We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hearty authentic German food, UK prices”

Stephan's Wirtshaus
Ranked #80 of 384 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Frigiliana, Spain
Level Contributor
341 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Good hearty authentic German food, UK prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Enjoyed Stephan's for a German change in Nerja. If you are looking for a light, summery meal on a hot Spanish evening look elsewhere! this is large portions of meat, potatoes, butter and cream sauces. Clientèle pretty much 100% German (like stepping in to Bavaria for an hour or two).

We had kummelbratten (spiced pork slices) with sauerkraut, rabbit, pork schnitzel - all good and homely and 15 euro a portion. Good German beers (weiss and dark).

Service very good and attentive.
Prices relatively high for Nerja (80+ euro for 3, inc drinks).

Would go again occasionally for a change. The other option is Kunterbunt in Torrox costa, cheaper on sea front but not a full on restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpanishTinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    25
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great people great steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

What a lovely couple who host in traditional Bavarian dress. Fabulous. Lots of choice including Spanish starters.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frothster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Absolutely georgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed a gorgeous meal here on our second to last night.. The steaks are amazing! Perfectly cooked with delicious sauces.. The hostess was welcoming and super friendly making the evening really special..you should definitely come here for a wonderful, relaxing evening, great service and delicious food.. We will definitely be returning. Thank you x

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alifirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food but be prepared to wait for it :-(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We went to Stephan's after reading the reviews. Nothing for kids other than fried chicken (nuggets) but fortunately our two liked that. We had to wait 45-50mins for our dinner which in anyone's book is too long. However when the food arrived, eventually, it was lovely. We would go back again, maybe we were just unlucky with having to wait so long.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great wholesome food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We visited Stephans after reading the reviews on here: - we were not disappointed!
Great meat and vegetables, lovely jacket potato and tasty dressings.
They were ran off their feet but still managed good service and a time to chat.
A cut above most.
We will be back, recommended...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bengolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stephan's Wirtshaus also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Stephan's Wirtshaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing