We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tale of Two Hotels in One” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Perla Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Perla Marina
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Witshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Tale of Two Hotels in One”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I think that it is important (as other reviewers have stated) to understand the geography of the Hotel. There are 2 parts to the Hotel; the first is what I would call the older part which has the reception, a small pool, and the bar; and the second part is the newer part across a small one-way street which contains the restaurant and a very small pool at roof level (there is an underground tunnel connecting the two parts but crossing the road is not a problem).
The hotel is at the west side of the town right on the beach front which is not as populated as the east side, and only a 10 minute walk to the pedestrian centre, with a further 10 to 15 minute walk to the main resort (and very popular) beach. We preferred the quieter location.
Best Points:
Friendly staff
Right on the beach front which seemed to be used more by Spanish people and never got too busy. If you prefer the beach to the pools this was a nice place.
The rooms in the newer part were very nice, you had to pay extra for a sea view which is up to the individual but nice to have.
Worse Points:
The pools (both in the old and new parts) are very small and crowded/squashed old sun beds closely packed around them.
The rooms in the older part were small, poorly soundproofed, and needed some attention. Some rooms face onto a dark light-well with a small window which was more like a cell than a 4* hotel room. These were terrible rooms!
The restaurant in at the ground floor of the newer part over-looking the street and felt more like a canteen than a 4* restaurant – the windows were never opened. The food was generally varied and fine and as long as you were there early. If you were late then there were queues and it was stuffy and generally not a nice place.
Staff:
The staff were very helpful and friendly (with the exception of one particular person who one learned to avoid) and assisted in addressing any issues quickly.
Nerja is a nice small resort town, restaurants are reasonably priced and there are many excursions to Granada, Cadiz etc.
The Perla Marina sells itself as a 4* hotel which in my view is over-rated. If you are lucky to get a room in the new part, eat early, and like the beach then I would rate it as a 3*+, if you were in the older part, eat later both for breakfast and evening meal, and want a pool etc then more of a 3*-.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer part of the hotel, and pay for a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    273
    216
    73
    45
See reviews for
125
410
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

My Family travelled to Nerja for a family wedding and we stayed in mixed rooms those of the family wirh small children had 3 apartments on the beach These were ideal with small children were they could was about the hotel garde and were kept in excellent condition by the hotel staff.
I stayed in a hotel room facing the beach it was perfect for my wife anf I to be able to get up in the morning and have a view to kill for.
The staff in the hotel were friendly and the hotel has two parts the new part is across the road from the beach and the old on the beach Breakfast is great value and there is wifi in reception free The hotel is 50 minutes by taxi from Malaga airport

Room Tip: if you prefer to be on the beach ask for a room in the older part of the hotel as the new building i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silverjet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We spent a week here on bed and breakfast basis. The room was well equipped but needed updating. The soft furnishings are dated and towels very thin and some were stained. Carpets in the corridors we're very dusty in corners. Breakfast was ok but boring after a few days. No freshly prepared fruit on offer but the staff were very helpful throughout the hotel. Food at the poolside snack bar is very good and reasonably priced. Location is brilliant - right on the beachfront which is very peaceful. If you want a livelier beach then take a 30 minute walk to Burriana beach - lots of bars and restaurants here along the stretch of beach.

Room Tip: Book a beachfront room room on high floor for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Checked in with an unhelpful, uninterested member of staff.

Had to ask how to get to room.

We shouldn't have bothered. The halls were dark and dingy and the room was the same, with a door that didnt even close properly.

We checked out again within 10 mins and found a much better hotel in the centre of Nerja.

Dont bother with Perla Marina!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LovesGoodPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nerja hotels

fife
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

our room look'd onto main road...plus we had apartments looking in on us..lots of noise maids start at about 7.30am all you can hear is furniture getting moved around, also across the road BINS again our room above where they brought rubbish out noise,noise noise horrible not a restfull holiday, room small made me feel sick.no balcony no sea view, when i asked at reception they wanted another 20 euros per night.. breakfast well the bacon swimming in fat was horrid avoid. fruit was good if you got in beore the german teenagers who also had 3 to 4 yogurts each.
will never be back

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebearFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Booked for Bed and Breakfast for one night.( Wedding at the Balcon de Europa). Hotel clean and Reception Staff friendly and helpful.
Room overlooking pool and beach. Room clean but bathroom required a bit of TLC. Large cracks in ceiling from previous leak.
Wafer thin walls. Noise from above and sides.
Not 4 star accommodation. Breakfast across the road. Breakfast room long tables accommodating 12 people. Food good. Very noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loja, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

For my wife's big birthday her 2 daughters flew over from Australia and as part of the celebrations we stayed at the Hotel Perla Marina for 2 nights.,, from the 14th to 16th of May, 2013. As it happened the Fiesta of San Isidro was celebrated during the evening of the 14th and during the day on the 15th. The locals organised a procession from the church by the Balcon de Europa, through the town to the Caves. If you can arrange to be in Nerja on these dates you'll be entralled.
We arrived on a lovely sunny day but not too hot and spent the day sunbathing on Biryana beach. At 4:00 pm we drove to the hotel and found several parking spaces free outside the front of the hotel. The booking in was swift, friendly and efficient. We were allocated pleasant adjoining rooms with a side sea view and the rooms were clean and comfortable - and with all the normal British TV programmes! We strolled locally in the evening before settling on an Italian restaurant, one of a choice of 6 different restaurants 500 metres east of the hotel before the Balcon de Europa.After a spendid meal we strolled back in the dusk along the promenade to the hotel to enjoy a Baileys for the girls and a coñac for me in the gardens looking out to the sea - at €9 for the round! Next day we strolled along the front to the Balcon where people were congregating for the fiesta. After a coffee on the balcon we watched the effigy of San Isidro emerge from the church and the band playing. We then strolled up Calle Pintada where I settled down for a beer outside Hostal Regina,whilst the girls went shopping / site seeing. Again unbeknownst to me the parade was about to pass up Calle Pintada on its way to Nerja Caves. And what a splendid procession it turned out to be. A splendid 3 days!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatGrandadDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#12 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla Marina

Property: Hotel Perla Marina
Address: Calle Merida 7, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Perla Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Perla Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perla Marina Hotel
Perla Marina Nerja
Nerja Hotel Perla Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing