We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mena Plaza
Nearby Hotels
Bajamar(Nerja)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$68
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartamentos Pepe Mesa(Nerja)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$133
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Los Arcos(Nerja)
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Andalucia(Nerja)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ana Hostel(Nerja)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
215
131
20
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
131
20
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolquiet squarebalcon de europaperfect locationcafe barrooms are modernstar hotelair conthe main squareviews of the mountainssmall poolfamily rooma couple of minutes walkbalcon areacomfy bedsecure parkinggood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hotel was clean, helpful staff. Very close to the beach and Balcon of Europa and to all action. A lot of restaurants (most of them expensive) nearby. Satisfactory breakfast. Negative: hard to find-good luck with navigating Nerja narrow streets and, especially, with parking your car in hotel parking! Weak wify, was disconnecting all the time. Overall impression was positive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bskhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Mena Plaza at the end of June 2013 and had a wonderful time. The hotel is clean and friendly and the staff were very helpful. Our room was a good size and had all mod cons. The only slight complaint was that our balcony was in the shade for almost the entire day, but because we didn't really use it, that wasn't a problem. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as it seemed quite expensive for what it was and the breakfast area also doubles up at the reception area so it wasn't ideal. We tended to have breakfast out each day instead.

The hotel has a rooftop pool which was a good size considering. There is also a good amount of space to sunbath on sunloungers around it. We did find it a bit quiet up there and despite it being full on a number of occasions, no-one spoke so we felt like we had to be quiet. We preferred the beach, but the pool is lovely if you want some peace and quiet.

The hotel is well placed on a new square right in the heart of Nerja. At the moment the square isn't finished so there are no shops of restaurants there, but this meant that the hotel was nice and peaceful and away from the hubbub. The hotel is only 50 metres walk from another buzzing square that overlooks the sea so it's well placed for walking to the beach or for getting food and drinks.

Nerja itself is a beautiful little town that is completely overrun with tourists! It's such a shame as you are completely surrounded by English and mainly Irish people.

The beaches were lovely, although not sand, more gravel. Once you get past the pebbles/rocks and get in the water it is sandy and wonderful. Great waves when we were there, but be warned the currents are very strong and we nearly got washed onto the rocks at one point which was pretty scary.

Overall a wonderful family friendly escape.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We booked this hotel due to it's location and good reviews. We booked direct with the hotel as there were several descriptions online and couldn't work out if rooms had a terrace/balcony we were told we could upgrade for 5 euro a night to get a balcony so we did... On arrival we were u able to see any rooms that did not have balconys. Also we stayed 3 nights (2 days) and for one day the pool was undergoing maintenance we complained and were told they would reduce our room rate yet at check out when they know you are in a hurry for a plane they refused to reduce the rates at all. The hotel is very loud with everything echoing and no sound proofing of the rooms at all. The befs are very basic and the rooms are not welcoming. Also for a new hotel the paint is damaged and cracked in the rooms. The view from the roof is nice and it is very central in its location but there is a lot of choice and I would not return to this hotel (this is our 7th visit to nerja and we will make many more but not to mena plaza) I would suggest if you want bobby basic and get this hotel
Super cheap in nerja centre you may want to risk it but I would say look around there are soapy hotels that poor service and quality need not be accepted.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenthevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

June 2013 - I have been staying with Maria the owner of this hotel & hostel Mena for 7 years. This year I was very disappointed as Maria and her team although had confirmed the price with me by email, when we checked out they charged up over 200 Euros more. Even though I had the confirmation with me in black & white & they admitted they had made a mistake they refused to take responsibility and insisted we paid. On checking out infact they turned very nasty and threatened us with the police, as we were running to a tight schedule and due to catch a flight we had no alternative but to pay. We asked to speak with Maria face to face but she did not make herself available to us.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
7  Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We can highly recommend this hotel in Nerja. Rooms and bathroom are nice and clean, balcony fine, and the location couldn't be better. Breakfast is simple, but with everything you need.
Only a few minutes walk to the litle beach, and less then 10 minutes to a long beach when the citybeach is too hot. Streets and buildings in Nerja are beautiful, and there are a lot of restaurants prices very reasonable. We are comming back!

Room Tip: Very small swimmingpool on the top terrace. We did not ask for roomservice, but cleaning was well done.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorwayEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews