We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Perla Marina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bajamar(Nerja)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveller rating
124
323
257
103
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
323
257
103
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewmain buildingsecond buildingsea frontbed and breakfastdressing tablepool areafour nightsextra pillowscleaning staffoverlooking the beachsmall fridgebalcon de europalots of bars and restaurantsshort breaktorrecilla beachevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 869 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Perla for 1 week in August and was perfect for our first holiday together! :0)

Prior to leaving for our holiday, I checked through various reviews and felt a lil alarmed at what some people had to say about the hotel. We arrived/checked in quite late so couldn't do a lot about any issues anyway, but tbh we had no issues. The rooms are quite small and dated, but aside of that the rest of the hotel/area was perfect. I would recommend booking a seaview room as we had a central seaview which was amazing; it was worth paying that lil bit more.

The staff are very polite and helpful; we mainly had dealings with Carlos & Anna on Reception and they were excellent; our every request was met and their English was better than ours! lol..

The area itself is fab too with just a short walk away from shops/restaurants (5 mins) and if you wanted to venture further afield, i.e. the Balcon De Europa viewing point with many bars, restaurants, shops etc then that was only a 10 stroll away.

We actually went to Nerja for a friend's wedding and they together with many of the wedding party stayed on the opposite side of Nerja to us (El Capistrano); I was so happy we didn't book that side as was very much on a hill! Where we stayed was all flat; I don't like hills in the heat! lol

I wouldn't hesitate staying at the Peral Marina again and now that I have discovered the undiscovered side of Nerja, I would definitely return. :0)

Room Tip: Defo pay a lil more and book a seaview room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angelica7475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed in the Perla for a week in September and it suited us perfectly, we were even offered a 1 bedroomed apartment instead of our room only basis which we declined because our view from the sea front top floor was fantastic. We had a huge balcony with table, four chairs, two sun loungers and a clothes horse. The hotel was clean and we found the staff very nice too. Rooms were cleaned every day if we wanted with fresh towels. We didn't eat here as we wanted to sample eating out having been to Nerja a year before on a half board basis in a differant hotel. The location is perfect and close to all you need. There wasn't any entertainment in the hotel but we were fine with that too. The pool is quite small but fine for what we wanted and anyway the beach is in front of the hotel and it is safe to swim in the sea. We would go back to the Perla in a shot and would be glad to stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor sea view room in main hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alideekerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

excellent location & kept clean, however it is in drastic need of a renovation. The breakfast left a lot to be desired, the tables are set out in some sort of school dormitory style & the choice was very limited & not very fresh. This is definitely a 3 star hotel in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karendEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We booked a 4 night break at short notice. Having visited the Perla Marina, we would stay there again but there are a few things we would do differently both in respect of the booking and the hotel.

We booked a double room with a sea view. We were located in a separate building across a very small road opposite to the main hotel. The sea was indeed very close and we had a lovely sea view, we would book a sea view again. Our double bed was two singles but for 4 nights that wasn't a problem. The rooms were simple, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast at the hotel was adequate and no particular queues during any stage with breakfast being available from 8am to 10.30 am. The dining room isn't welcoming in terms of its set up and the seating could do with being being arranged from long benches into smaller tables but all in all we enjoyed breakfast.

We were booked in at the hotel by a male receptionist who was pleasant but clearly very busy with other tasks and we only found out how much he didn't explain to us when we spoke to the lady receptionist the next day who was very good - our check in process consisted of a quick signature on a card, photocopy of passport and the room key being passed across the desk, this was a mid afternoon checkin, and no other guests were checking in or out at the same time.

Door keys

Initially we were issued with one door key between two of us. This was a bit of a pain if the two of you may want to do things at different times, we asked for another key the following day and this was no problem.

Wi-Fi

We were not told when we booked in that there was free wi-fi in the communal lounge and snack bar areas. When we did find this out (again the following day) it was useful and the connection speed good. As we had a balcony at the front of the building we could also pick up intermittent wi-fi from there so its worth giving it a go.

Room safe

We were not advised of the need to pay to use the safe or to have an additional key for the safe which is inserted into the back of the safe door and then allows you to program the safe. The charge is minimal and useful to have. The safe is big enough for an ipad and other phones etc. Again, it would have been much more useful to have known this when we checked in at first.

Map of local streets

We were only given a local map when we asked a few more questions at reception the next day - not a huge issue but would have been helpful for the first night out.

Bath and sink plugs

It didn't occur to us to check that there were plugs available in the bath and hand basin - of which there were none. This was rectified by speaking with the housekeeping staff who gave us a spare plug.

Things to take

We would take snorkelling/beach shoes with us. The beach is very nice and clean with showers etc, but a bit stony and fine to walk on but a bit uncomfortable - the snorkelling type shoes would have made the beach a bit easier to use.

Beach towels - there are beds for rent on the beach at 4 euro each and they look good and well cared for. If you need any element of shade then the beach chairs may not be for you as there really isn't a great deal of shade. if you walk along the beach towards town the next beach (up and over the steps) is more sheltered and a lot sandier and easier to get into the sea when the waves are strong.

Cold drinks - there is a fridge in the room and I would suggest buying some nice fruit juice at some of the many supermarkets nearby. The fruit juice at breakfast delivers on two fronts 1) its wet 2) its orange coloured - other than that it is definitely nor orange juice as you would know it!

Things to do

Donkey Sanctuary - This is a 10 minute walk from the hotel away from the town centre. The volunteers there are great and take a lot of time to explain to the visitors about the background of the animals they are looking after. If you go, stop off at a local supermarket and take lots of carrots and apples - they will be used to top up the animal feeding buckets. The animals, guests and volunteers are all very nice and a visit here is good soul food.

Places to Eat

Julies Tapas bar

This lovely little Tapas bar is just off the main plaza at the Balcon de Europe. It's tiny, has a great atmosphere and really lovely food. Extensive vegetarian choices and very reasonable prices, check their trip advisor reviews. You will need to look hard to find this place, but it is well worth the effort. Dinner for two with soft drinks €25 and we didn't manage to eat it all.

Dinner at the cliff's overlooking Bacon de Europe. We had dinner one night at Antica Roma Italian Restaurant. This is accessed through a small parade of shops just the other side of the Balcon de Europe going away from the hotel. The venue was fantastic and if you get there for dinner around 6.30 to 7pm you are likely to get a table right at the edge of the balcony with the sea and sand directly below you and the Balcon de Europe to your right. As the sun sets and all the lights come on it is a very good location. The food is very good - the service was sporadic but a small price to pay for such a lovely location. Dinner for two with a bottle of wine was €60.

Transfers

We booked with Lastminute.com and the break & transfers were provided by Lowcost holidays. We found the transfers in both directions problematic. On the transfer out of the airport we were given details on how to book the transfer back. We had a 52 seater coach for 5 people and this may have been a factor in the coach driver not wanting to drive us to the hotel and dropping us off with suitcases several streets away. We did see other coaches of the same size go to the hotel during the time we were there. The electronic booking of the return transfer failed so we rang the Spanish number on the card we were given to be told that there was no record of our booking and to contact the UK agent where we had bought the transfer from. I raised this on an e mail to customer feedback at Lastminute due to the need for having a transfer back - we were told by return email that our issue could not be dealt with as we were still in resort and that we would have to make phone calls back to the UK to resolve. Having made a call from mobile and sent a number of e mails the electronic booking system then found the record. We were pleased when the transfer mini bus arrived, ahead of time, to pick us up. However, the drive was an experience. The driver hugged the rumble strip along the motorway, came off at the wrong junction and came back on again, drove over a small raised roundabout which gave the journey an unexpected Alton Towers like twist. After trying to raise the initial problems with Lastminute regarding the outbound transfer we decided it wasn't worth trying to contact customer feedback again.

If I were booking this again, I would lack confidence in the transfer aspect of the arrangements and would arrange the transfer privately.

Our initial contact with Last Minute when we booked the break was excellent and the sales rep very helpful.

Our flights to and from Malaga were via Easy Jet. They flights were fine, staff were good and ran to schedule. They were good value for money.

Overall, this was a great short break to Nerja, which is a very pleasant and friendly town on the Costa, if you have not been there it is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Worth booking a sea view room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Berksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Ask for a sea-view room, and the stay will be very pleasant.
The sea-view rooms are very close to the beach, and the location give you a wondeful coastline 10 min path walk to the city centre. It was sheer heaven I must say sitting watching the sea from the room.
Nice buffe breakfast do keep a high standard, but take it early due to very overcrowded late.
Housekeeping great, but the pool area was dirty, and is not like a 4-star hotel.
The beds do not keep a 4-star level either.
Due to the location I will recommend a stay if you find a nice price.

Room Tip: Seaview room a must
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KnutN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews