We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, friendly, helpful owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartamentos El Barrio
Ranked #16 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Nerja
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great central location on road behind the church on the Balcon de Europa! couldn't be better! Exceptionally helpful owners who live in the ground floor apartment nothing too much trouble, they even loaned us beach towels at no charge, also offered the use of their washing machine and soap powder, again at no cost (laundry room was located on the roof terrace floor). Roof terrace had 3 sun loungers, 2 reclining chairs, table and chairs a lovely sun trap! (With shade too)

Studio was lovely and clean, bathroom spotless and modern illuminated mirror! Hot water every shower and powerful too. Beds comfy, we didn't try the tv but pleased with air con! Kitchen had all you needed, fridge, cooking rings, microwave, toaster, lots of crockery - well equipped! There was an iron, hair dryer and iron/board too

We had a studio at the front so the bedroom is actually partly in the same room as the kitchen/dining room, (no actual door separating them) but was fine for the two of us, there is a sofa which could be used as a third bed, table and 4 chairs

We also had a balcony which overlooked the pedestrianised road, great for people watching. This wasn't huge but easily had room for a table and 4 chairs (2/3 comfortably). As it overlooked the cafés facing it did get a bit noisy but these were always closed when we got back so we didn't have a problem sleeping

We felt safe here as our room had shutters if you wanted to use them, the door had a double lock and then you also had a key for the main front door of the building. Bonus was there was a lift too if you did need to avoid the stairs

We could not complain about the standard in fact the new kitchen and bathroom have been done to a very high standard. Our friends room was even larger than ours with a Juliette balcony and a proper sized one. Rooms at the back of the building are pretty much the same but with only a Juliette balcony but obviously have no noise at all

Overall, I would totally recommend these apartments for location and value for money and would have no hesitation booking them again when we next visit Nerja. We are frequent visitors to this traditional part of Spain which has tourism and lots to see but unlike other busier resorts. It's great for couples and families!

Thank you Anna!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are described as a 'studio with terrace'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marinaedwards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

The location is the highlight. It is right in the centre of town near shops, beaches, bars and restaurants. The owners are very helpful.

We had a balcony, but there is a small roof terrace too with loungers and seating. There is a washing machine and drying area, there is also wifi and air con.

This isn't a luxury hotel, there were two single beds rather than a double and if you want a pool, there isn't one, but several beaches are very close nearby.

Staff did all they could to help. They stored our luggage after we checked out, advised on where to go and gave us maps, welcomed us even when we arrived after midnight. We did have a leak in the sink, but this was fixed immediately.

If you want affordable friendly accommodation in a great location this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icecreamfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean, well equipped and centrally located apartments. Close to the Balcon de Europa, bars, restaurants and shops.

Worth booking the studio with terrace/balcony.

Parking can be an issue but this would apply to any of the accommodation in the centre.

Owners very helpful and pleasant.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kathyMazarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a nice apartment in Nerja with good value. Location wise, it is about 5 mins walk to the balcon of europa. Very spacious room with kitchenette which would be nice for light cooking.

Didn't have issue with noise from the street.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have spent 3 nights at El Barrio apartments in September and all we can say about it are positive things. Very well located (200m from the beach, 100m from Tutti-Fruti square and 500m from the Balcon de Europa) and fully renovated recently. The family running the business is really friendly and helpful. We also recommend having chocolate con churros for breakfast at the bar just in front. Definitelly a winning bet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuetumayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The apartment is in a great location and for a great rate.They have all Mod Cons.Very clean and the owner's are always their if you may need anything.
The Only Fault is the apartment is Noisy with Dogs out-side barking.(Not sure how you can resolve this one).
Yes I would return to the Apartments.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lkjmfoodie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is a super apartment, very clean and well decorated. It has a lovely bathroom, little kitchenette/lounge area and a nice little balcony. We have stayed here twice for our week in Nera but unfortunately the road it is on (Calle El Barrio) can be noisy at night. It is one of the main routes from town to the night club square (Plaza Tutti Frutti) and vice versa, we have been treated to drunken singing more nights than not which is annoying and mopheds screaming past at all hours but due to the heat and having the windows open abit you can't block it out. Apart from that it is a super holiday spot, right in town and close to everything. If it hadn't been for the noise we would be staying there again this year but we are going to try somewhere else, in a quieter street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Pepe Mesa
Apartamentos Pepe Mesa
#17 of 37 in Nerja
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos El Barrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos El Barrio

Address: El Barrio n 49, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Nerja
Price Range: £31 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apartamentos El Barrio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apartamentos El Barrio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing