We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, central, quiet”
Review of Hotel Mena Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mena Plaza
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend with a friend. Chose this hotel due to its central location and the fact that it had a small pool but was still as reasonably priced as the central hostels without pools. The hotel is only a couple of years old and is situated just off the main Balcon area. It is incredibly handy for everything but not at all noisy at night even though we stayed in high season. The rooms are modern, basic and very clean. The pool itself is small but the area around it is spacious and despite staying in August it was always half empty. We didn't opt for breakfast as there are lots of places around Nerja but the breakfast price was reasonable and seemed to include a hot selection as well as fruit and continental selection. Staff were friendly. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Del536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Mena Plaza is a friendly family run hotel 200 yards from the balcon de europa. It is modern, clean and well run. The undergound parking facility is excellent; it's so handy to be able to unload you luggage straight into the hotel elevator as the town centre is mostly pedestrianised. The pool area on the roof provides lovely views and the sun loungers/parasols provided are of good quality. The pool is not large, approx 10m x 3m, but it's adequate and a very pleasant temperature to relax in. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel but opted to go to nearby cafes every morning. Overall the hotel is very good value and we would highly recommend it to all travellers.
Frigiliana village, a short distance up the mountains, is well worth a visit for dinner with stunning views and a walk around the pretty back streets.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire58009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hotel was clean, helpful staff. Very close to the beach and Balcon of Europa and to all action. A lot of restaurants (most of them expensive) nearby. Satisfactory breakfast. Negative: hard to find-good luck with navigating Nerja narrow streets and, especially, with parking your car in hotel parking! Weak wify, was disconnecting all the time. Overall impression was positive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bskhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Mena Plaza at the end of June 2013 and had a wonderful time. The hotel is clean and friendly and the staff were very helpful. Our room was a good size and had all mod cons. The only slight complaint was that our balcony was in the shade for almost the entire day, but because we didn't really use it, that wasn't a problem. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as it seemed quite expensive for what it was and the breakfast area also doubles up at the reception area so it wasn't ideal. We tended to have breakfast out each day instead.

The hotel has a rooftop pool which was a good size considering. There is also a good amount of space to sunbath on sunloungers around it. We did find it a bit quiet up there and despite it being full on a number of occasions, no-one spoke so we felt like we had to be quiet. We preferred the beach, but the pool is lovely if you want some peace and quiet.

The hotel is well placed on a new square right in the heart of Nerja. At the moment the square isn't finished so there are no shops of restaurants there, but this meant that the hotel was nice and peaceful and away from the hubbub. The hotel is only 50 metres walk from another buzzing square that overlooks the sea so it's well placed for walking to the beach or for getting food and drinks.

Nerja itself is a beautiful little town that is completely overrun with tourists! It's such a shame as you are completely surrounded by English and mainly Irish people.

The beaches were lovely, although not sand, more gravel. Once you get past the pebbles/rocks and get in the water it is sandy and wonderful. Great waves when we were there, but be warned the currents are very strong and we nearly got washed onto the rocks at one point which was pretty scary.

Overall a wonderful family friendly escape.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We booked this hotel due to it's location and good reviews. We booked direct with the hotel as there were several descriptions online and couldn't work out if rooms had a terrace/balcony we were told we could upgrade for 5 euro a night to get a balcony so we did... On arrival we were u able to see any rooms that did not have balconys. Also we stayed 3 nights (2 days) and for one day the pool was undergoing maintenance we complained and were told they would reduce our room rate yet at check out when they know you are in a hurry for a plane they refused to reduce the rates at all. The hotel is very loud with everything echoing and no sound proofing of the rooms at all. The befs are very basic and the rooms are not welcoming. Also for a new hotel the paint is damaged and cracked in the rooms. The view from the roof is nice and it is very central in its location but there is a lot of choice and I would not return to this hotel (this is our 7th visit to nerja and we will make many more but not to mena plaza) I would suggest if you want bobby basic and get this hotel
Super cheap in nerja centre you may want to risk it but I would say look around there are soapy hotels that poor service and quality need not be accepted.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenthevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

June 2013 - I have been staying with Maria the owner of this hotel & hostel Mena for 7 years. This year I was very disappointed as Maria and her team although had confirmed the price with me by email, when we checked out they charged up over 200 Euros more. Even though I had the confirmation with me in black & white & they admitted they had made a mistake they refused to take responsibility and insisted we paid. On checking out infact they turned very nasty and threatened us with the police, as we were running to a tight schedule and due to catch a flight we had no alternative but to pay. We asked to speak with Maria face to face but she did not make herself available to us.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
7  Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We can highly recommend this hotel in Nerja. Rooms and bathroom are nice and clean, balcony fine, and the location couldn't be better. Breakfast is simple, but with everything you need.
Only a few minutes walk to the litle beach, and less then 10 minutes to a long beach when the citybeach is too hot. Streets and buildings in Nerja are beautiful, and there are a lot of restaurants prices very reasonable. We are comming back!

Room Tip: Very small swimmingpool on the top terrace. We did not ask for roomservice, but cleaning was well do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorwayEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#11 of 37 in Nerja
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mena Plaza

Address: Plaza de Espana, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mena Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mena Plaza, is one of the newest building hotels in the Historic Center of Nerja. Our Hotel is located in Plaza de Espana, few meters of the famous "Balcon de Europa" and surrounded of all kinds of stablishments. Our location, rates and services, makes our hotel a place highly recommended by our guests and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing