We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Mena Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mena Plaza
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
WORCS
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Clean Modern hotel, friendly helpful staff on reception,location great . We booked terrace room, it was at the front of the hotel looking over the square, the rooms at the back of the hotel only have juilette balconies so if you like to sit out make sure you book terrace room. Breakfast was a bit on the basic side not a great deal of choice but ok. The Mena Plaza was a good choice, glad we picked it and would return again. Great Holiday in Nerja .

Room Tip: larger rooms with balconies at front of hotel. but if you like the afternoon sun then book rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholsWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    121
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
46
211
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BREWOOD, STAFFS
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here for a week over Easter and the hotel is great value. The location is fantastic and less than 100 metres from the balcon de europe. The rooms are very modern, beds are comfy, the shower is powerful with ample hot water available even with a full hotel. The TV had BBC1 and ITV which was great for catching up with the news in the morning before ambling down for breakfast. Breakfast was typical continental style consisting of fruits, cereals, breads, either scrambled or fried eggs, sausage or bacon, beans along with cold meats and cheeses. Tea, coffee, juices and water are also available.
There is one thing to be aware of and that is the walls aren't sound proofed (as previous reviews have mentioned) and we had the snorer from hell next door and me being a light sleeper was a nightmare, however, two pieces of cotton wool resolved that issue and sleep there on was no problem.
Overall, we would recommend the hotel and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 305 which overlooked the square and had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PESmith1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great contemporary style hotel in the centre of Nerja. Very friendly and helpful staff, good value secure car parking and great roof pool. Very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

great hotel, great location, lovely pool, great staff, good breakfast, lovely bathrooms, great balconies. Very good value for money.

wifi in rooms awful, no remote controls for televisions! petty complaints but such simple problems to sort out and yet they are not!

Room Tip: over looking the square on third floor have sea view from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5-star-expected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Just got back from a 4 nights stay at the Mena Plaza and was very impressed. The rooms and hotel were light, modern and clean. The breakfast was sufficient and the staff helpful. It is a perfect location as it is very central and you can walk practically anywhere in the town. On the first day i asked the reception staff for extra pillows and when i returned to my room later on they had put them on my bed. The rooftop pool has lovely views with plent of sunlongers and umberellas for shade. For value for money (£28 per person per night) you cannot go wrong with this bed and breakfast, I would definatly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square, the balcolnies and bathrooms seemed to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Lovely and clean good breakfast and great location i will definitely go back

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nspend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Just back from a trip to Nerja last week we booked 7 nights and moved out and got another hotel after the second night, as this hotel (a glorified b&b!!) did not live up to the reviews we had read,
We booked it as a result of the reviews on a number of websites and its location however we were very dissapointed with this place as it is essentially a hostel,the location and decour are very good clean and modern,the staff were ok but in truth everything else was wrong, breakfast was included in the €75 per night and it was truly awful basically cold scrambled eggs and toast, I also have to mention the clientele, we had to share breakfast with a bunch of loud,offensive and ignorant irish louts who thought nothing of shouting and using bad language while sitting at breakfast, the second morning the same people were there so we went out for breakfast instead, I know this is not the fault of the hotel however this should be a warning to potential viewers....if it seems to good to be true it is.
no information in room or reception,
No TV remote in the room,no safe in the room. requested a second pillow and got no joy,the phone kept beeping in the room,1english language speaking tv channel,the plaza is a building site and errily quiet at night, the shower leaked,no atmospherein the hotel,no bar or cafe,lifeless and extremely dull.
If you are looking for a place to merely rest the head and nothing else (i.e a stag night) then this might suffice
otherwise steer clear and go elsewhere.

Room Tip: pictures on internet do NOT represent the actual rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#14 of 37 in Nerja
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mena Plaza

Property: Hotel Mena Plaza
Address: Plaza de Espana, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mena Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mena Plaza, is one of the newest building hotels in the Historic Center of Nerja. Our Hotel is located in Plaza de Espana, few meters of the famous "Balcon de Europa" and surrounded of all kinds of stablishments. Our location, rates and services, makes our hotel a place highly recommended by our guests and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing