We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely position in Nerja, but very poor service and not exactly charming”
Review of Parador de Nerja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador de Nerja
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely position in Nerja, but very poor service and not exactly charming”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The Nerja Parador has a lovely view of the coastline and an inviting swimming pool, but it definitely does not have the charm for which Paradores are renowned: it is a 1970s-style low-rise hotel. On the positive side, it is very welcoming to families, has a lovely terrace and pool, impeccably maintained gardens and plenty of parking. Also free WiFi. On the negative side, the food is mediocre at best and the service is absolutely atrocious. Complaints fell on deaf ears - the staff seemed utterly apathetic and unmotivated. Walking around Nerja, I was left with the impression that this was probably the best of a bad bunch in a very average location. Given the poor value-for-money, I couldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skibummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    356
    79
    11
    7
See reviews for
189
674
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2010

For the last night of our holiday this hotel was heaven. Very comfortable, beautifully situated, well run, quality service, worth every euro, and only an hour's drive from Malaga airport.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in June 2010. Rooms, common areas, restaurants very clean. Gardens immaculate. Good spread at breakfast and plenty of choice of food and drinks. Decent size swimming pool. Can comfortably walk into centre of Nerja or take the panoramic lift down to the beach where there are a good selection of bars and restaurants. Would recommend for rest and relaxation

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

This is a modern parador, set in a prime cliff-top position , with beautiful and spacious grounds.
Nerja town and the main beach are walkable [in opposite directions] for tourist type bars and restaurants, although there are a couple of genuinely good places in Nerja itself.
Although the costa east of Malaga is massively preferable to the west, it is still over-developed, but this parador offers escape.
Breakfast on the terrace is lovely. The rooms are bright, functional and clean, with good views [I would think you can see the sea from all of them].
If only they would ban children this place would be nearly perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

I struggle slightly with this review because we had a slightly off-putting experience with the hotel at check-in. We had arrived slightly late (around 8:30pm), and as such I do not think the primary front-desk people were on duty. The gentleman that greeted us did his best but he seemed a little confused and was not very helpful when asked for restaurant recommendations or similar questions. It was very awkward all around. Having only stayed a single night, this experience stands out when I think back to our visit.

Having said the above, all other aspects of this hotel and our short stay were very good. The views from the hotel's ground as terriffic as you will see in everyone's photos. The beach below is very nice with great bars/cafes lining the strip and plenty of chairs for renting. The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained and the central fountain very pretty.

Our room was only on the first floor, but we could still see the sea. The room was a good size with decent beds but a little dated. I believe the interior is in need of slight refurb, but still nothing wrong. The hallway outside the room is nice and the bathroom is well equiped.

The reception team in the morning was very good. They dealt with a slightly booking mishap with excellent service. They were very friendly and helpful. We were allowed to use the hotel pool and beach elevator all day with our room keys (room entry switched off, but exterior access still allowed).

Breakfast was terriffic and you can sit outside and look to the ocean while eating, a great experience. Parking at the hotel was free. Of all the Costa del Sol towns, Nerja is my favorite. Its just the right size and not as tacky as many of its neighbors.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Djibrilduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2010

this hotel was good value for money and it was very clean there was entertainment ever night, staff were nice, we went half board and the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas, nv, USA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We've stayed in many of Spain's Paradores and this is one of our favorites. It is right on the sea, with a great pool, restaurant and even an elevator down the sea cliff to the perfect beach. Our room was spacious, comfortable and super clean. The staff was great and we got a fantastic deal, 80E for a sea view w/ balcony, it was perfect. Great free WIFI throughout the entire property. Plus, Nerja is such a neat town, one of Spain's coastal gems.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acribari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,768 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#5 of 37 in Nerja
177 reviews
0.8 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Nerja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Nerja

Property: Parador de Nerja
Address: Calle Almunecar 8, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#2 Family Hotel in Nerja
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Nerja 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parador de Nerja sits on a cliff above the sea on the Malaga coast, amidst wonderful beaches. As you surely know, in Nerja, summer is blue, adventurous and welcoming. The hotel will greet you with a magnificent garden in which the greenery contrasts with the blue of the swimming pool. The bright, spacious interior is very comfortable and almost all of the guest rooms have balconies facing the sea. The superior rooms offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean, the Sierra Almijara mountains and the lovely cliffs. The Parador also has an elevator that directly accesses Burriana Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Parador de Nerja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Nerja Hotel Nerja
Parador Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing