE went to a flamenco show behind the hotel 36 euro a head , little dear but was in there 3 hours lovely meal paella to die for and lovely lemon and champange sorbet , the dancers were really talented but sadly a little laking in atmosphere the night we were there due to other customers ( not saying which nationality)
went to the caves as dull one day - my opinion not worth the 8 euro entrance fee,.
caught the local bus (1 euro) up to frigglliana well worth an afternoon vist great veiws and cute back streets went on tourist train (3 euros) around village.
there seems two sides to nerja old town really pretty then the beach side little more touristy and bigger hotels. I preffered the old town where this hotel is slap in the middle of , plus a small beach 5 mins walk .
I WILL RETURN TO NERJA SOMEDAY and would happily reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: front rooms best veiw. 2nd floor bigger balconies and nobody overlooks you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetsetter087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We have just come back from a 10 night stay at the Mena Plaza - I was apprehensive about the noise issues other reviews had pointed out but i can honestly say it was not an issue for us, the only noise we heard were people closing doors (mainly in the morning) and the odd flush of a toilet but other than that i cant imagine any hotel could have been more sound proofed! It was amazingly clean - and the cleaners were very accommodating when we weren't ready for them to come in in the morning and were happy to come back later. The breakfast was great - hot sausages, eggs and beans, a range of meats, cheese and various types of bread, cereals, yogurt, fruit, orange juice and coffee - i don't think you could want much more! There are also a few tables outside which pleased me as I like to sit out on holiday! The main plus point about this hotel was the location - perfect! Right in the centre near to restaurants and bars and burriana beach just 10-15 mins walk and all other beaches are nearer. I would definitely consider coming back!

Room Tip: front of the hotel - good size and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Green84_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Myself and a friend arrived and there was a mix up with the room. They gave us a double bed instead of two single beds. My friend booked a double room but rang back hotel to confirm twin but there was a mixup. The hotel quickly resolved it and moved a bed in. The hotel was so clean and breakfast was great. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. This hotel is more a 3 or 4 star than a 2 star. Hotel is right beside the plaza and all the shops and restaurants. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank procus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,201 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

2 star hotel more like 4 star. nice room with balcony great pool on the roof with stunning views. breakfast was good.staff friendly and helpful.the hotel is in a quite square that is new but unfinised yet due to recession.its very central 50 yards to the balcon. bars cafes restaurants 100 yards to beachs also shops.and the main church.the room has a fridge for your own drinks the bar in lounge is a bit bare.but you can ask for cold beers and soft drinks .from the staff will go back again in september

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#14 of 37 in Nerja
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
555 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mena Plaza

Property: Hotel Mena Plaza
Address: Plaza de Espana, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mena Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mena Plaza, is one of the newest building hotels in the Historic Center of Nerja. Our Hotel is located in Plaza de Espana, few meters of the famous "Balcon de Europa" and surrounded of all kinds of stablishments. Our location, rates and services, makes our hotel a place highly recommended by our guests and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing