We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Mena Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mena Plaza
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This hotel is situated on Plaza de Espana over the top of the underground car park right in the town centre. It is a modern clean but simple hotel on two floors and is approximately 150m from the church just behind the town hall. The rooms are comfortable and have a large terrace overlooking the plaza and give great views of the mountains. The hotel offers breakfast for 8 euros and consists of fruit, cheese, cold meat , toast etc. The reception staff are really pleasant and helpfull. The only problem we found with this hotel is that there is practically no soundproofing, you could hear the people next door talking, using the shower, using the toilet etc. There were very few people in the hotel when we stayed so it wasn't too bad but I don't know what it would be like if the hotel is full. If you can put up with this, then this is a great budget hotel right in the centre of town ,ideal for a short break.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms facing the plaza have great views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerrythemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

We've stayed in Nerja before but this time it was difficult to find a room so we ended up with Mena Plaza. Normally we don't go for hotels with only 2 stars. The rooms also have a terrasse and you are able to use internett in your room. That was fantastic. A big carparking is just below of the hotel, and you just take the elevator up and you are then by the hotel very, very good. On the roof they have a swimmingpool and a great view, one way to the sea and the other way up to the mountain's. There is only a short walk to Balcon de Europa and the streets just for walking, shopping and eat. We recoment this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaStigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in beginning of March, even though weather was not great, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hotel was very quiet but staff were very attentive. Breakfast was perfect, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, breads, cheese and ham. There was also egg options, something different everyday. We stayed in room overlooking the square which had a good size balcony with views out to the sea and mountains. The pool was small but adequate to cool down and also sun beds and parasols were also available. Excellent suggestion for restaurant is MARIA BONITA down at bottom of Calle Malaga on left hand side. Great local fresh produce , it's always busy, a sure sign of good restaurant. Staff are lovely too.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have a balcony but look directly out onto a very close building so have no view but wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kangee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed here for a week in Easter 2012. We had a hire car and were able to park for free in the hotel's allocated secure underground parking. You need to let them know in advance if you have a car as parking was limited.

Rooms were clean and spacious. We had a cheaper room without balcony but with a juliette window that opened out onto a small alley below. The room was nice and quiet and spotless. The fridge in the room meant we could store our own water and beers too.

Breakfast was the only let down and was a bit limited but for the price we paid we were satisfied. It is nice to be able to sit out on the square in the morning and watch the passers by. The square was not fully constructed at the time we travelled but there didn't seem to be any building work happening. I assume the building project ran out of money as my Mum who travelled there in the summer said nothing had changed.

The roof top pool is a great place to sun yourself in an afternoon but I can imagine it gets busy at warmer times of the year. We sat out at Easter and the shelter of the walls around the roof created a lovely sun trap. There aren't really any social areas to sit but there is a small lounge.

The beach is a short walk and the balcon de europa is nearby. There are lots of fantastic restaurants and bars in Nerja especially if you are willing to go off the beaten track.

Great value for money and a lovely relaxing stay!

Room Tip: For the most outdoor space pay for a superior room with balcony/terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lornamharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

First of all great location, very quiet and just a few steps from the magnificent Balcon the Europa and nice small beach.
Clean and modern rooms, friendly and helpful staff, basic breakfast but just enough to start a day, nice pool on the roof.
Great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmadry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel is very central to Nerja and is situated in a large plaza that should be full of shops but so far is unoccupied which means that although the hotel is only minutes from the Balcon de Europa it is extremely quiet.
I booked last minute so I managed to get a low price for my stay so with regards to value for money I can't really complain but I would have preferred a more comfy bed and a better shower. For breakfast there was a choice of scrambled eggs, beans and mini sausages and a selection of cold meats and cheese as well as different breads, fruit and cereal so there was something for everyone.
Overall the hotel is clean, basic and quiet with a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We found this hotel great value, excellent location very central, rooms are immaculately clean and modern with air con. Nice breakfast. There was a large group of us over for a wedding and everyone was delighted with the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrinamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#11 of 37 in Nerja
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mena Plaza

Address: Plaza de Espana, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mena Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mena Plaza, is one of the newest building hotels in the Historic Center of Nerja. Our Hotel is located in Plaza de Espana, few meters of the famous "Balcon de Europa" and surrounded of all kinds of stablishments. Our location, rates and services, makes our hotel a place highly recommended by our guests and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing