We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of Parador de Nerja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador de Nerja
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I loved this parador, it's an oasis of calm situated away from the centre but within easy reach. The grounds are lovely, the rooms have a beautiful sea view and are spacious and comfortable, and the staff are friendly and welcoming. The only gripe was the evening meal we had on the first night which was indifferent and pricey, but the breakfasts were great. As a place to stay and relax - it's wonderful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lizo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    356
    79
    11
    7
See reviews for
190
675
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a very pleasant stay. The clientèle tends to be older (50+) and there is not much entertainment in or very near the hotel. The beach (elevator access) is very good at all times of the year.
The facilities of the hotel are very well kept and we enjoyed the breakfast very much. During the summer month ensure parking is available as the narrow streets of Nerja will get clogged.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a room with balcony and sea view. Some rooms have a patio leading dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Nerja was the third city on our multi-city tour of Spain. It was meant to be a break, a slower paced stop, on our vacation, and it was exactly that. We had taken a bus from Sevilla to Nerja, and our bus driver graciously hailed a taxi for us for the short ride to our hotel, Parador de Nerja.
Our room was on the third floor, Room 210. It was the most spacious of any of the rooms on our Spain trip. It was also the priciest, partly due to our decision to include breakfast, which we had not done elsewhere. The breakfast buffet was truly impressive, having typical Spanish, English, German and American breakfast items, fresh fruits, desserts, various lunchmeats and cheeses, many selections of breads, juices, along with champagne, and, most importantly of all, all of the coffee you wanted. Breakfasting on the restaurant terrace was a treat, too.
The king bed was 2 twins pushed together, but with separate bedding, which was a little odd. There was plenty of closet space, an in-room safe, and a fairly large bathroom with double sinks. There was also a table and chairs. But, the highlight of the room was the balcony overlooking the beautiful grassy lawn of the hotel, the pool and the sea (una vista del mar!). It also had a small table and chairs to enjoy a snack or glass of wine outdoors. The lounge chairs on the hotel lawn were very inviting, too.
The hotel had its own elevator to a very nice beach, Burriana. You could rent umbrellas and lounge chairs from vendors on the beach, but they were set up in rows, back from the water and just didn’t look that inviting to us. At the far end of the beach, we treated ourselves to an all-you-can-eat paella lunch in the open air at Ayo’s.
The Parador was about a 10 minute walk from the Balcony of Europe, where many of the restaurants and shops were located, but it was a very pleasant walk, especially in the evening with the scent of night blooming jasmine in the air.
My only negative comment is that the front desk seemed understaffed during our stay. We spent more time than we should have waiting for someone to help us on several different occasions (greater than 10 minutes each time).
All in all, though, we had a wonderful 3 night stay with picture perfect weather, and left refreshed for our next adventure. We took a taxi back to the bus station (actually just a kiosk) and boarded our bus for Granada.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is on the cliff top with a lift giving access to the beach. As with most of the coast the beach is grey sand.
It is not a typical parador,more a typical seaside hotel, but the gardens are beautifully kept and when the sun came out were a lovely place to sit out and enjoy the February sun- although I suspect the few out doing so were all English!
By the standards of paradors the room was small but adequate, but you definitely pay for the view.

We had a good lunch of octopus, followed by paella.
In summary, the sun made the difference between ok and good

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank addis22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Walking distance to town and nearby shops and places to eat. Within the hotel grounds they have very good food and service. We stayed in a ground floor room which has good easy access to the garden (which have great views) and the pool (which is a good size). These rooms also have a nice patio which is good to sit out on in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have been visiting the Parador in Nerja on several occasions, and we never cease to enjoy ourselves completely in this parador and in this town. Normally we come during spring, this time we came in the end of october, and we were blessed with fantastic sunshine in addition to tasty food of local specialities, enjoyed on the terrace due to the nice weather. The breakfast of the paradores are always quite a treat, and getting early morning coffee outside our room in the garden just marvellous. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff excellent and service-minded we will surely come back to Nerja and the Parador.

Room Tip: You should either choose a room on the groundfloor with terracce, or a room with a view and large te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imsowich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I spent 4 days at this hotel over Christmas. We have been visiting Nerja for 12 years now but this was the first time we have stayed at this hotel as our usual one was closed over the winter period.
We were pleasantly surprised with the standard of the Parador.
The rooms were bright and comfortable and although we never booked a sea view we received one. Most rooms appear to have a good view.
The location of the hotel is excellent above the main beach and close to the old town.
The staff were very good courteous and helpful. This started at reception and continued to bar,breakfast and room cleaning.
Breakfast was very good with a large selection to choose from.
I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view although it appears most rooms have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,770 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#5 of 37 in Nerja
180 reviews
0.8 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Nerja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Nerja

Property: Parador de Nerja
Address: Calle Almunecar 8, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#2 Family Hotel in Nerja
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Nerja 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parador de Nerja sits on a cliff above the sea on the Malaga coast, amidst wonderful beaches. As you surely know, in Nerja, summer is blue, adventurous and welcoming. The hotel will greet you with a magnificent garden in which the greenery contrasts with the blue of the swimming pool. The bright, spacious interior is very comfortable and almost all of the guest rooms have balconies facing the sea. The superior rooms offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean, the Sierra Almijara mountains and the lovely cliffs. The Parador also has an elevator that directly accesses Burriana Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Nerja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Nerja Hotel Nerja
Parador Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing