We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds from Hell”
Review of Parador de Nerja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Nerja
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel's location and views were fabulous. However several things let it down and I would not stay there again. We stayed for 8 nights and the beds were awful, we both had bad backs and necks at the end of our stay. We dreaded going to bed! The mattress was rock hard and the pillows provided also rock hard, and strange shapes/sizes, not normal pillow shapes. The air con unit sounded like a jet engine running in the room and could not be set to a set temperature. So we moved from being too cold to too hot during the night. There is a bar by the pool, but who knows when that opens, it never was when I looked. The pool closes at 7pm, lots of people were still in the pool and i'm sure would like to swim much later. Surely at these prices the hotel can keep the pool open later? The main bar closes at Midnight, too early!! The hotel felt stuffy and uptight, it needs to relax a little, people are on holiday and want to have fun. .

Room Tip: Third Floor Rooms with Sea View had spectacular views of beach, mountains and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twotravellers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great sea side hotel, best pool and garden areas on this trip and with a lift to the beach!
Excellent friendly staff serving breakfast on terrace pity we were only there for 1 night.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are majority might need to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottcarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Before I tell you how wonderful this hotel is I must apologise for not reviewing it previously as this is our third stay, its maybe because it leaves you so calm! Firstly though if you are driving there, very big sheltered car park, watch out for the stone balls that line the pavements, we have seen cars stuck on them twice now so enter the hotel drive carefully. The hotel is different from other paradors as it is purpose built but what it lacks in character it makes up in balcony views that take in the coastline and extensive grounds which includes a large luxurious pool. If you fancy the beach there's a lift at the end of the lawn that takes you straight there. Friendy staff and good facilities. The restaurant is fine but would probability recommend eating at one of the excellent restaurants in the town. Feels very Agatha Christie for some reason. It broke up our journey from Saville to almeria nicely, we will be staying again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keystonePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is not the kind of Parador we usually stay at...we normally choose historic castles, monasteries, etc. but there is no such thing in Nerja, so we stayed here. The building and rooms are just OK, but there are some rooms with good water views. Could be the best you can do in Nerja, but that's not saying much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojaquera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Doesn´t look very impressive on arrival, but the view is fantastic, excellent breakfast, nice staff, good roms. We hadn´t prebook, just went in and asked for a room in the afternoon and got a good deal with a reduced rate( 130 euros for a doubleroom with seaview, breakfast and parking.) The breakfast was very impressive with lots to chose from and you could sit on the terrace and look out over the mediterranean, and the mountains. Lift down to the beach,. And Nerja is a pretty little town with lots of restaurants, and many small beaches. I wouldn´t mind going back...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ickaohman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here a week in June 2014.
What we liked:
1. Our room (330), a junior suite high up with a commanding view of the premises, the beach, and the surrounding area.
2. Plenty of on-site parking (covered).
3. Lovely manicured lawn and pool area.
4. Private elevator to the beach.
5. You can be near the beach, but not have to deal with the crowds below.
6. Very well equipped to handle elderly and/or those with mobility needs (ramp access, chair lift in pool, elevators).

What we did not like as much:
1. Food is OK -- nothing ouf of the ordinary (I realize that others think the food is great, but we have stayed at many Paradors of the years -- not all reviewed here -- and this kitchen is adequate for a few days of casual dining, but nothing that says "wow, this is Spainish cooking at its best!"
2. Nerja is quaint but a walk-through in about an hour is all your need, and it is chock-a-block full of tourists, so you have to plan other visits. We went to Granada to the Alhambra (book tickets in advance), about 1.25 hours drive away, and Gibraltar (about 2.25 hours drive).

Room Tip: Room 330, junior suite, is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissMike1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had heard such good things about the Parador Group in Spain. State owned , we thought, and hotels built in old settings - castles etc. This 1 was a modern 60s/70s new build, and it looked it. Even with a deal quite pricey for b and b. Little atmosphere in the dinning room - although the buffet breakfast was excellent.

The rooms were comfortable, and there are nice lawns to sun bath on and an attractive pool. Nerja as a town is very well worth a visit with some good restaurants.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view of the coast. Ensure you have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.8 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Nerja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Nerja

Address: Calle Almunecar 8, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#2 Family Hotel in Nerja
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: £66 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Nerja 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parador de Nerja sits on a cliff above the sea on the Malaga coast, amidst wonderful beaches. As you surely know, in Nerja, summer is blue, adventurous and welcoming. The hotel will greet you with a magnificent garden in which the greenery contrasts with the blue of the swimming pool. The bright, spacious interior is very comfortable and almost all of the guest rooms have balconies facing the sea. The superior rooms offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean, the Sierra Almijara mountains and the lovely cliffs. The Parador also has an elevator that directly accesses Burriana Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parador de Nerja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Nerja Hotel Nerja
Parador Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing