We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely property to get away from it all”
Review of Parador de Nerja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Nerja
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here a week in June 2014.
What we liked:
1. Our room (330), a junior suite high up with a commanding view of the premises, the beach, and the surrounding area.
2. Plenty of on-site parking (covered).
3. Lovely manicured lawn and pool area.
4. Private elevator to the beach.
5. You can be near the beach, but not have to deal with the crowds below.
6. Very well equipped to handle elderly and/or those with mobility needs (ramp access, chair lift in pool, elevators).

What we did not like as much:
1. Food is OK -- nothing ouf of the ordinary (I realize that others think the food is great, but we have stayed at many Paradors of the years -- not all reviewed here -- and this kitchen is adequate for a few days of casual dining, but nothing that says "wow, this is Spainish cooking at its best!"
2. Nerja is quaint but a walk-through in about an hour is all your need, and it is chock-a-block full of tourists, so you have to plan other visits. We went to Granada to the Alhambra (book tickets in advance), about 1.25 hours drive away, and Gibraltar (about 2.25 hours drive).

Room Tip: Room 330, junior suite, is lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissMike1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Nerja
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had heard such good things about the Parador Group in Spain. State owned , we thought, and hotels built in old settings - castles etc. This 1 was a modern 60s/70s new build, and it looked it. Even with a deal quite pricey for b and b. Little atmosphere in the dinning room - although the buffet breakfast was excellent.

The rooms were comfortable, and there are nice lawns to sun bath on and an attractive pool. Nerja as a town is very well worth a visit with some good restaurants.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view of the coast. Ensure you have a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in one of the premium twin bed rooms. We were rewarded with a breathtaking view.
The restaurant? Simply one of the best in southern Spain. Well trained and friendly restaurant staff plus outstanding food. These are the ingredients for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Booked as a Telegraph subscriber which gives significant discount on Paradores throughout Spain (including I think the one inside the Alhambra in Granada) - for just over £100 a night for 2 it was fabulous value! Booked here because our usual hotel (Nerja Princess) was full, will be in a quandary next time we come as have been very impressed. A very tranquil oasis, insulated from the hustle and bustle of the town and Burriana beach, but only a few minutes walk from each. Fantastic sea views from the garden and the balcony of our room; excellent breakfast; decor may be dated but room large, clean with large bathroom, decent shower, good towels, plenty of storage. Also lots of places to sit around the hotel (inside and out) and just relax, have coffee or a drink. Staff helpful, efficient, available but not intrusive.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hb17mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we have been staying at this hotel for nearly 5 years now and go at least twice a year, the perfect location and large pool is what attracts us but the rooms are a little dated , the staff friendly and breakfast good. the gardens that surround the pool are tranquil that might have something to do with the fact its not really a family hotel so no screaming children (bonus) !!! picturesque view looking down on the beach and the town is on your doorstep. went may 2014 our first visit this year and was a little disappointed that they close the pool during the hottest part of the day( this is a first) when I questioned they blamed it on staffing! I just climbed gate and went in no one said anything . also pool bar closed in may which is a shame as this is the month we go every year , same again when we go in September. but all aside will not stop us staying here.

Room Tip: always ask for sea view early booking advisable
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shauna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel. Don't want to go home! The location is amazing. All you can see is the sea! Ask for a vista/view room They are worth it. Nice breakfast, again with a view. Not crazy busy in June so can still relax. A lot of older couples but don't let that put you off as it's great for young couples & families too. Lift to the beach is amazing especially with kids. Not the cheapest but you get what you pay for. Wifi all through hotel is free. I hope we come back soon.

Stayed: June 2014
5  Thank Jackovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've only got two issues, so let's put them first -
1) The excellent outdoor pool is not open all day in May - only four hours I think
2) The sunloungers (tumbonas) are not the most comfortable in the world and they are getting a bit sad so my back presses on the frame.
That said, I have only praise for the staff and amenities. This isn't a 5 star hotel, so if you want flunkies chasing you all day, go somewhere else. The staff here are almost all Spanish and are friendly and on hand whenever you need anything - for example I asked if there was any morcilla (black pudding) for breakfast and two days later I was presented with a plate full all to myself!
The hotel is not brand new, but everything is properly maintained and fully working. The garden is a joy and the view is great. The room staff deserve a special mention - very friendly and efficient. I will be going back soon.

Room Tip: Top floor in the middle - see my picture!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0linf0ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.8 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Nerja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Nerja

Address: Calle Almunecar 8, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#2 Family Hotel in Nerja
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: £72 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Nerja 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parador de Nerja sits on a cliff above the sea on the Malaga coast, amidst wonderful beaches. As you surely know, in Nerja, summer is blue, adventurous and welcoming. The hotel will greet you with a magnificent garden in which the greenery contrasts with the blue of the swimming pool. The bright, spacious interior is very comfortable and almost all of the guest rooms have balconies facing the sea. The superior rooms offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean, the Sierra Almijara mountains and the lovely cliffs. The Parador also has an elevator that directly accesses Burriana Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Parador de Nerja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Nerja Hotel Nerja
Parador Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing