We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos El Barrio
Ranked #16 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Nerja
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a nice apartment in Nerja with good value. Location wise, it is about 5 mins walk to the balcon of europa. Very spacious room with kitchenette which would be nice for light cooking.

Didn't have issue with noise from the street.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Apartamentos El Barrio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have spent 3 nights at El Barrio apartments in September and all we can say about it are positive things. Very well located (200m from the beach, 100m from Tutti-Fruti square and 500m from the Balcon de Europa) and fully renovated recently. The family running the business is really friendly and helpful. We also recommend having chocolate con churros for breakfast at the bar just in front. Definitelly a winning bet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuetumayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The apartment is in a great location and for a great rate.They have all Mod Cons.Very clean and the owner's are always their if you may need anything.
The Only Fault is the apartment is Noisy with Dogs out-side barking.(Not sure how you can resolve this one).
Yes I would return to the Apartments.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lkjmfoodie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is a super apartment, very clean and well decorated. It has a lovely bathroom, little kitchenette/lounge area and a nice little balcony. We have stayed here twice for our week in Nera but unfortunately the road it is on (Calle El Barrio) can be noisy at night. It is one of the main routes from town to the night club square (Plaza Tutti Frutti) and vice versa, we have been treated to drunken singing more nights than not which is annoying and mopheds screaming past at all hours but due to the heat and having the windows open abit you can't block it out. Apart from that it is a super holiday spot, right in town and close to everything. If it hadn't been for the noise we would be staying there again this year but we are going to try somewhere else, in a quieter street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Having just come back from 1 week at these apts, i can only say what a perfect location close to all amenities, very clean and well prepared apts with alot of utensils etc for preparing meals.The family are wonderful hosts and will help in any way they can to make your stay comfortable.We had a studio on back and would have preferred one on front but as we had last room could not complain.We will hopefully use again next year as it is a great value choice if you want to be amongst the locals in a central street close to all Nerja has to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GARY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here off-season for a great rate. The apartment was 'bijou', but was well laid-out and fine for us with plenty of storage and actually the bathroom was a pretty reasonable size. Convenient location in the centre of the town. Nice sunny rooftop with tables and chairs and sunloungers which we had to ourselves every time we went up there. When the owner saw we were setting up lunch there she brought us a tray for us to use and said we should just give it back to her when we left.
Clean, well-equipped apartment. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We were woken up one night by a couple of lads having a really loud drunken conversation in the stre...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juniper1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have stayed in the El Barrio 5 times over the past 2 years. The main reason that I usually choose to stay here is simple - it is in a perfect location for travelling around the town of Nerja and is ideally situated to the main square, and the Balcon. There are plenty of bars and shops in the surrounding area only a few mins walk away.

The accomodation is quite good, if you are getting it for a reasonable price. If you think it is slightly on the expensive side then it might be worth shopping around and looking at what else is on offer because the El Barrio is VERY basic. I have stayed in the apartments as well as the smaller sized studios and both have been clean on arrival with everything we needed for our stay such as kettle, dishes, toaster, iron, microwave. I do not do much cooking on holiday but we made breakfast a couple of times which was easy to do in the small kitchen provided. One thing that I would say is that we have paid slightly more for an apartment with a small balcony attached and to be honest we hardly used it as it is quite 'open' and looks out onto a busy/noisy street.

There is some major work being carried out at the end of 2011 into 2012 on the street which makes it very noisy to stay here during this time. They are digging up all of the pavements which causes dust and debris all over your shoes and luggage. The noise stops in the afternoon but commences again early the next morning, so bear this in mind if you are looking to pay more to book a room with a balcony attached.

The accomodation is always spotlessly clean upon arrival although the last twice I have stayed here there has been quite a strong smell of sewage when flushing the toilet. Perhaps this is connected to the street works? The rooms are furnished well although it is all very basic, but had everything we needed.

Ways to improve our stay would be if some sort of communal bin was provided... it is a pain to have to take your rubbish bag out with you each morning to try and find a bin in the street to dispose of it. Also, I would prefer it if some light cleaning was done during our stay, but this is probably down to personal preference.

The staff/owners don't speak any other language other than Spanish so have your phrasebook handy but they couldn't be more welcoming and are always pleased to welcome you to their property. Very friendly and welcoming.

Overall we are usually pleased with our studio/apartment and will stay again.

Room Tip: Not worth paying more for balcony unless you are sure you will use it
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dippy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.2 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos El Barrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos El Barrio

Address: El Barrio n 49, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Nerja
Price Range: £35 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apartamentos El Barrio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos El Barrio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing