We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mena Plaza apartments” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mena Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mena Plaza
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mena Plaza apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have stayed in the Hotel Mena Plaza before and were looking to stay there again on our visit to Nerja. Unfortunately the hotel closes during the month of January. Fortunately they have purchased a couple of two bedroom apartments next door to the hotel. They are fully fitted apartments. The kitchen has a dishwasher and washing machine. The rooms overlook the plaza and you can see the beautiful mountains in the background. The apartments comes with a bathtub and shower overhang. The shower is very powerful and the water is very hot. They did us a great deal as it was only my wife and I who were staying. This is a great idea for anyone who has children of two couples looking to share. Thanks to Angelo for all is kindness and help during our stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Again, this is a great place to stay for families of four or two couples looking to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank joeweers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    118
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
191
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Nice hotel considering it is only a 2 star. Rooms are a nice size with a lovely balcony and the central position is great. The beds were extremely hard and the cleanliness left a lot to be desired. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Free safe.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benalmadena, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We found the hotel to be in the centre surrounded by a paved plaza so quiet and through an archway the crowds were gathering on the balcon de europe looking out to sea ,perfect location , the variety of cuisine locally was second to none and so handy to the hotel .There were hidden coves along the seashore and beautiful beaches at Burriana .We had the warmest November ever ,the roof top pool was great , the service in the hotel was so friendly and rooms so clean it sholud be more than 2 stars, we will definately visit again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. It is a lovely small hotel, A perfect location close to the square. The rooms are small but so clean. We chose to have breakfast but it's very basic, would chose a local cafe next time. If your driving it can be very difficult to find the hotel as the streets are very very narrow. We will certainly come here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryellenDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

stayed here for 8 nights in September & this is a really nice hotel in a great location in a quiet square just 2 mins walk from the balcon de Europa. rooms are modern & clean with balconies, rooftop pool is nice with great views, staff are friendly & helpful. For a 2 star hotel it is very good value. Nerja is beautiful and we're definitely looking forward to going back & staying in the mena plaza

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Have just returned from a week in Nerja and this was our first stay in Mena Plaza. Surprisingly the hotel is rated 2 star but honestly its totally under rated as it could easily attain a 4 star grade. The location is superb, everything is on your doorstep. The hotel is immaculate and not only are the staff pleasant they are happy to assist in any way they can. Rooms are serviced daily. If I was pushed to find anything negative I would say breakfast is basic but in no way poor and I did miss tea and coffee making facilities in our room. Other than that Mena Plaza is truly a hidden gem and I am already planning my next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have bigger balconies although rooms at the side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IreneMagherafelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, situated in the town centre, yet very quiet area. Price was ok. The family room had two bedrooms with separate air condition and separate bathrooms. Clean room with lots of storage space. Nice breakfast with many fruit, different kinds of bread and cakes, egg/bacon/beans and coffee/tea/juice/milk. Small pool on roof top, approx 4x12m and several sun beds and a cold shower. The hotel leaves an modern and minimalisic apperance. Staff was very friendly. All in all a very nice hotel. In fact I have only two complaints: 1) wi-fi was not working in several parts of the hotel, including our room, and 2) coffee was terrible. Despite this, the hotel gets strong recommendations from me!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#8 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#14 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#12 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mena Plaza

Property: Hotel Mena Plaza
Address: Plaza de Espana, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mena Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mena Plaza, is one of the newest building hotels in the Historic Center of Nerja. Our Hotel is located in Plaza de Espana, few meters of the famous "Balcon de Europa" and surrounded of all kinds of stablishments. Our location, rates and services, makes our hotel a place highly recommended by our guests and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing