We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good And Bad”
Review of Hotel Perla Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Perla Marina
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed here from Boxing Day to jan 2, 2013.

The good:
1. The seaside apartments have a truly wonderful location (I stayed in no. 18)
2. apartments are spacious
3. Reception staff are good

The bad:
1. The food was not quite 4 star standard. The deserts in particular were poor.
2. The rooms are in urgent need of refurbishment.
3. The male bar staff are slow.
4. The streets surrounding the hotel and the promenade are covered in dog poo (more a criticism of an otherwise excellent Nerja)

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

I feel this is not a 4* Hotel. Bar Staff very rude and very poor food selection. Choices were white fish, chicken legs or pasta all dried up. 1 night was enough. However views were lovely and rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a short week. The location is awsome: cross the boulevard and you are on the beach. We rented chairs most of the days and we totally relaxed. The walk to the city centre is about 10min, but great to do when the sun sets.
The hotel it self is not very well maintained. The rooms are clean but old, renovation is needed. Quality of the breakfast was not 4-star-like. Reception staff was very friendly, bar staff less.
Conclusion; go there if you want to have a quite, relaxed beach holiday go there. If the hotel would renovate its rooms, etc. i would go back.

Room Tip: see view is worth the effort. Not to close to underneath terrace (noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Floris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Just about the worst hotel breakfast I have ever seen. Incinerated bacon, foul coffee, fake orange juice. No catering staff in attendance. I wonder if the food was brought in by van?
Reception and bar staff as cheerful as undertakers.
Barman prepared and served my friend a coffee whilst hanging on his phone throughout the task.
This hotel would seem to make its money in the winter from coach loads of Spansh pensioners, and has given up trying to make any effort.
Rooms cleaned well enough.
Nerja itself is a very nice place, with an interesting old town and good eateries and friendly hostelries. Try Sarah and Manolo's.

Room Tip: If you can get a deal, the Riu Monica down the road is real quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Perla marina is a four star hotel RIGHT on the beach and on the weastern edge of Nerja.
Beyond it, the empty and undeveloped beach stretches a mile or so to another four-star before it returns to nature until it reaches Torrox, a few miles further west.

The hotel is what one is uded to expect of a Spanish 4-Star..pretty average.
The difference is its appartments which are hard to find listed. They form a row of two-storey houses funning a few hundres metres west of the hotel itself and offer well-appointed 1- 2- or 3- bedroomed units.

All have their own private terrace including sunbeds. Outside the gate is a well-maintained strip of garden..ours had bananas in flower and producing fruit, a compliment to the gardner considering the plants were only a few yards from the sea!

Beyond the garden is a public "passeo" running from Torrecillo ("little tower"), a ruined and probably Moorish lookout tower, to the "rambla" or riverbed that forms the western border of Nerja.

The hotel has a bar and terrace adjoining the apartments and is staffed by a friendly, if somewhat disorganised group of people. The price for our 3-bedroomed "house" was offered by e-mail at 149 euros. On arrival we were shown a price of 115 euros and on checkout it had dropped to 113!
Keep an eye open!

Oh..by the way...on December 11th 2012 the air temperature on the beach, or close too, was 21C and I had to retreat indoors because the sun was burning me!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

la perla was a good but just average hotel....it had just enough to make our stay pleasant but it is dated and just a little to far from the city centre.
breakfast was very ordinary....second time around we will choose another place to stay

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarrakechGypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We had a sea view which was lovely, room good - but arrived late at night, would have liked a bottle of water in room as no tea/coffee making facilities but there was a fridge in our room so just a bottle of water would have been nice - Breakfast good times but buffet service and although did not want breakfast wanted a coffee!!! during the day found pool very crowded, but the terrace pool on the other side of the road was lovely, Restaurant although only ate in day twice - service was very long winded, dead bird stayed for the two hours we were there! and the second time we tried it - got wrong food, after an hour - declined food just paid for drinks, Hotel in good location, and very clean but just stay clear of restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havetosaynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla Marina

Address: Calle Merida 7, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: £40 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Perla Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Perla Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perla Marina Hotel
Perla Marina Nerja
Nerja Hotel Perla Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing